Fresh off its impressive haul at the Golden Globes the weekend, "The Revenant" is poised to nab yet another statuette with a nomination for a Directors Guild of America Award.

The DGA announced its annual slate of honorees for outstanding directorial achievement on Tuesday, and "Revenant" director Alejandro G. Inarritu was among the five nominees. Inarritu also won the DGA award last year, for 2014's "Birdman," and with the new momentum from "The Revenant"'s Globes wins, the director looks like an early favorite to repeat.

The rest of the nominees were rounded out by Tom McCarthy ("Spotlight"), Adam McKay ("The Big Short"), George Miller ("Mad Max: Fury Road"), and Ridley Scott ("The Martian"). In addition to those names, the DGA also included a new category this year, honoring directors who helmed their first feature films in 2015.

"There's a first time for every feature filmmaker, but not every first time offers fresh viewpoints in storytelling that are imperative in this industry," said DGA president Paris Barclay in a statement. "The first-time feature directors we're recognizing with this inaugural award we hope will develop successful and lengthy careers. We are excited and invigorated by all they have to offer."

The full list of nominees is below. The DGA Awards will be handed out at a ceremony on February 6.



The Revenant

(20th Century Fox)

Mr. Iñárritu's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Managers: Drew Locke, James W. Skotchdopole, Doug Jones

First Assistant Director: Scott Robertson

Second Assistant Directors: Megan M. Shank, Matthew Haggerty, Jeremy Marks

Unit Production Manager: Gabriela Vazquez (Argentina, California, and Montana Unit)

First Assistant Director: Adam Somner (Argentina, California, and Montana Unit)

Second Assistant Directors: Trevor R. Tavares, Jasmine Marie Alhambra (Argentina, California, and Montana Unit)

Second Second Assistant Directors: Brett Robinson, Kasia Trojak (Argentina, California, and Montana Unit)

This is Mr. Iñárritu's fourth DGA Award nomination.



(Open Road Films)

Mr. McCarthy's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Managers: D.J. Carson, Michael Bederman

First Assistant Director: Walter Gasparovic

Second Assistant Director: Penny Charter

Assistant Unit Production Manager: Danielle Blumstein (Boston Unit)

First Assistant Director: Christo Morse (Boston Unit)

Second Assistant Directors: Conte Matal, Kristina Mariko Peterson, Annie Tan, Andrea O'Connor (Boston Unit)

Second Second Assistant Directors: Phil Robinson, Mark Romanelli (Boston Unit)

Additional Second Assistant Director: Scooter Perrotta (Boston Unit)

This is Mr. McCarthy's first DGA Feature Film Award nomination.


The Big Short

(Paramount Pictures)

Mr. McKay's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Louise Rosner

First Assistant Director: Matt Rebenkoff

Second Assistant Director: Amy Lauritsen

Second Second Assistant Director: Cali Pomés

Second Second Assistant Director: Josh Muzaffer (New York Unit)

Location Manager: Michael Kriaris

This is Mr. McKay's first DGA Feature Film Award nomination.


Mad Max: Fury Road

(Warner Bros.)

Mr. Miller's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Dean Hood

First Assistant Director: PJ Voeten

Second Assistant Directors: Samantha Smith, Wendy Croad, Chris O'Hara

Second Assistant Directors: Eddie Thorne (Syndey Unit), Emma Jamvold (Syndey Unit)

Second Second Assistant Directors: Danielle Blake (Syndey Unit), Joshua Watkins (Syndey Unit)

This is Mr. Miller's first DGA Feature Film Award nomination.


The Martian

(20th Century Fox)

Mr. Scott's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Managers: Francesca Cingolani, Miklós Tóth

First Assistant Director: Raymond Kirk

Second Assistant Directors: Sarah Hood, Bogi Móricz

Second Second Assistant Director: Nick Thomas

This is Mr. Scott's fourth DGA Award nomination.



A Wolf at the Door

(Outsider Pictures)

Mr. Coimbra's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Clara Machado

First Assistant Director: Suzy Milstein

Second Assistant Director: Raquel Toledo

This is Mr. Coimbra's first DGA Award nomination.


The Gift

(STX Entertainment)

Mr. Edgerton's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Luc Etienne

First Assistant Director: Michael J. Moore

Second Assistant Director: Matt Haggerty

Second Second Assistant Director: Dillon Neaman

This is Mr. Edgerton's first DGA Award nomination.


Ex Machina


Mr. Garland's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Sara Desmond

First Assistant Director: Nick Heckstall‑Smith

Second Assistant Director: Ray Kenny

This is Mr. Garland's first DGA Award nomination.


The Diary of a Teenage Girl

(Sony Pictures Classics)

Ms. Heller's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Molly Salz

First Assistant Director: Brian Benson

Second Assistant Director: Jerremy Stewart

Second Second Assistant Director: Alex Gilbert

This is Ms. Heller's first DGA Award nomination.


Son of Saul

(Sony Pictures Classics)

Mr. Nemes's Directorial Team:

Unit Production Manager: Gábor Szántó

First Assistant Director: István Kolos

Second Assistant Directors: Zoltán Gyovai, Edina Galgócz

This is Mr. Nemes's first DGA Award nomination.

[via: Directors Guild of America]

Photo credit: Kimberley French/Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation