Skip to main content

reviews

57
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Hamm is first-rate, his nuanced portrayal lifting the movie to the winner's circle. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    How could a little story like this get stretched to 124 minutes? It's at least 30 minutes too long. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    When it focuses on the clash of cultures, laughs naturally flow. When it follows the familiar sports movie playbook too slavishly, it grows tedious. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The movie is grimly efficient on its own terms, a string of ever more naked calculations. But it looks like a business school opened up and all the marketing grads were allowed to start their own studio. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    As slickly entertaining as you’d expect a Disney-produced inspirational sports movie to be. But it’s so lacking in sincerity and creativity that “inspirational” never rounds the corner to “inspiring.” show more

  • 70
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Credit a rock solid turn by lead Jon Hamm that doesn’t shy away from revealing a darker underbelly to his underdog character, as well as a keenly-observed script by Tom McCarthy and deft direction by Craig Gillespie for the rewarding changeup. show more

  • 50
    Alonso Duralde TheWrap

    This “based on a true story” underdog tale is infectiously determined to make you fall in love with it, like a mangy dog that plops its head in your lap and gazes adoringly at you until you scratch it behind the ears. Eventually, you give in and scratch. And then you wash your hands. show more

  • 69
    Kate Erbland Film.com

    This is a film about a journey, and while the destination – baseball’s major leagues – is continuously dangled in front of its protagonists, it’s getting there that counts. Oh, and also how fast you can throw a ball. That counts, too. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    McCarthy is following well-established story grooves here, but scene to scene, he allows the dialogue to breathe and reveal bits of character along with the more expedient bits of plot advancement. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Due to its good humor and terrific story, Million Dollar Arm is always engaging; its power lies in its feel-good charm. show more

  • June 14, 2014 ladyj99991
    Report This User

    Loved the movie. It was funny, entertaining and real.

  • June 09, 2014 csicop2
    Report This User

    I am Gonna Purchase The Soundtrack and The Blu-Ray Combo Pak DVD and Bonus Disc and Also For Ultra Violet Whenever It's Out For Preorder I am Ordering it From a Discount Store.

  • June 09, 2014 csicop2
    Report This User

    This Movie Was Awesome and Great and Wonderful Not Just About Baseball it Also Teaches You Family Values and How Too Appreciate Your Life as a Less-Fourunate People and if You Have Richer Money There is a Chance You Won't Like it and I Liked Everything and Just Not The Hindu Praying and Prayers The Movie and I am a Regilious Man For .J.W. Bible Student a Brother For 27 Years and Now Age 28. Timothy 6 Let Those who are under the yoke of slavery keep on considering their owner's worthy of full honor, so that the name of God and the teaching may never spoken of injuriously. Revelation and i saw another strong angel desending from heaven, arrayed with a cloud, and a rainbow was on his head, and his face was like the sun, and his legs wer'e like pillars of fire. Matthew 7 ''Stop Judging that you may not be judged; 3 Why then, do you look at the straw in your brother's eye but do not notice the rafter in your own eye? I Believe in Jesus Christ My Leader and Lord. and Angel's Too. Numbers 22 32: Then Jehovah's angel said: to him: why have you beaten your donkey these three times? look i myself came out to offer resistance because your way is defiance, of my will. Ecclesiates 1:4 A Generation is going, and a genration is coming, but the earth remains forever. and Just a Note:I Do Not Believe in Spiritsem:and Magic That is Work's of Demon's Angel's of The Devil Lucifer Satan and His Tall 8 Foot Giant Angel's I have Seen 1 at a Very Young Age Supernatural Encounter Not a Dream Not Kiding and How it Happened Had Non-Believer's Family With Many Multiple Idols and Shouting 5 Family Members Names Not Leting US Sleep So We Had Too Sleep With 5 Spanish Bible's Open Too God's Name The Whole Night and Prayed Too Alot and i Worked.

  • June 07, 2014 sallyprintz
    Report This User

    Thoroughly enjoyable for the whole family!

  • June 03, 2014 msmolmd
    Report This User

    do not waste your $$ on this snoozer,after throwing 55 pitches,finally a strike at the"blistering speed"of 85mph and all pandemonium breaks loose..WTF

  • May 26, 2014 Noons
    Report This User

    Yes....stay for the credits!

  • May 26, 2014 Noons
    Report This User

    I saw the film tonight....loved it. I'm a big baseball fan but you don't have to be a fan of baseball to like this movie. Outstanding!!!

  • May 26, 2014 Debbie Unterman
    Report This User

    "Slum Dog Millionaire" was embraced by America while showing horrific living conditions and violence in Mumbai, with a great "happy ending" and a dance scene in the subway station, which is all that people remember. "Million Dollar Arm" shows the poverty of Mumbai, without exploiting it, and zero violence. It's more reminiscent of "Bend it Like Beckham" through its sports theme including family values, culture and faith. It's an underdog story merging cultures where each party is a stranger in the other's strange land. As with both of the afore mentioned comparisons, this one is peppered with Bhangra music keeping it upbeat and moving. Like "Slum Dog", it is a love story, but with a twist - it is all true - this happy ending has nothing to do with Hollywood. Stay for the credits which are rich with the actual photographs of the real people involved, along with updates. It holds up against almost every baseball movie ever made (except maybe "A League of Their Own" and "Field of Dreams"). A must for every baseball fan - but my friend who came with me is not one and she loved it. Great feel good movie for the whole family.

  • May 19, 2014 CHERYL
    Report This User

    5 stars!!!! It was really heart warming and makes me look at India in a whole new view. Really worth seeing!!!!

  • May 16, 2014 Steven Raabe
    Report This User

    This movie truly sucked.

`

similar movies

  • Invincible (2006)

  • Miracle (2004)

  • We Are Marshall (2006)

  • Hoosiers (1986)

  • Rudy (1993)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X