Skip to main content

reviews

42
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 54 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    All this is conveyed in the remarkable performance of Ronan, an Oscar nominee for Atonement. She and Tucci -- magnificent as a man of uncontrollable impulses -- help Jackson cut a path to a humanity that supersedes life and death. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The Lovely Bones is difficult viewing, a meticulously crafted experiment that, it turns out, wasn't worth it. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Some books are not meant to be adapted to the big screen. Alice Sebold's best-selling The Lovely Bones falls into that category. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    I watched the film in an agitated space between engrossed and aghast. show more

  • 38
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It doesn't help any that Wahlberg, looking perpetually dumbstruck, is among the clunkiest line-readers working in movies today. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Peter Jackson siphoned out all the soulfulness that made the author's combination thriller/afterlife fantasy a best-seller. In its place is a gumball-colored potboiler that's more squalid than truly mournful. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Jackson and his team tell a fundamentally different story. It's one that is not without its tension, humor and compelling details. But it's also a simpler, more button-pushing tale that misses the joy and heartbreak of the original. show more

  • 75
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Yet so much about The Lovely Bones is so skillfully orchestrated, from the chillingly methodical villainy to the thrillingly paced manhunt, we can accept that we're in the hands of a higher power. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    It's all a gorgeous error, a bonfire of overreach. show more

  • 63
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    Though properly chilling when it’s supposed to be, it’s a film whose effects, script and performances keep it at arm’s length when it is supposed to be moving. show more

  • April 24, 2013 ti00000000146981
    Report This User

    this movie was awesome it was planned out perfect and the acting was incredible and also the suspense was so amazing and it actually made me cry, anyway this was awesome.

  • August 08, 2011 robontar
    Report This User

    I enjoyed it it was moving it was so different than other movies i\'ve seen when she escaped out of the bunker i didn\'t relize she was alreay dead some movies you have an idea where this was going but it fooled me i had no clue it went in different direction there not many movies that i cried but this was one of then for a grown man

  • March 05, 2011 TMarie1188
    Report This User

    I wanna say first the movie was good in how all the graphics and the overall picture was. As for the plot and movie it self I am a little disappointed. I agree with moviegoer9999 he says it good here how I feel and I also agree with hakukoru. Now I have read the book and the book was way better than the movie. The movie was totally off key with the book. The movie left things out that were in the book and I think thay should have been in the movie. I was watching the movie and when susie dies I was waiting to see the part where her mom has the affair with the detective on the case but it never happened, it should have been there b/c it showed how she was feeling in the death of her sister. Also in the book the ending is totally different Mr. Harvey doesn't die and he is caught and susie's parents find out what really happened to her. they should have really stuck to the book more. The movie would have done better.

  • July 08, 2010 hakukoru
    Report This User

    moviegoer9999 has expressed my exact feelings about the ending of this movie. I would have been much more satisfied if the movie ended with the dad smashing Mr. Harveys face in with the baseball bat. Alternatively, if she had spoken to Ruth rather than borrowing her body, and informed her of the contents of the safe... then getting to see Mr. Harvey sent off to jail with some not-so-subtle hints that he's in for a lot of ass-rape... Also, should we have a warm and fuzzy feeling that she's now a happy member of the 'girls who were raped and murdered by Mr. Harvey' club? What the f*** was that all about?

  • April 30, 2010 braser45
    Report This User

    I really freel insulted when some director decides that any absurdity in a movie is acceptable. First the after life stuff is OK eventhough I am an atheist. But I see it as fantasy which is fine, the parts I do disagree are the ones that are suposed to make sense. How could a person dig such a big hole on a field surrounded by houses a high school and go undetected? How could the same person, drag a huge safe from the basement of his house with or whithout a body inside? Give a break Mr Jackson. Keep to Lord of the ring fantasy. I will not go into other absurdities.

  • April 26, 2010 Mimzikat
    Report This User

    I must say I agree completely with the critic, Lisa Schwarzbaum. The book is so beautiful and full of feeling and expresses hidden feelings between young lovers the fragile subject of sex. The book clearly describes all this, but the movie showed no indication of any of the sort. The movie was obviously reduced to a point that was appropriate for a much younger audience than the target audience. Even though the film flourished in it's spectacular, heavenly effects, its lack of important and sensual detail has deteriorated the true storyline of this wonderful book.

  • March 01, 2010 moviegoer9999
    Report This User

    Mostly, this is a very suspenseful and engrossing murder mystery with supernatural elements -- yes, we know who the killer is, but the suspense is in how and when he'll be caught, and will he manage to strike again, at Susie's sister? Then we get to the end, and the movie turns into a train wreck -- every plot point that's been building is totally ignored. We expect that the murderer will be caught due to (a) Susie's observation of (and intervention in) the events after her death and (b) her close link with her father. As her sister is obviously due to be the next victim, we expect Susie to be instrumental in saving her life. Why else is she hanging around in the hereafter instead of moving on directly to heaven? Oh, wait - is she only waiting around so she can come back to earth for a bit, borrow someone else's body and get her first kiss? Then she and all the other victims can happily go on their way while she wraps up the film with her moronic philosophy about life, the universe and everything. Meanwhile the murderer goes free, never paying for his crimes, until he's killed in a lame accident. Oh, was that karma at work? Small comfort to Susie's family. Not to mention that he also gets away with dumping her body in the sinkhole, and so her family never gets the closure of knowing for certain what happened to her. I didn't read the book so I don't know if any elements were left out or altered that would have helped to make this mess more palatable. But the resolution of the story totally destroys the movie.

  • February 23, 2010 TarickaL
    Report This User

    this movie was good, suspenseful, and could have been so much better if they didnt focus so much on the fact of her being inbetween heaven and earth! but was over all good! great ending!

  • February 16, 2010 dinolove1055
    Report This User

    i only saw half of the movie but s far so great too bad i cant see it today atmetro pointe cause its notplaying there]] :[ hahah oh well bu itts really great ,

  • February 15, 2010 Pinkpuppy95
    Report This User

    great movie. very suspensful and scary in moments, and very sad in others. i love the grandma(played by susan surrandon) and i thought she was hilarous. she deffinatley added some humor to the film. the other actors were also great. ending was also good. go see this film!

`

similar movies

  • What Dreams May Come (1998)

  • Ghost (1990)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Philomena (2013)

  • The Time Traveler's Wife (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X