Skip to main content

reviews

27
Based on 14 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 40
    New York Daily News

    The mixed tones don't quite meld; While Smollet-Bell is fine, the broad comedy is so sporadic it feels out of place. show more

  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Onscreen, it somehow manages to be at once wildly overblown and terminally boring. show more

  • 30
    William Goss Film.com

    By any measure, 'Temptation' ranks amongst Tyler Perry's worst. show more

  • 63
    Slant Magazine

    When its third act erupts into full-blown theatrical maximalism, Tyler Perry's Temptation practically turns into Brian De Palma's Temptation. show more

  • 38
    Roger Moore McClatchy-Tribune News Service

    Cranking out two formulaic movies like this a year show the Atlanta mogul’s true ambition — replacing all those soap operas TV is canceling, two hours at a time. show more

  • 25
    RogerEbert.com

    The film is flat-out ludicrous from beginning to end. show more

  • 20
    Nick Schager Time Out New York

    That sort of fire-and-brimstone morality dominates this one-note sermon, which pairs its pedantic preaching with the campiness of Vanessa Williams speaking in an absurd French accent and Kim Kardashian as the protagonist’s bitchy fashionista coworker, vainly trying to act. show more

  • 20
    Marjorie Baumgarten Austin Chronicle

    Apart from its dramatic predictability, Temptation is a snooze because of its languid pacing and rudimentary camerawork. show more

  • 58
    Entertainment Weekly

    A few wild, third-act twists give Perry's middling melodrama some soap-opera kick. But all the finger-wagging sure does get tiring after a while. show more

  • 30
    Village Voice

    Temptation’s refusal to find nuance in its didactic worldview ensures that the film will ultimately only succeed for audiences already in agreement with it. show more

  • July 24, 2013 dynastarail
    Report This User

    Tyler Perry hit home with these Godless ass hollywood muh fuckas, because they live that crazy, fast, and reckless lifestyle. This shit is real out here!!! Tyler Perry hit home with that!!! And these critics didn't like it!!! Well done Tyler Perry!!!

  • May 05, 2013 starcitygal
    Report This User

    Whoa - just saw this today and was pretty blown away by the ending. The acting was not great, slow movie overall. Glad I ignored the critics\' reviews. The lesson in it was well worth sitting through. Could have done without Kardashian, though - she\'s lame.

  • April 25, 2013 ki00000000146437
    Report This User

    No stars. It was very bad . The story had no God in it . No Point to it, but people making Bad decisions. save your $

  • April 16, 2013 poetryandpearls
    Report This User

    BEST MOVIE EVER and let add this. ANYONE who have no appreciation for this kind of a movie would simply scare me. The valuable lessons learned from this movie is PRICELESS. TYLER PERRY should get a standing ovation for his work in producing such entertainment. The person who can\'t see that is frightful and probably biased as well. EVERYONE GO SEE THIS MOVIE AND TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO SEE IT TOO IF YOU LOVE THEM.

  • April 16, 2013 Kimberly
    Report This User

    This has to be the BEST movie I have ever seen. Every woman and man should see this movie. Powerful lessons on real life situations. Absolutely GREAT acting. Anyone who doesn\'t like or appreciate this movie has to be living in another world, like a fantasy world. Thank you Tyler Perry for such a great storyline. LOVED IT

  • April 13, 2013 annadicapri
    Report This User

    This was one of the best movies I\'ve seen because it was so true to life. It proves that we don\'t know how good we have it until we destroy it. The ending was not predictable so there was an interesting twist in the end. Great movie. I can\'t believe anyone would give this movie only 1 star.

  • April 12, 2013 Karen
    Report This User

    This was as lame and amateurish as it gets...... just awful. If there was a way to get a refund, I\'d be asking for one. I couldn\'t believe just how terrible it was and I wonder how it ever got to the big screen??? unbelievable....

  • April 07, 2013 wi00000000144343
    Report This User

    This is a truly awful movie. The excruciatingly bad dialogue is not helped by plot movement at glacial speed. Predictable and boring. The only good thing I can say about this movie is that the acting was not as bad as it could have been.

  • April 07, 2013 Cheryl
    Report This User

    You have to be a fool not to enjoy or appreciate this movie. It shows how what looks good isnt always good for you. One of, if not THE best work of Tyler Perry and I have seen just about every single thing he has made. This deserves an award!! A MUST MUST SEE!!!!

  • April 06, 2013 BarbaraBrainy
    Report This User

    Temptation

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X