the lion king, national film registry, library of congressThe Library of Congress has announced its annual list of inductees into the National Film Registry, and among the 25 films selected for permanent preservation in 2016 are comedy and horror classics, celebrated dramas, and historically significant nonfiction works. This year's selections bring the total number of preserved films on the registry to 700.

Among the most notable names on the list are Disney animated classic "The Lion King," endlessly quotable fairytale "The Princess Bride," Alfred Hitchcock thriller "The Birds," Sidney Poitier drama "Blackboard Jungle," animation-comedy hybrid "Who Framed Roger Rabbit?," Barbra Streisand musical "Funny Girl," John Hughes teen dramedy "The Breakfast Club," James Dean starrer "East of Eden," and Susan Sarandon-Geena Davis buddy flick "Thelma and Louise." The selected films span more than nine decades, representing the years 1903 through 1998.

The full slate of 2016 inductees is as follows:

  • Atomic Cafe (1982)
  • Ball of Fire (1941)
  • The Beau Brummels (1928)
  • The Birds (1963)
  • Blackboard Jungle (1955)
  • The Breakfast Club (1985)
  • The Decline of Western Civilization (1981)
  • East of Eden (1955)
  • Funny Girl (1968)
  • Life of an American Fireman (1903)
  • The Lion King (1994)
  • Lost Horizon (1937)
  • The Musketeers of Pig Alley (1912)
  • Paris Is Burning (1990)
  • Point Blank (1967)
  • The Princess Bride (1987)
  • Putney Swope (1969)
  • Rushmore (1998)
  • Solomon Sir Jones films (1924-28)
  • Steamboat Bill, Jr. (1928)
  • Suzanne, Suzanne (1982)
  • Thelma & Louise (1991)
  • 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea (1916)
  • A Walk in the Sun (1945)
  • Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988)

Films selected for the registry are deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically" significant, and their inclusion is determined by recommendations from the National Film Preservation Board, as well as nominations from the public. Submissions for nominees to next year's list can be made here.

[via: Library of Congress]