Skip to main content

reviews

30
Based on 20 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 50
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    With no clear idea how to end the movie, which has come to resemble an excessive episode of Buffy, the Vampire Slayer, writer/director Stuart Beattie (G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) uses an old but still effective Hollywood trick: He blows up everything on the screen to smithereens. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    At the very least, it does provide an easy excuse to sit in a heated room eating popcorn. show more

  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Director/screenwriter Stuart Beattie, adapting the graphic novel by Kevin Grevioux, employs a strictly humorless, gothic approach to the material that makes one long for the satirical touches of James Whale, let alone Mel Brooks. show more

  • 38
    Tom Russo Boston Globe

    Eckhart doesn’t really do any of that classic grunting as Frankenstein 2.0, but maybe he should have. show more

  • 38
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Sadly, as apt as comparisons to "Underworld" might seem, I, Frankenstein can't even clear that very low bar. show more

  • 25
    Roger Moore McClatchy-Tribune News Service

    The humorless, generic, and chatty Frankenstein served up here makes you wonder if the good doctor, in all his patching-together of parts, didn’t forget the brains. show more

  • 25
    RogerEbert.com

    A grievously ill-advised motion picture on every level. show more

  • 40
    Tasha Robinson The Dissolve

    While it’s nothing new and lacks individualistic touches, it’s still solid trashy fun as an overwrought superhero origin story. show more

  • 30
    Bill Goodykoontz Arizona Republic

    By far the scariest thing about director Stuart Beattie’s I, Frankenstein, a terrible would-be horror story that somehow roped in a couple of really good actors, is that the ending seems to suggest the possibility of a sequel. Now that’s horror. show more

  • 40
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    I, Frankenstein is nowhere near as garishly, ghoulishly awful as "Van Helsing," Universal’s last attempt to resurrect its classic monsters. It’s a grimly fiendish slog nonetheless, and hardly worth getting up out of the grave for. show more

  • March 02, 2014 mzkto
    Report This User

    Great effects...stupid movie and storyline...I can see where young adults would like it, ******** not worth your time.

  • February 01, 2014 velbe
    Report This User

    Very good movie! We really liked the story line. I also LIKED the computerized part of the special effects. It showed the conflict between the gargoyles (angels) and demons to be protrayed without being too graphic. I also could not recall one off-colored word during the entire movie. Go see!

  • January 31, 2014 fzyphal
    Report This User

    Excellent movie. Don\'t listen to the \"professional\" critics, the precious flowers got their little feelings hurt because the studio didn\'t send them advance copies or free passes.

  • January 30, 2014 phpoling
    Report This User

    Really good movie!

  • January 30, 2014 josephjwin
    Report This User

    Don\'t listen to critics, they never get it right. I saw this movie this past weekend and thought it was very entertaining. Good storyline and seemed to flow. Good special effects to except for the gargoils which were cheaply computerized. But over-all a good movie to watch.

  • January 28, 2014 lgjhere1
    Report This User

    Was better than expected. But toooo much computer animated fighting that seemed endless, not enuf story telling about the characters. Director should have reigned in the creative computer guys who got carried away with the violence.

  • January 27, 2014 goodbyelakers
    Report This User

    The CGI was so overdone, and made the movie look unrealistic. A very thin story as evidenced by the saturation of fighting. Oh, and Frankenstein is a male model. This movie was an absolute ridiculous flop, and I tend to think that any positive reviews are from people who have something to gain.

  • January 26, 2014 op00000000136223
    Report This User

    This is the kind of mindless junk that pumps out with regularity. Half the movie of more was sword fights between creatures that have never, and will never live. UFC is entertaining because it is not choreographed and real. To watch make believe entities swing swords for ever is a bore. The \"Love Interest\" was pretty but a little too ************* like the female lawyers on \"Law & Order\" they r smart & all knock outs- go to a courthouse & get a load of a female DA - there is a true horror show....It STUNK TO High heaven ( which we never saw, only the path 2 hell, where this movie belongs)

  • January 25, 2014 daru3
    Report This User

    Good, for a little mindless fun. One complaint. Whose idea was it to make Frankenstien handsome?

  • January 25, 2014 vw00000000089363
    Report This User

    I took my son and expected the worst based upon the reviews I had read; however, I was pleasantly surprised that the story line was very smart and moved along well. The writers spared us the back story that we are all familiar with, and they gave us an original conflict story .

`

similar movies

  • Van Helsing (2004)

  • The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (2003)

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

  • The Quiet Ones (2014)

  • Godzilla (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X