Skip to main content

reviews

85
Based on 42 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 77 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Oldman gives a performance that is flawless in every detail. show more

  • 100
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    Screenwriters Bridget O'Connor and Peter Straughan have clarified a few things that needed clarifying, camouflaged a few things that needed camouflaging - and gently tugged some passive flashbacks into the active present. It's a cagey adaptation. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The film employs a largely British cast that is perhaps the most impressive ensemble of any movie this year. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This version of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy turns on the presence of Mr. Oldman, and he is an actor of great experience and accomplishment who has finally found a film that fully deserves him. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Even if you get lost - in the spyspeak, in the codes, in the comings and goings of grim-faced men with satchels full of documents they should not have - Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy is worth getting lost in. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Even those who adored Alec Guinness as the small-screen George Smiley will appreciate Gary Oldman's perfectly attuned turn as a Cold War spy drawn back from forced retirement. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    It is one of the few films so visually absorbing, felicitous shot after shot, that its emotional coldness is noticed only at the end, when all the plot twists are unraveled in a solid piece of thinking-man's entertainment for upmarket thriller audiences. show more

  • 95
    Ella Taylor NPR

    The screenplay, by Peter Straughan and his late wife, Bridget O'Connor, is debonair. Alfredson's mastery of tone and ambiance is flawless. The bloodletting is brief and necessarily appalling, the comedy mordant: I guarantee you will never sing along to "Mr. Woo" in quite the same way again. show more

  • 95
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    The movie's intricacy, and the way it finds its way into the emotional lives of its characters via (and not in spite of) that intricacy, is what makes it extraordinary. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy challenges audiences to believe in craftsmanship again. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    This is one of the finest achievements of the year, and while it's easy to lose your way in the labyrinth, I don't think Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy is most interesting for its narrative pretzels. Rather, it's about what this sort of life does to the average human soul. show more

  • August 31, 2013 heartbeast
    Report This User

    Deadly! How can such a great cast be sooooo dull?

  • April 19, 2012 wylenjoe
    Report This User

    What is happening?

  • April 12, 2012 sr00000000118364
    Report This User

    A pretty cool but very slow spy movie. Watchable.

  • March 25, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    If you are expecting a Jason Bourne, or James Bond type spy thriller, don\'t waste your time or money on this film. If you are impressed with speed and exictement of watching grass grow, I also recommend saving your time and money. Seriously, this was the slowest, most boring movie I have watched in ages. Maybe if I had read the book and had some notion as to the story prior to watching the film, but, then, I find le Carre\' books to be tedious. Guess I should have known.

  • March 05, 2012 cw98155
    Report This User

    Great cerebral Movie requiring some attention by the viewer. It is not a Hollywood version with flash and pyrotechnics. Portrays the chess like reality of intelligence or detective work.

  • February 05, 2012 Jamie
    Report This User

    Worst movie I have ever seen. Do not waste your time or money unless you want to go to sleep. My entire family went and everybody wanted to leave after the first 30 minutes. The movie critics have no credibility. I will never go by their ratings or even read them after going to this absolutely rotten movie. I should have requested my money back. Buyer beware.

  • February 05, 2012 flphilli
    Report This User

    This was the most boring, and hard to follow movie that I\'ve ever seen. I can\'t imagine what the critics saw in this!

  • February 03, 2012 suslttlrd
    Report This User

    I absolutely love this movie. Agree with the critics. It is intriguing and well done. Gary Oldham was top notch. I can see why some will not like the movie. It\'s not an action movie but a pay attention and connect the dots movie. My kind of spy movie.

  • January 29, 2012 mc00000000024028
    Report This User

    Absolutely terrible! Could not figure what was going on from the first scene. Had to fight falling asleep. Don\'t see it.

  • January 29, 2012 davidten
    Report This User

    Went to see this last night with my wife, and I fell asleep through at least 30 minutes of it (according to her). We both do not like thrillers with lots of explosions, car-chases, and non-stop action, but this movie was just way too slow. The problem is not that it has a lot of dialogue, and you have to think and pay attention (which is a rarity in today\'s big budget movies), but rather, there are no suspenseful moments in the entire movie. There is no hook in this film (or no \"aha\" moment) to keep your attention. When you finally find out who the mole is, you could care less; you just want to get the heck out of the theater. John La\'Carre\'s books are a lot like this though - slow and plodding. This is movie is not any different. Also the subject matter is very dated with the backdrop being the cold war. This is understandable since the book was written in the mid-70s, and it makes the movie seem as if actually came out 37 years ago, and your watching it again. Gary Oldman is a good actor, but his facial expression and tone of his voice actually never change through the entire film. That also adds to the boredom factor. Lots of scenes of him walking through parks, looking out windows, and swimming in a pond. This movie needs more drama and lots of ************* off slow and continues to plod till thankfully it is over. Skip this one and go see the Swedish (the best version for acting and authenticity) or American version of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (very good as well and follows the book more closely) for a better time.

`

similar movies

  • The Russia House (1990)

  • The Good Shepherd (2006)

  • Syriana (2005)

  • The Falcon and the Snowman (1985)

  • State of Play (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X