Skip to main content

reviews

43
Based on 41 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 67 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Since the new Recall is totally witless, don't expect laughs. Originality and coherence are also notably MIA. show more

  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    For all of its dazzlingly rendered cityscapes and nonstop action, this revamped Total Recall is a bland thing - bloodless, airless, humorless, featureless. With or without the triple-bosomed prostitute. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Instead of drawing the audience in, the action scenes merely blur together. And the intriguing, thoughtful concepts at the story's core are glossed over. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The remake has no grace notes, or grace, no nuance, no humanity, no character quirks, no surprises in the dialogue and no humor. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Strip away the video-game visual effects, the endless chases and zero gravity shootouts, and Total Recall comes down to this: What is reality? show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    There's something sadly poetic about a movie dealing with disappearing memories that vanishes from your mind while you watch it. show more

  • 60
    The Hollywood Reporter

    The outcome is engaging enough, although not entirely satisfying from either a genre or narrative standpoint, lacking both substance and a degree of imagination. show more

  • 50
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    Set in a high-tech yet shabby future, the remake of Total Recall is a fully realized piece of production design. But its script, credited to six authors, is more like a preliminary sketch. show more

  • 55
    Movieline

    The two films have the same underlying bone structure, sure, but this new Total Recall is made of more serious, more humorless stuff. It looks simultaneously lavish and interchangeable in its explosions and shoot-em-ups with a dozen other recent action movies, and in its sci-fi stylings with a dozen others in the genre. show more

  • 88
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    The richly constructed first hour is so superior to any feat of sci-fi speculation since "Minority Report" that the bland aftertaste of the chase finale is quickly forgotten. show more

  • June 01, 2013 xr00000000152207
    Report This User

    the orginal is better

  • January 02, 2013 Kimberly
    Report This User

    Die hard original Total Recal fan, liked the new one different story line but felt like they payed homeage to the original \"2 weeks\" sceen was awesome :)

  • December 31, 2012 uy00000000099963
    Report This User

    Stick to the original with Schwarzenegger

  • December 30, 2012 joelcline
    Report This User

    I thought it was an ok flick...completely different setting from the original movie, also, I don\'t read books because they\'re stupid

  • December 25, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    I very much liked the original movie as I did this version. The concept was the same but the story lines differed greatly. This version was very well done.

  • December 22, 2012 crabnebulajr
    Report This User

    Effete critics just don\'t like science fiction, I guess, they hated this and they hated John Carter, both movies we loved.

  • December 01, 2012 he00000000132416
    Report This User

    Good remake. Different but more relevent story line.

  • October 11, 2012 ah00000000130343
    Report This User

    What a load of crap. The original even with its bad special effects and sets still beat the crap out of this terrible remake. And why did they change the story? The revised story doesn\'t flow as well nor does it give you a feeling he is fighting the good ************* the original and skip this one.

  • September 14, 2012 ng00000000125422
    Report This User

    I\'m not sure how deep down the list of 80s films remakes we are at this point. But one thing is clear: we are kicking ass. Back in the day, Total Recall was a cool idea, but amped up with the effects and cinematic skills of the 21st century, it is an insanely cool idea. Maybe it wasn\'t everyone\'s cup of tea. After all, this kind of effects and blow\'em up buffet has become common meal in our time. But you can\'t deny the new version of Total Rekall is super slick and completely entertaining. Colin Farrell plays a good double agent lost in a futuristic wonderland. The guy already has that get-me-a-map kind of dumb founded look naturally, so not a stretch. Kate Beckinsale is awesome in the rare role of a bitch of a wife. I think I speak for all of the male population when I say: \"we don\'t mind a bit of smacking around, Kate. Tell us what to do. Any time.\" And if that wasn\'t enough, some god sent studio executive thought to toss Jessica Biel in the mix. I don\'t need to spell it out for you. Do I? Let\'s just say I am hoping for the Baywatch slow motion edition when it comes out on blu-ray... No, you can\'t borrow my copy! So you see? Total Rekall delivers the new version of the ultimate 80s ice cream. Delicious to look at, stronger in flavor, and with plenty of nuts to go around.

  • September 09, 2012 bdyftns
    Report This User

    I ************ \'Total Recall\', a little late, but it was great. Yes, much better than the first one with Arnold and so much more futuristic action. I didn\'t catch it right away, but the head \'bad guys\' was Byron Cranston of \'Breaking Bad.\' I guess I could of looked it up, but there was no mistaking the voice. Movie was done very well and keep you wondering, even when the movie was over.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X