Skip to main content

reviews

22
Based on 17 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 62 )
  • NA
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Everything in One for the Money rings cringingly false, from Heigl's absurd Snooki accent to Plum's romance with Joe Morelli, an Italian cop, played by – faith and begorrah – Jason O'Mara. To dismiss Julie Anne Robinson's direction as clueless would be a kindness. show more

  • 20
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    She's (Heigl) disastrously miscast as a character beloved by fans of novelist Janet Evanovich. show more

  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Starring a painfully awkward Katherine Heigl, One for the Money mostly resembles a failed television pilot. show more

  • 30
    Movieline

    As played by Heigl, Stephanie is mind-blowingly charmless. show more

  • 50
    Mark Feeney Boston Globe

    The biggest problem One for the Money faces is trying to have it both ways: gritty-ethnic inner city vs. girly-girly comic. show more

  • 25
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Listlessly directed by Julie Anne Robinson (Miley Cyrus's The Last Song) from a script written by a trio of writers (Stacy Sherman, Karen Ray and Liz Brixius), One for the Money is tepidly glib throughout. show more

  • 25
    R. Kurt Osenlund Slant Magazine

    One for the Money is like The Bounty Hunter by Andy Tennant, if you dipped it in self-tanner and strapped some Four Loko on it. show more

  • 25
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    I guess I can't call the movie sexist as it was largely produced, directed and written by women. So I'll settle for calling it dull, corny and amateurish instead. show more

  • 20
    Nick Schager Time Out New York

    Flirty bickering is rampant but, courtesy of Heigl's inert performance, there's no heat or humor to the proceedings, just an avalanche of grating big-hair-and-bad-accent New Joisey caricatures. show more

  • NA
    Boxoffice Magazine

    One for the Money is as static and ugly as romantic-comedies get, the distractingly fragmented coverage of simple dialogue scenes suggesting a general ineptitude that's rare at the studio level. show more

  • January 03, 2013 em00000000133953
    Report This User

    I loved it and hope they make another.

  • March 07, 2012 szab0413
    Report This User

    Loved it!!

  • March 05, 2012 Rutyna Family
    Report This User

    Loved it! Can\'t wait for the next book to be turned into a movie.

  • February 25, 2012 zu00000000055100
    Report This User

    This isn\'t an Academy Award winner, ********* a fun romp. It\'s a great date movie because there\'s romance and a female lead for women and lots of action for guys. I went to see it with 4 girlfriends (we\'re in our 50s and 60s) and we all enjoyed it. I\'m going back with my hubby tonight because I think he\'ll enjoy it. If you like light-hearted action with a little romantic tension, you will enjoy this film. (There are no jump-into-bed scenes, but there is one scene where you see K. Heigl naked in the shower from behind.) Both males leads are great; can\'t decide I which one I was rooting for *************** like the perfect set up for a sequel, so watch for it...)

  • February 21, 2012 aspenparkrc
    Report This User

    You won\'t laugh, you won\'t cry, you won\'t smile, you won\'t frown. This movie illicits no emotions, unless you can call boredom an emotion.

  • February 20, 2012 kkas10
    Report This User

    I loved it! I felt Heigl did wonderful she needs to work more on her Jersey accent. I did not like Jason cast as Morelli but he grew on me throughout the movie. Vinnie, Connie and Lula I loved and felt they were cast very well. With Ranger I felt maybe I did not like Daniel cast either ************ him play Ranger I changed my mind he is so hot and it worked. Good movie a lot of laughing. I hope they continue on with the series.

  • February 19, 2012 Madeleine
    Report This User

    Somewhat funny, an acceptable variance from chiller/thriller/killer/sci-fi over-abundance offered these days.

  • February 15, 2012 juliabelleg
    Report This User

    I like it.

  • February 15, 2012 bkcrawfordb
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. It kept moving, and the main character does the unexpected, says the unexpected. The charcters where thinking out loud.

  • February 13, 2012 grachdsn
    Report This User

    Didnt go along with the book as much as I wante4d it to. Debbie Reynolds didnt look or dress like the Grandmother, and the Bondsman, Joe Morelli were poorly cast and not way appeared like they did in the book. Ranger was an exception to that, and he played well. Too much violence in the movie adaptation.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X