Skip to main content

reviews

82
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 9 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Romantic yearning hasn't looked this sexy onscreen in years. show more

  • 100
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    Deliriously charming. show more

  • 100
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This Pride & Prejudice is a stellar adaptation, bewitching the viewer completely and incandescently with an exquisite blend of emotion and wit. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Still, the cynosure of all eyes is honest, articulate Elizabeth, her own woman in an era when women belonged to men, and at the same time full of love. Lizzie is the best, and Keira Knightley does right by her. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Whatever number it is chronologically on the P&P parade, Wright's film ranks first in verve. Quite simply, it is the essential P&P. show more

  • 88
    Jami Bernard New York Daily News

    Seeing the splendid new version of Pride & Prejudice can be hazardous to your health: There's a very real danger of swooning. show more

  • 50
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    Turns Jane Austen's nimble satire into a lumbering gothic romance. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie is well cast from top to bottom; like many British films, it benefits from the genius of its supporting players. show more

  • 100
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The appealing Knightley goes in a promising young actress and comes out a star, but the faultless cast of veterans and fresh-faced newcomers imbues every character with flawed and immensely appealing humanity. show more

  • 100
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Jane Austen's novel has been rejiggered into a jaunty romantic comedy that leaves us as incandescently happy as its characters. show more

  • December 26, 2012 kd6606
    Report This User

    This is one of my most favorite movie. Whenever I can catch it on TV, I do. I really need to buy the DVD so I can watch it whenever I want. I even read the book too (which wasn\'t an easy read).

  • May 11, 2011 JERRY
    Report This User

    Top notch entertainment!!! Romance galore. Great acting!!

  • May 03, 2010 mosh far2a
    Report This User

    someone help plz , i dont know how to download the movie

  • April 23, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    A very good version - well done in every way. I am still drawn to the original Greer Garson and Lawrence /Olivier version though.

  • January 13, 2010 Gina
    Report This User

    My favorite film! I've seen it over 100 times and still can't get enough of Matthew Macfadyen! 5 star movie without a doubt!

  • September 26, 2009 Mfantasia22
    Report This User

    I absolutely LOVED loved loved the movie....its beauty captivated me much more than the book, and yes, I have read it for myself. The book lacks the very sparkle of romance, and has an absence in portraying the unfathomable truth within love itself; the MOVIE is brilliant, and I never ever get tired of watching it over and over again. It's my absolute favorite movie of all time

  • August 03, 2009 Bibidibibidyboo
    Report This User

    Personally, I didnt like the film the slightest bit. I wonder how they can change all the beautiful classic stories, just to gain box office sales, and convert their true, beautiful, honest attraction into stupid shallow sex appeal! And the characters, some were very well formed indeed, while the other more essential ones couldnt impress, as for Mr Darcy, I couldnt imagine a more incorrect charactarization, so stupidly nervous, and lacking that self-contained mystery which made him so interesting in the original story. Elizabeth was portrayed really well at some points, she had the liveliness, but she was shallow, she wasn't brilliant, she didnt have that intellectual and emotional depth that blends with that liveliness to give her the brilliancy she so abundantly posesses in the book. Anyway, hers was the best portrayal in the film. Her mother was literally shown as a devastated hen, Jane sounded stupid, and the father much less sarcastic than he was supposed to be. And all the attention paid to the ladies' low necklines, which I strongly believe had not gained their way in the well-knitted society Austen lived in at the time, and all the sexuality simmering throughout the movie was so far from the truth and so corrupted the scene of the real story. Elizabeth and Darcy's attraction, as shown in the book, was built on intellect and manners, and truely deeper emotions than a touch of the hand or a kiss. Their last interlude (her kissing his hand), though it didnt happen in the book, at least was more to the point, more romantic, but the rest was just disgusting. People may like the film, IF they haven't read the real story, but I couldn't like it anyway, while the book is one of my favourites.

  • September 14, 2008 lsr321
    Report This User

    Best Movie Ever!

  • July 19, 2008 Ursula6221954
    Report This User

    Isaw the old black & white years ago, but this one is beyond words, i watch it everytime it comes on., usually on both Sat. & Sun. In fact Im planning on getting my own DVD

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X