Skip to main content

reviews

42
Based on 19 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    A movie for people who value heart and earnestness over technical filmmaking skill, and consider unpredictable plot turns a betrayal. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A very sweet, very slight family movie that scores smiles and tears of joy. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    A lot of heart, a jaunty mariachi score and a lush Eisenhower-era look help as the family-friendly story follows the usual sports-drama plays. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    It’s not a game anymore. In 1957, these kids were playing. And it was a perfect game. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The film's flaws probably won't bother less jaded kids one whit. show more

  • 63
    Boston Globe

    Much like a Sox starter struggling for the first couple of innings before settling down, The Perfect Game takes a while to get to the parts worth cheering. show more

  • 50
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    As the title loudly hints, ultimate victory assumes the flawless shape of the star pitcher’s perfect game, a rarity anywhere yet especially at the Little League level. In getting to that climax, the recreated game action is a bit tepid and the child actors too precociously cute, but the true tale in the midst of the fabrication remains a guaranteed heart-warmer. show more

  • 38
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The film is perfectly mediocre, which is heartbreaking, not heartwarming. show more

  • 38
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    The characters in The Perfect Game speak old school “Hollywood Mexican.” In other words, they speak English with accents that we haven’t heard since the golden Age of Speedy Gonzalez. show more

  • 80
    Pete Hammond Boxoffice Magazine

    Really a perfect family movie. show more

  • August 10, 2012 freckelsr
    Report This User

    Good movie. Not Star Wars if you are looking for flashing lights and loud noises! True story without all the glitz and bling. Enjoy this with whom ever and not worry about language or nudity. Just a great movie. Enjoy

  • August 13, 2011 at00000000099245
    Report This User

    By far one of the best re-created, true life stories i have ever watched. Truly a remarkable story!

  • April 01, 2011 Defeoc46
    Report This User

    It was a heartwarming, inspiring film. Great for families. Didn't last long enough in theatres, and would like to know if it will be out on dvd anytime soon. I would definitely give it four stars.

  • December 18, 2010 calmariner
    Report This User

    This is a fantastic film which was under-marketed, and for some reason, faced a limited release. Great for families, and particularly those whose kids are participating in any kind of organized sports, but particularly Little League. Why this film hasn't been rushed to DVD baffles me. It would have made a great Christmas present for my grandkids!!!

  • May 02, 2010 CMollybrown
    Report This User

    This was an excellent movie. I took my eleven year old grandson who loves the sport of baseball. It is an inspiring story of determination, hard work and loyalty. Lessons that are often forgotten in our society today. I purchased the book which is an fantastic read and can't wait for the movie to become available on DVD so that I can add it to my classic collection.

  • May 02, 2010 pkawika56
    Report This User

    This is a fantastic movie! I'll see it several times, then buy the DVD. The actors make it real, the kids are very sympathetic characters, the action is exciting, and it even has romance! I won my heart!

  • April 29, 2010 ersedillo
    Report This User

    The plot was at times smarmy when trying to go for dramatic effect, like tension between father and son and an awkward attempt at a love story that was saved by the actress. When the story forcused on the baseball and their journey, the movie was a hit. The actor who played the winning pitcher of the perfect game was the same kid who played Zorro's son in another movie, but he was believable because unlike a few of the other actors, you could tell by his throwing motion and his swing that he can actually play baseball well. The first movie about this team was in school year 1957-58 - I saw it when I was in 3rd grade!

  • April 21, 2010 Monastylist
    Report This User

    You have to see this movie, It is about a baseball game that was played all over Texas including San Antonio, Waco , coprus , etc. It is also a True Storie, At the end of the movie The real Player of the baseball game or now playing in U.S. Major Games Like the Angles etc. They are big name players for the U.S. With baseball players you all No, If you love baseball the movie is for you. A+++ In my book.

  • April 20, 2010 Soverytallrick
    Report This User

    Great entertainment! Enjoyed every minute of this based true story and kids with a dream! Hard to find great entertainment that isn't full of murder, mayhem, sex and violence.

  • April 19, 2010 Kathy
    Report This User

    Excellent film, one of the best I have seen all year. What an uplifting film and based on a true story. I loved it that they had real footage and pictures of the true characters of the film.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X