Skip to main content

reviews

71
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 32 )
  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A solidly made wish-fulfillment fantasy set during World War II. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Well-told fanciful tales aimed at children but appreciated by adults are a rarity, and The Water Horse should be savored for the exuberantly entertaining ride it offers. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    It declines to take itself seriously, yet manages, sometimes simultaneously, to be exciting, instructive, cheerfully absurd and genuinely affecting. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Emily Watson, looking at home in her '40s frocks, plays Angus' mother - coping not only with her son's obsession with what she believes to be an imaginary friend, but also with her own worry and grief about her husband at war. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    It's a little corny and somewhat overlong, but a sweet sensibility and stirring adventure scenes make The Water Horse: Legend of the Deep a welcome gift for anyone looking to keep kids entertained over the holidays. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    While it boasts a lower profile than many other Christmas releases, it might catch on with parents who want to take their kids to a movie that the entire family will actually enjoy. Nifty special effects and a first-rate British cast elevate this production. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Like most British family films, Water Horse doesn't dumb down its young characters or insult the intelligence of the audience. It has a lot of sly humor about what we know, or have heard, about the Loch Ness monster. show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    The period detail is evocative, Watson and Etel are particularly good, and baby Crusoe -- a computer-generated image seamlessly woven into the live action -- is a slippery little star in his own right. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Consider it "Free Willy" with the Loch Ness Monster. It's that kind of family-friendly movie - one that focuses on the friendship between a lonely boy and an animal. show more

  • 75
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    It's adapted with charming dispatch from the Dick King-Smith story, and served up by the same CGI wizards who animated the critters in "The Lord of the Rings" and "The Narnia Chronicles." show more

  • March 28, 2009 Amazingcrystal
    Report This User

    this is movie not that good

  • August 27, 2008 cherie117
    Report This User

    We showed this movie at our monthly family movie night and it was a hit with young and old. The acting was superb and the storyline entrhalling. The sequences with the waterhorse were wonderfully down and gave everyone a vicarious thrill. Reccomment to those who enjoy great family entertainment

  • August 13, 2008 FrButterflykiss
    Report This User

    8.13.08I Love the Water Horse and I Love Kith!!August 13th is here!

  • July 02, 2008 Trasheralley
    Report This User

    Great family movie. The story is well told and the characters are all wonderful.

  • May 22, 2008 psorjuanaines
    Report This User

    Great movie for the family. recomended.

  • May 22, 2008 juliana
    Report This User

    Nobody mentioned the music. It was sssoo beautiful ! ! so was the scenery. Loved the scottish accents. ........good acting on the part of the boy. My boyfirned and I are dying to know how that movie was made. If anyone has read in a mag . or heard on a T V show how they made the creature to look so real, please email me and tell me. It wasn't all computer graphics. Some of it was some sort of puppetry . ~ ~ ~ Julie

  • May 22, 2008 archangel1802
    Report This User

    overall good movie, it seems a little like an Scottish Free Willie to me. Dotted with moments of Humer and suspense i would give it three stars. the acting was well portrayed for the most part, and the graphics were decent enough to be semi-believable. However, with instances of profanity, a mother who lies to her children about their fathers death, children who lie, decieve and hide things from their mother and never learn any better, and a handy man who helps the children in their deciet, the movie definatly lacks in the teaching and morals that cinematography was meant to portray.and finally to the critics, i find it alarming that many of you rated this movie so highly when you ranked other family friendly movies (such as the chipmunks) so low. many of you seem to have issues with what truely makes a good family film. but thats just my opinion.

  • May 22, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    The Water Horse provides a lot of campy movie action in the style of classic Disney. In addition there is a back story of the romantic interests and competition between the artillery captain and the handyman that could provide some interest for mothers taking their children to the movies. Over all it's a cute but not spectacular film but nice for families with young children. Check out my full review and more at johnhuntspace.com

  • May 22, 2008 debwaltm
    Report This User

    The waterhorse is so happy and sad all together. in the begnning it was a little scary but i loved it!

  • May 22, 2008 penelopebia
    Report This User

    I find it fascinating that a reviewer thought the parents who thought it was too scary.....should"get a life"!I am Granny! I took my two grandchildren.9 and 5..and I WAS REALLY SCARED!! I definitely have a life! My grandson on my right......said......."don't cry; Granny..it won't die.....Mommy (my daughter) said it has a happy ending!"My grandaughter (9) on the other side was crying.......(as I was).I loved the movie......I rate it 5 stars......I would just pass the suggestion.....tell your young children....."there are really scary parts.....but it has a happy ending." My daughter is so very smart!Penelope

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X