Skip to main content

reviews

70
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 72 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Public Enemies comes at you like Dillinger did: all of a sudden. It's movie dynamite. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    If Public Enemies lacks anything, it's something audiences can't legitimately expect to find: a certain EXTRA something. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A welcome adult alternative to summer's sophomoric blockbusters. The only transforming going on here is actors skillfully taking on roles of '30s-era gangsters and lawmen. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Marvelously detailed and meticulously crafted, an elegant evocation of Depression-era America and its fascination with crime. What the movie lacks is any sense of elation--it’s joyless by choice. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Ultimately, the movie's a bust. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    You see the spark of 'this is cool!,' but you don't sense a purpose. The underconceived Public Enemies suffers from that lack of drive, though Johnny Depp is so urgent and charismatic as John Dillinger, he provides enough firepower to make the film legit. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film lacks the juice promised by the teaming of such extraordinary filmmakers with a cast as large as a Hooverville encampment. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is a very good film, with Depp and Bale performances of brutal clarity. I'm trying to understand why it is not quite a great film. I think it may be because it deprives me of some stubborn need for closure. show more

  • 88
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Michael Mann's extraordinary Public Enemies is an unusual sort of gangster picture, a near-impressionistic recreation of the last year in the life of one of American history's most notorious bank robbers. show more

  • 88
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    Without ever telling viewers what to think or how to feel, it raises more questions about the corruption of crime and crime fighting than any expose or thesis. show more

  • January 08, 2012 ED GARZA
    Report This User

    FACTUALLY INACCURATE. Pretty Boy Floyd was NOT shot by Purvis. He was shot by Retired Officer Chester K. Smith of East Liverpoool Ohio PD on October 22, 1934. Floyd only had 2 .45s, not a machine gun. Smith did alleged that Purvis did order the murder Floyd after Floyd after hew tried to get some questions about theh Kansas City Massacre, but Purvis denied this. Baby Face Nelson was killed long after Dillinger, not as he was escaping the Little Bohemia firefight, which offurred April, 1934. His wife dumped his body naked and in a blanket, on 11/27/1934 after a gunfight with 2 agents whyo he did iioll. She was hoping he could not be indentified and she was cencerned that he might get cold. Van Meter was killed in a shootout with St. Paul Minn 08/23/1934 Police long after Little Bohemia. Dillinger died 07/22/1934. The show as entertaining with the gungfights, but the deaths oif the main characters was totally inaccurate.

  • January 22, 2010 Anna Liza
    Report This User

    good thing i rented it

  • October 06, 2009 lfpmsn
    Report This User

    what a disappointment...this movie was terrible. shot in our home state, Wisconsin, this film was 'let's walk out" within 10 minutes. I love Johnny Depp...but this film did nothing to add to his resume.

  • August 24, 2009 Luke Meade
    Report This User

    Wow what a DUD! This was one of the most anticipated movies that was an absolute mess! Horrible editing, emotionless characters that have no character development. I spent a buck and a quarter at the cheap movie place and still did not get my moneys worth. DO NOT Waste YOUR TIME!

  • August 04, 2009 ArtIn04
    Report This User

    The performances by both Christian Bale, and Johnny Depp are amazing. But as far as a movie goes... I would have to say this is the worst movie I have seen (much less paid to see) in a very long time. I could not have been more disappointed with this film. And with such a great cast, an enormous budget, and an unbeatable true story for the plot, one would think this move to have the makings of a classic. But it is trash. I very seriously considered walking out of the theater after 20 minutes. And never before have checked my watch so many times during a film. So do not waste your time.

  • July 27, 2009 JMorrison2
    Report This User

    This movie is very boring and stupid. WAY over-rated. Don't waste your time on this one...

  • July 27, 2009 pally2728
    Report This User

    love depp...but this was junk. the director is overly fond of hand held head shots. in some of the scenes i passed the time counting actors pores. couldn't last the last 20 minutes or so. i gave up and left.

  • July 24, 2009 DvsBeauty1
    Report This User

    johnny depp is an awesome actor, however this movie wasn't as action-packed as i expected. it's pretty much about Dillinger and his story which i thought was portrayed brilliantly. it was pretty slow for me, but it was still a decent movie.

  • July 22, 2009 BromePriv
    Report This User

    This is one of the last series of Awesome Trailer Movies - and this was the most disappointing of the series; Wolverine, Star Trek, Terminator, etc. Depp was Great and Bale (as much as I loved him as Batman/Bruce Wayne) seemed out of his range- and the accent ... This is also another in the series of Directors in need of an editor that can 'cut things down to size'. Unfortunately there are woefully few movies that are justified being over two hours and was not one. Enjoy Depp, Enjoy the period and most of the story, but expect less than was promised in that Awesome Trailer.

  • July 20, 2009 Giantbeeze
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE WAS AWESOME GOTTA SEE IT IN THEATERS IF U DONT MIND VIOLENCE THAT IS.

`

similar movies

  • The Untouchables (1987)

  • Bugsy (1991)

  • Donnie Brasco (1997)

  • Road to Perdition (2002)

  • American Gangster (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X