Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 163 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Brutal, sexy, built to thrill and minus a scintilla of redeeming social value, the movie -- based on a series of comic books by Mark Millar and J.G. Jones -- explodes like summer fireworks. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Either a go-for-broke action movie or a sick, sick movie for a sick, sick public. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The thrilling stunts and hyperkinetic action scenes are the undisputed stars of this surprisingly entertaining film. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Before Wanted reaches the end of its wild course, the violence that's been nothing but oppressive becomes genuinely if perversely impressive; the ritual carnage becomes balletic carnage (railroad cars included); the Walter Mitty-esque hero, Wesley, played by James McAvoy becomes a formidable enforcer of summary justice, and Mr. McAvoy, most memorably the young doctor in "The Last King of Scotland," becomes a certified star. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Wanted is head-spinning stuff, and it's easy to get caught up in its masterfully manipulated mayhem. Visually, and viscerally, it's pretty awesome. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    There's barely a frame that doesn't look stretched, smashed or otherwise harassed. Imagine "The Matrix" on speed, and you're halfway there. show more

  • 100
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    This over-the-top, ultraviolent, hyperkinetic action thriller pretty much has it all. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The way to enjoy this film is to put your logic on hold, along with any higher sensitivities that might be vulnerable and immerse yourself as if in a video game. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Wanted is like a 12-armed heavy-metal drummer after a case of Red Bull, flailing and thundering through two hours of impossible action. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    There are times when the film is flat-out silly (such as the spinning car assassination), but that's part of the movie's charm. At its worst, Wanted is never boring. At its best, it can be damn close to intoxicating. One word, written without apology, describes it best: fun. show more

  • July 09, 2010 CassS62
    Report This User

    This movie was AMAZING....the action was there, the intensity was there..the sexy was there....this movie was the Best...i recommend you see it

  • October 09, 2009 hockibabe
    Report This User

    I LOVED this movie. Of course, I didn't like it the *first* time I seen it; I never do. Some movie's are like that with me, that's why I also make sure I see it more than once. Sometime's I'll see a movie at the show and then hate it when it comes to cable or dvd.......The action was SO cool & edgy in this movie & the director was phenomenal. James McAvoy was excellent as well. Those who complain about it being a comic book, well gee wiz hon, so was Batman...As much as I like Heath Ledger, he ONLY won it posthumously because he died...He won it because the "power's that be" were to cowardly to give him an award for Brokeback Mountain. I think the people that don't like this movie, really, just don't like Angelina Jolie. Yes, they are those sad, sad, pathetic people who are mad that Brad Pitt is with her. To those people complaining I say "What have YOU done lately?".......fans of the movie know what I'm talkin' bout.

  • June 29, 2009 srbgodsmack1992
    Report This User

    "Hot. and better than The Dark Knight." This, ladies and gentleman with good movie taste, is why movies like Wanted and Indiana 4 are produced. Wanted is a terrible waste of money. Bending bullets? Is this a joke? Matrix is the only movie to this day that can pull off some type of bullet-modifying effect. Wanted was horrible, and is by far one of the most user-appraised overrated movies of this decade. People need to tune up their movie tastes so movie like Year One, Land of the Lost, and other stupid wannabe blockbusters can lose their ****** directors. That was a stupid comment about this being better than Dark Knight, you have absolutely no taste in a good movie. Enjoy a movie, but when it comes to rating them via story and analyzing the plot, please don't tell people that Wanted is better than the Dark Knight. No flippin' way. 1/5 stars - not worth seeing. Almost as bad as Indiana 4, but not really because Indiana kingdom of the directors-lost-talent is the worst movie of the century.

  • March 03, 2009 robbie61987
    Report This User

    This was a joke.. Written by a comic book geek and acted by an actress whose actions off camera are no better then a high priced call girl.

  • January 07, 2009 LiVeAliTTle5482
    Report This User

    this movie was great! The role angelina plays as the only girl in the Fraternity is really empowering and when she asks westely why he is there and beats him up, its really awesome. the roles that angelina plays shows people that women aren't weak fragile things, plus there is the perfect amount of action and intelligence. it makes you think and the end refers very much to the beginning and connecting prior knowledge. i give it 5 stars

  • January 03, 2009 mattsci
    Report This User

    Wanted was as bad a movie as I have seen in a long time. I give this, perhaps on a good day, a 4/10, at the very best. The acting is horrific, which I am even willing to totally forgive sine I knew what kind of movie I was going to see, but I cannot forgive the absolutely terrible combination of bad acting with ridiculous plot. Nothing was explained well in this movie, mainly because there was nothing worth explaining. If you love movies with a whiny voice over almost constantly booming through the speakers, maybe you will enjoy it. I don't know, call me absolutely crazy, but am I really supposed to be laughing at how absurd the action scenes got? I mean, laugh out loud moments when you were supposed to be feeling 'suspense'? Anjelina Jolie is at her worst, and is mainly used as eye candy, only she doesn't look much better than Kate Bosworth after Blue Crush when she lost 190 pounds. She gets out of water and looks hot, from behind, for about 1.3 seconds. Ok, not quite worth the price of admission. Morgan Freeman plays a typical god-like character who is supposedly imparting knowledge, etc...Talk about phoning it in for a role... How much did he earn for this? Please save your money for anything else. LOL at the absurdity of them not being able to kill him at the end. These are the ELITE warriors who can BEND BULLETS from miles away and hit targets and shoot from moving trains and scoop people up in cars when going 100 mph, but when a bunch of rats get released LOOK OUT! What WILL WE DO???? He runs straight down the middle of a big warehouse and not one of 100 people can shoot him? Ok...fine... but then they all end up in a circle at the exact point he is going to show up at???? He also gets sliced in the head with a meat cleaver and doesn't even slow down. Does this guy have magical powers or is he a normal human with some unique characteristics? I honestly don't get it. Is he a 'superhero' or a normal guy trained to be a warrior? Because if you stuck a meat cleaver in my head I don't think I would be getting up. Ok...again... I know what kind of move this is... but just because you know a movie is a certain type and genre, it doesn't mean you have to make it this bad. I am not a big fan of the Matrix, but I understand the appeal, and I can even watch it and be a fan of the techniques used... I just really can't stand Keanue Reeves. But Wanted is NOTHING like Matrix in quality, plot, or film technique. This is simply the kind of movie that will come on TNT in a few years at 9pm on a Saturday night and you may watch it thinking Jolie will get naked or something. I always say to each his own with movies, but for some reason I really feel sorry at some level for those of you who A)Really enjoyed this movie and B) Are telling other people they should see this movie.

  • December 30, 2008 PurpleMovies27
    Report This User

    This movie was alright, I give it 3 stars out of five. Because it was really interesting and you never knew what was going to happen next, but was kind of boreing and not my type of movie.

  • December 09, 2008 flymiranda23
    Report This User

    Hot. and better than The Dark Knight.

  • December 07, 2008 xxraver34741xx
    Report This User

    One of the best movies I've seen this year.

  • December 04, 2008 Alexander9321
    Report This User

    Grade B porno with bullets.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X