Skip to main content

reviews

25
Based on 13 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 26 )
  • 40
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Koechner tries hard, but ultimately scores few laughs except for when, like Ferrell, he bares his comically less than toned, fleshy body. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    As dumb spoofs go, The Comebacks isn't bad. It takes almost every sports movie of the last five years ("Field of Dreams," too) and blends them into a single slapdash comedy. show more

  • 25
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    We're treated to endless scenes of women getting slammed, thrown and clothes lined, while men's genitals are grabbed, groped, stroked and tasered. It's all just as painful as it sounds. show more

  • 12
    Jennie Punter The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    At the end of The Comebacks, Coach is offered job with a college basketball team called The Sequels - a joke perhaps, but all too horrifying a prospect after watching this dull fumble. show more

  • 50
    Stina Chyn Film Threat

    It’s mostly eighty-four minutes of puns, double entendres, and Freudian slips. show more

  • 20
    Austin Chronicle

    It’s too bad the filmmakers didn’t have a longer view of film history, though; maybe their jokes would have been more interesting if they’d been aimed at, say, "Somebody Up There Likes Me" or "The Pride of the Yankees." show more

  • NA
    Entertainment Weekly

    Probably the worst movie that's sludged across my professional eyeballs -- worse than "Daddy Day Camp," "Baby Geniuses 2," and "BloodRayne." show more

  • 40
    Gene Seymour Los Angeles Times

    You'll be goaded throughout The Comebacks to think of "Bend It Like Beckham," "Remember the Titans," "Rudy," "Hoosiers," "Field of Dreams" and their ilk. What you also think about is how much this stuff worked better in "Airplane!" or "Blazing Saddles." show more

  • 30
    L.A. Weekly

    Isn’t as obnoxiously awful as, say, "Epic Movie"; it’s simply not funny in the least. show more

  • 30
    The New York Times

    The movie’s low aspirations are depressing because its best gags are agreeably demented. show more

  • July 27, 2012 ghdhkk
    Report This User

    Call me simpleminded, but the coach\'s rah-rah speech near the end, just before the championship game, was hilarious.

  • June 20, 2009 JSPECS605
    Report This User

    the comebacks is the best movie ever, how doesn't everyone think that way

  • May 22, 2008 Lyn
    Report This User

    hilariosly stupid had no meaning to it. was a waist for my money their were only 2 funny stuff in it and that's it

  • May 22, 2008 glitznsparkle88
    Report This User

    I have to admit this movie includes inane jokes, silly concepts and an odd sense of humor. However, if you are looking for something to laugh at this may be a good choice. Matthew Lawrence is so hot in it, and he dances in his underwear to 'it's raining men!', so its up to you and what your preference is towards movie genres. Also, - I have to agree that it was not a good movie in general, but some good lauphs are thrown in. I just do not think it necesarily deserves the above comment that reads 'terrible'.

  • May 22, 2008 karanicole1013
    Report This User

    okayy.\n\n\npeople who say they don't like dumb movies--\nhere's a news flash for you--\n\nDON'T GO TO MOVIES THAT ARE DUMB!!!!\n\n\nthis movie is very halarious. soo.

  • May 22, 2008 debeddy1
    Report This User

    This was the best movie ever! I almost walk out of all the movies I see but this was the best! I didn't evn think about leaving! It was sooooo good. I kept laughing til the end credits. GO SEE THIS MOVIE!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 cubbyduke
    Report This User

    This movie was funny but I would still think that Date Movie was better but the comebacks was alot better than Epic movie.

  • May 22, 2008 themangmj
    Report This User

    the gayest movie i've ever seen

  • May 22, 2008 drummer4life915
    Report This User

    i love dumb movies. especially ones like airplane, the naked gun and anything by david zuckerman. the comebacks director tried to make this the genre for a stupid funny movie, but instead, he just made a stupid movie. the worst part about this movie was how alot of the gags could have been written by a fourth grader. it only gave me a couple chuckles but never really a good laugh. there were times where i questioned why i even liked this genre. take it from me, the director of this movie is ruining the genre. PLEASE STOP!!!!. leave it to the professionals

  • May 22, 2008 njmodel1883
    Report This User

    My little brother, sister and I walked out after 20 min of pulling our hair out. Thank God we got our money back.what a waste of film looks like anyone can make movies these days.

`

similar movies

  • Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story (2004)

  • Blades of Glory (2007)

  • Happy Gilmore (1996)

  • Kingpin (1996)

  • Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X