Skip to main content

reviews

20
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 179 )
  • NA
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A dull, boring, poorly acted, limply written and thoroughly unappealing fantasy, featuring bland characters locked in a struggle of no interest. show more

  • 63
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    He hasn't mastered the craft yet, but M. Night Shyamalan may be on to something with this action-movie thing. show more

  • NA
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The filmmaker has delivered yet another iteration of what has become a classic M. Night Shyamalan film, only much bigger than before, and, as a consequence, mind-bendingly turgid. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Unfortunately, this all proceeds at a supersonic tempo, with Shyamalan's directorial finger stuck on the fast-forward button. Significant plot points whiz by in this movie equivalent of speed-dating. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Unfortunately, its positive attributes are thrown out of balance by its abundant negatives - including chintzy effects, lumbering storytelling and an overstylized, earnest incompetence that evokes "Speed Racer." show more

  • 30
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Even during the climax, the film still is struggling to introduce the world of the film and its strange rules. show more

  • 60
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Completely harmless and inoffensive, and at the very least, Shyamalan appears to be having a little fun here. show more

  • 50
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The story is a much more serious problem, a run-on, overstuffed narrative that feels like a very long prologue for a climax that never comes. show more

  • 38
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The Last Airbender (they couldn't use the series' "Avatar" title because another film got there first, without all the bending) is more about marshaling extras and interpolating tons of computer-generated effects and keeping the factions straight. It's a tough sit. show more

  • 38
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    A toxic potion that will put children to sleep and kill his (M. Night Shyamalan) career. show more

  • May 20, 2011 lo00000000091037
    Report This User

    Great special effects, confusing storyline, but exciting and action-packed nonetheless. It has you hating the bad guys

  • March 08, 2011 hjt43434
    Report This User

    The acting was just terrible!!!

  • February 27, 2011 clarksofnj
    Report This User

    I think it's a far cry from terminator! I would like to see continuations of this kind of movie.

  • January 30, 2011 mrhelpfullhand
    Report This User

    hello m. night i havent heard of the secound installment of the last avatar 2nd movie if i may give some advice hopfully you real these from time to time i watch the cartoon series and your first was a great reminder of them in the secound may i as you make a few new changes and possible add the the keyoshy < proble miss-spelled in a few seens the thing that made it good was the friends he made along the way i believe you can do this and make it better!

  • December 31, 2010 Childofgod20051
    Report This User

    that movie is awesome!!! it still awesome!!!

  • December 31, 2010 Teacherspetpatti
    Report This User

    The movie was just awful. Bad acting. Bad effects. Bad timing. Just bad. The casting was horrible and what was meant to be a serious film, was a joke. What a waste of money! It did the original show no justice, and to tell you the truth, it was probably one of the worst films I have ever seen. It seems a bit harsh, but extremely appropriate. It was hard to watch. Almost, painful. Ugh, just, a really bad movie. I suggest you don't even buy the DVD. Nickelodeon will air it soon enough.

  • December 31, 2010 brainjj207
    Report This User

    I Love this film! It was great! This young teen worked magic all through the film. Those who think that this film is bad sit down and think how many shows in the cartoon series are there. In 1 1/2 or 2 hours they put all the great parts together. I like this film, fantastic work!! The special illusion were fantastic, terrific!!!!!!!

  • December 30, 2010 BOONE PLUMING
    Report This User

    My son and I loved it! Waiting for the 2nd one...........

  • December 30, 2010 dizfileDizon
    Report This User

    We saw the movie as very entertaining the ages are 74, 34, 10, 7 yrs. This was a different kind of story and diffiinately could have a sequel.

  • December 30, 2010 xxharryjpotterx
    Report This User

    I think it's good, the only thing I hate about it is that they say the names wrong, it really bothered me.

`

similar movies

  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)

  • Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief (2010)

  • Maleficent (2014)

  • Fed Up (2014)

  • Muppets Most Wanted (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X