Skip to main content

reviews

Based on Reviews
fan reviews ( 18 )
  • July 11, 2008 terry
    Report This User

    when things get tough ask yourself what would dieter do

  • May 22, 2008 drakeypoo2012
    Report This User

    a sad but true story, that will almost make u cry. christan bale and steve zahn give award winning performances. in a movie that should of been nominated for a emmy.

  • May 22, 2008 daveirenesj
    Report This User

    After watching the special features, I wanted to watch it agian. To all the haters--This movie was actually filmed in the jungle, and some of the actors came across snakes ect. The scene where he gets caught, there were poisonious snails in the water. This movie was based completly on that man's diary and interviews. That is why some think that it is boring. Sorry-he didn't write about large explosions and a big war scene in his escape.

  • May 22, 2008 ZERO5692
    Report This User

    One of the coolest war movies since Rambo.

  • May 22, 2008 celiablueeyes
    Report This User

    Lubavitch I am not, but since I am ultra-orthodox I respect Lubavitch. This movie is about a Rabbi's wife who commits adultry with first her husbands depraved brother and then with an african american cashier. I am overwhemed.

  • May 22, 2008 joshcobrasaz4
    Report This User

    Absolutely boring. But sometimes the reality (true story) isn't anywhere as exciting as one that is made up. This could be the poster child of that possibilility.Everytime I thought that something remoely exciting was about to happen, I was wrong. The movie never really gets going, and one never really finds out anything of real value about any of the characters including the one which this movie was based on. If you are looking for any action whatsoever or any historical info, this is NOT the movie to spend your money on. You will be sorely disappointed.

  • May 22, 2008 tonmusic2
    Report This User

    This was an excellent and superb movie.It was a little strange,however,that a post WW2 german would show so much loyalty to the USA.It was a tear-jerker.

  • May 22, 2008 thefamilychef
    Report This User

    This was the most amateurishly made movie i've seen in years. I can't believe so many critics raved over it. For example, in most movies the director would cue the extras to begin their action first so when the main characters enter, the continuity of the scene would seem normal. Also there was very little back-story to get me emotionally involved. When the plane was shot down, it was done so matter-of-factly that I really didn't care and it didn't seem like Dieter cared either. Why? I also believe the director was trying to make political points. unfortunately, as with most aspects of the movie, this was ineptly done. We were told on many occaisions that / big, bad, imperialistic, technologically superior, immature, America is provoking a amoral fight with a primitive peaceful people...Blah,Blah,Blah

  • May 22, 2008 madavey51
    Report This User

    CHRISTIAN BALE IS A REMARKABLE ACTOR. IT AMAZES ME THAT HE GETS SO LITTLE NOTICE. YOU SHOULD SEE HIM IN THE SPEILBERG FILM "EMPIRE OF THE SUN". MR. BALE WAS JUST A KID WHEN HE MADE THAT FILM, AND SHOWED THEN, THE AMOUNT OF TALENT HE HAS. RESCUE DAWN WAS ANOTHER FINE VEHICLE FOR MR BALE, BUT IT WAS ONLY IN THEATERS FOR A WEEK!!! WHAT'S UP WITH THAT... THERE ARE SO MANY WORTHLESS MOVIES OUT THERE,YET RESCUE DAWN HAS A SHORT RUN.....I DON'T GET IT.

  • May 22, 2008 fcahall
    Report This User

    This is an emotionally gripping and inspiring piece of art. It is gratifying to experience what singleness of purpose and belief in oneself can sometimes accomplish. Now I know why we must hold our military accountable for the way it treats prisoners. May we never sink to the level of the Asian animals portrayed in this story.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X