Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 12 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Has all kinds of good intentions, but the comedy is too broad and the pacing is clumsy. And then there's the Andy Griffith sex scene. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Alas, the conceit of a double-dating Grandson and Gramps does not produce a great many laughs in this cringeworthy film. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If you love Viagra jokes, look no further. Otherwise, stay home and find yourself a "Golden Girls" marathon. show more

  • 40
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Undeniably offers cheap laughs, its most receptive audiences will likely be found in retirement-community auditoriums. show more

  • 63
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    While Fienberg's direction is no great shakes, the film showcases its veteran cast. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The screenplay, written by first-time director Marc Fienberg, fervently stays true to an ancient sitcom tradition. show more

  • 50
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Ultimately it's sunk by the hole in the middle: Paul Campbell (presidential aide Billy on "Battlestar Galactica") who substitutes smarm for charm as the archetypal player who gets played. show more

  • 38
    Janice Page Boston Globe

    Fienberg’s film spends most of its time trying to convince us that true love starts when you stop playing games. Then, in the final minutes, it reverses itself and puts gamesmanship back up on another wobbly pedestal. The result is hard to cheer. show more

  • 50
    Dennis Harvey Variety

    The comedy's broad perfs, predictable story beats and pro but characterless packaging have a smallscreen feel. show more

  • 40
    Village Voice

    This Lifetime-ready comedy is hardly provocative--let alone perceptive, funny, or fresh show more

  • July 07, 2012 NJ4Home
    Report This User

    ************ this movie for the 1st time July 3, 2012. I never heard about this movie before, don\'t know why. I found it funny and enjoyed watching it. Would recommend you take the time to see it.

  • August 03, 2011 peshiya
    Report This User

    Awesome movie !

  • June 08, 2010 bffisk
    Report This User

    Excellent clean funny, funny, funny!!! What a tribute to Andy Griffith as well as Paul Cambell and Marl Sokolov(Julie). Edna(Liz Sheridan) was fantastic.. Rose( Doris Roberts) was excellent. Rob (Geoffrey Owenns) and Carrie(Juliette Jeffers) were hilarious. **************** now on Netflix and I watch it any time I need a pick-me-up.-

  • September 21, 2009 BVCAUGHELL
    Report This User

    Couldn't stop laughing!!

  • September 14, 2009 gnibaby
    Report This User

    I loved this movie - not disrespectful to sr citizens ******* actually shows what we deal with and are dealing with in our lives. Not out in DVD yet but would love to get the music score....

  • September 09, 2009 L274p
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. Lots of laughs. Good cast.. IS IT OUT ON DVD YET?

  • September 03, 2009 litquest
    Report This User

    Most of the scenes are too long and overblown. The humor is excessively crude. Very disrespectful of senior citizens. Dont waste your time or money.

  • August 30, 2009 rpfeiler
    Report This User

    This movie is NOT worth seeing. It's like bad television. The female lead is beautiful and they play their parts well but the overall feel is boring.

  • August 28, 2009 KMhomes
    Report This User

    Absolutely loved it!!!

  • August 28, 2009 JeffreyHan
    Report This User

    Ok, I'm a guy and this definately smelled like a chick flick from the begining to me; and I was right. But you know what, for a chick flick it was really worth seeing. Trust me, there are seens with Sheriff Taylor (aja Andy Griffith) that had me rolling on the floor. So give your girlfriend a treat and see this, then just be ready to laugh your ass off about half way through. It won't win an oscar, but it is very fun.

`

similar movies

  • Going Shopping (2005)

  • Lars and the Real Girl (2007)

  • Moving McAllister (2007)

  • The Hungry Bachelors Club (1999)

  • Marilyn Hotchkiss' Ballroom Dancing and Charm School (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X