Skip to main content

reviews

32
Based on 11 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 8 )
  • 25
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    The whole thing runs about an hour too long: It should have been a TV show. The adventure's too big for the kids who would love it the most. show more

  • 20
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If only the movie could live up to its own potential. Instead, we're stuck with blandly unappealing costumed characters meandering through a boring quest to find some lost balloons. show more

  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    If the target audience for this film were any younger, they'd be embryos. show more

  • 25
    Loren King Boston Globe

    Will your preschoolers enjoy it? Perhaps. Is it worth 88 minutes of their lives, or yours? Not in a world where "Sesame Street" is on TV every day. Not even in a world where "Sesame Street" didn't exist. show more

  • 12
    Nick Schager Slant Magazine

    Enduring this brainless kid's film is akin to witnessing the end of the world. show more

  • 60
    Sara Maria Vizcarrondo Boxoffice Magazine

    The song and dance interaction of kids hollering advice during Blue's Clues happens here on the big screen, which is meant to transform the movie into a social event of sorts. show more

  • 91
    Entertainment Weekly

    Parents who have had to sit through a myriad of mindless kids movies will appreciate a chance for their kids to be themselves at the theater and to be silly right alongside them. On the whole, it can serve as a good introduction to the movie-going experience. show more

  • 50
    Village Voice

    If today's youngsters grow up thinking of Christopher Lloyd as the old guy with the bongos from The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure, at least they'll be thinking of Christopher Lloyd at all. show more

  • 30
    Los Angeles Times

    For the sake of the children, The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure should be allowed to quietly float away. show more

  • 30
    A.O. Scott The New York Times

    Hallie's dad said it was Rocky Horror for toddlers whatever that is. Me and Hallie are 7 and we thought it was for babies. show more

  • September 06, 2012 screen
    Report This User

    I give it a big WTF

  • September 04, 2012 gs00000000128964
    Report This User

    The Oogieloves in the Big Balloon Adventure is unlike any other kids movie out there. Unlike other films, where you\'re struggling to keep them quite and in their seats, this movie encourages then to get out of their seats to dance and sing when instructed. Teaches kids great things like shapes and following directions. It\'s a super fun, innovative, and exciting movie that will have you child participating in. And please remember, the film was created for Kindergarteners. You must view the film through their eyes.

  • September 04, 2012 ironphx
    Report This User

    Such a great movie for kids. An interactive movie for the entire family.

  • September 03, 2012 sr00000000128505
    Report This User

    The Critics are all adults, what do they know about fun! The best review I\'ve heard of the Oogieloves was from the 18 month old niece of a friend of mine. I have no little ones of my own, and this little one loves to sing and dance, so we thought this might be fun. She had a riot! And her review? When the movie was over she sat through the credits bouncing in her seat along with the credits music, then when it was over she looked to us and said, \"More?\" After being told it was all done and there was no more, she frowned for a second, then brightened and happily exclaimed, \"AGAIN!\" What else do you need to know. :) It was loads of fun to watch the kiddos laugh and sing and dance around. They were so into it! And Moms and Dads, if you\'re worried your little one won\'t be able to sit through a whole feature length movie, ours barely makes it through a half hour cartoon, but every time she started to get squirrely it was time to get up and dance again. Also, it was nice to have a kids movie with completely no agenda, it\'s not pushing anything. Go, enjoy, and ignore the critics!

  • September 08, 2012 josephbeagle2
    Report This User

    Alright let's set these reviews straight. I'm not saying that all kid movies suck, but this is cow manure. I mean on people why are we so dumb. This movie should go dig a hole and die. This seems so desperate. The songs are bad, the characters are ass, and much more. Do yourself a favor and skip this film at all costs.

  • September 03, 2012 friendlymensch
    Report This User

    Don;t listen to the critixs...they don\'t have toddlers. This is a perfect film for Toddlers and their grandparents. Good solid wholesome fun with some good life lessons and manners present with wonderful performances from Chirstopher, Lloyd, Jamie Lee Pressly, Chaz Palmantieri, Cloris Leachman and others. The critics don\'t get it. And, the kids get a magic wand at the end of the movie...

  • August 31, 2012 henssuzanne
    Report This User

    Awhhhh........it was cute.........but definitely for the younger group. My grandson loved it. Some of the music was good, while some could of had better lyrics. Better than some of what is out there for small children.

  • August 30, 2012 Tara Hughes Woody
    Report This User

    I wasn\'t sure if to go see this from the (critics) reviews I had seen, however I am so glad I took my daughter. I will be honest as far as parent entertainment, there wasn\'t much. My 2 year old daughter LOVED it! She got up and danced and sang along. I have never seen her enjoy any other show for a solid hour and a half like this one. The celeb. actors were quite funny and I enjoyed seeing them have fun with the goofy roles they played. I would NOT recommend this for children over the age of about 5, I think older children would bore easily. But, if your kids like Barney, Yo Gabba Gabba, singing and dancing then this movie is a great one.

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X