Skip to main content

reviews

58
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 60 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Lawless is a solid outlaw adventure, but you can feel it straining for a greatness that stays out of reach. There's even a prologue and an epilogue, arty tropes signifying an attempt to make a Godfather-style epic out of these moonshine wars. Not happening. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Hillcoat and Cave give us more than an action story. They create a world. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    So stunningly photographed that the blood that spurts early and often in this grisly period piece is extra-vivid red. But that hardly makes the Prohibition-era story of a trio of bootlegging brothers feel authentic. show more

  • 70
    John Anderson Wall Street Journal

    Lawless is one of those films that, through seeming serendipity, has a cast that defines its moment. There have been others - "The Breakfast Club," "The Godfather" and "Silverado," to name one irrelevant and two relevant examples. But Lawless really lucked out. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A story of entrepreneurship, of family, of fighting for one's rights - the right to make white lightning, and money. It's as American as apple pie. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The action is, overall, as exciting as the primary performances are impressive. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    If Lawless doesn't achieve the mythic dimensions of the truly great outlaw and gangster movies, it is a highly entertaining tale set in a vivid milieu, told with style and populated by a terrific ensemble. show more

  • 80
    Movieline

    As rollicking and rough as a drive down a dirt road with no suspension, Lawless is a tale of three-bootlegging brothers from Prohibition-era Franklin County, Virginia, who are, in the words of one character, some "hard-ass crackers." show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The strength of the cast assembled by Australian-born director John Hillcoat is eye-opening. show more

  • 75
    Jesse Cataldo Slant Magazine

    Lawless may be full of half-hearted overtures toward depth and emotional complexity, but the film's prestige sheen is mostly a sham; the real focus here is the irrepressible lure of bad behavior. show more

  • December 18, 2012 testatime
    Report This User

    I felt like I had been transported back in time. I was in the year 1931.The film allowed me to feel the prohibition era through each of my sences. The only aspect that I felt was somewhat inferior was the final gun battle. In that scene. there appeared to be too much macho bravado and not enough common sence displayed.

  • December 16, 2012 pp00000000133889
    Report This User

    great movie

  • December 07, 2012 Sir Raymond
    Report This User

    Everything about this movie was well done. True to fact about the Proibition Era. A great storyline, with believable Actors. Recommened to all.

  • December 06, 2012 ed00000000133476
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. The actors did a great job and the storyline was consistant and captivating. I would reccomend this one to anyone.

  • December 04, 2012 jamesjowens1
    Report This User

    Very good movie! Some of the violence really got to me though. I thought the story and acting were well delivered by the actors especially Guy Pierce ********** made you hate his character so much! The story was very interesting and Intense about this moonshining family. I love true stories ,so this fit the bill.The era in which this story takes place was well done also. I highly recommend.

  • November 28, 2012 hl00000000132831
    Report This User

    Lousy screenplay and writing, decent photography, stilted acting. The film had some promise but was inevitably destroyed by the lack of skill in telling a story. Shia LeBeouf plays himself, as always, and himself is not interesting or ********************** crap if you are bored.

  • October 08, 2012 devsainii
    Report This User

    It\'s very good movie. I like it\'s movie conceptually story. I download it from here http://freedownloadfullmovie.com/2012/09/lawless-2012/ it;s print quality is awesome\'s.

  • October 07, 2012 ng00000000125422
    Report This User

    One would expect all these no doubt fantastic actors to select their projects with concise precision. Their craft is beyond imitation, and their portrayal of characters uniquely defined. It is in fact the dramatic deliverance in this piece that was particularly enjoyable. Unfortunately, the screenplay didn\'t keep up with this bargain. The characters followed a path that was cliché at best. There might have been a token surprise here and there, but, let\'s face it, we\'ve seen this one before. I read in a review somewhere that this was a Bonnie and Clide for modern times...wow... Go have a look for yourselves. I can\'t chalk this up as a bad film, though. As I said, the acting was flawless enough to keep me interested, and the cinematography and music was perfectly orchestrated. Perhaps the screenwriters felt it was enough to stamp the \"based on a true story\" at the opening and just let it coast. If you have the patience, wait for the last forty-five minutes of the film. This is when the thing actually becomes semi interesting. And, yes, it all ends as you predicted in the first ten minutes of the movi

  • September 30, 2012 ri00000000129587
    Report This User

    This is an EXCELLENT movie. I am one harsh critic (total movie buff) and I must say this is the best movie I’ve ever plunked down cash to watch. Every SECOND was great. Not one dull moment. Can’t wait to add it to my collection. Enjoy! You will enjoy every second. About time, Hollywood. About darn

  • September 29, 2012 lg00000000129894
    Report This User

    Great Movie would see it again

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X