Skip to main content

reviews

33
Based on 26 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 21 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Delivers all the pain, melodrama and redemption that fans of the genre demand. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Love Happens is an oddly upbeat title for a movie that is surprisingly sad. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Love Happens announces itself as a romantic comedy but doesn't speak the language of love. Instead, it trades in the slogans of self-help procedural. show more

  • 30
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Some may wonder why Jennifer Aniston keeps taking projects about single women unlucky in love. But the bigger question in Love Happens is why, with her pick of scripts, she chose one so utterly uninspired. show more

  • 40
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The title is a good indication of this movie's blandness and predictability. show more

  • 40
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    If that's the best Hollywood screenwriters can do, maybe they should sign up for a self-help seminar. Nothing focuses the mind like a little firewalking. show more

  • 63
    Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Although the film begins promisingly, it proves to be little more than a soap opera. show more

  • 50
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    An incredibly lazy movie -- but not an unbearable one, thanks to Aaron Eckhart's charm. show more

  • 50
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    One of those sticky dramas. show more

  • 50
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Aniston's constituency will enjoy seeing her again in Love Happens . She's lovely and fun to be with, as always. show more

  • May 07, 2014 rivwerle3
    Report This User

    Instead of sugar-coating the aftermath of losing a loved one, this film and its team of superb actors takes the viewer through the pangs of real grief one suffers when he or she has been struck by such a trajedy.

  • October 16, 2009 maluisainoue
    Report This User

    I love *********** it.

  • October 11, 2009 mikeytron
    Report This User

    Great movie, and not just boy meets girl. This is a life's situation story and was done quite well. It was well cast and who cannot take their eyes off of Jennifer Aniston. Really a good film!

  • October 11, 2009 Frankiep111
    Report This User

    The previews made this movie look like just another predictable romantic comedy. But it isn't. Great story. I highly recommend it.

  • October 10, 2009 mihikha
    Report This User

    It is proved on a regular basis that Jennifer is over paid...don't waste your hard earned money

  • October 05, 2009 judy postier
    Report This User

    This movie looks like a contrived love story--i didn't get good vibes when i saw the previews--will pass on this one~~

  • October 04, 2009 Rean Rossier
    Report This User

    I really liked this romantic comedy it was funny, great acting, loved the charectors this movie made me smile in some parts!.

  • October 03, 2009 MARTY
    Report This User

    I love Jennifer Aniston. I hated this movie. It was so contrived and the characters were so miscast that it was hard to watch. Jennifer made up a few scenes in the movie but it was centered mostly around Aaron Eckhart and his unlikable character. There was no chemistry at all between the two and you found yourself wanting her to walk away from him throughout the whole movie. I thought the story was so fake and so manipulative and down right sappy in it's efforts to try to get some emotion from the audience. The only emotion I felt was when they released this tropical bird to survive the freezing temperaturs of Seatle and it really pissed me off. At that point I stayed pissed off throughout the whole movie because of it. Save your money on this one and go rent a Jennifer Aniston movie that works.

  • October 01, 2009 ImportantFacts
    Report This User

    Sorry about my typos.

  • September 27, 2009 BFolmar1226
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was fantastic. I laughed and cried. I will add it to my collection of DVD's.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X