The Writer's Guild of America handed out its annual prizes for the best in film and television writing this past weekend, with some buzzy titles taking the organization's top honors.

On the film side, Oscar nominees "Get Out" (written by Jordan Peele) and "Call Me By Your Name" (written by James Ivory) snagged the best original screenplay and best adapted screenplay awards, respectively. Those flicks will also be vying for those same prizes at next month's Academy Awards ceremony, and with their wins on Sunday night, the odds of a repeat are looking good.

In the television category, Hulu series "The Handmaid's Tale" was awarded the top drama series trophy, while HBO's "Veep" earned the best comedy honor. HBO also snagged a statuette for its star-studded show "Big Little Lies," which took home the prize for best adapted longform series (a.k.a. the category known more commonly as "limited series"). All three of those shows also earned Emmys in those same respective categories last fall.

The full list of winners in all categories is below. Feel free to use this as a guide for updating your Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon Prime queues.

Screenplay Winners

Original Screenplay:

"Get Out," Written by Jordan Peele; Universal Pictures

Adapted Screenplay:

"Call Me by Your Name," Screenplay by James Ivory; Based on the Novel by André Aciman; Sony Pictures Classics

Documentary Screenplay:

"Jane," Written by Brett Morgen; National Geographic

Television Winners

Drama Series:

"The Handmaid's Tale," Written by Ilene Chaiken, Nina Fiore, Dorothy Fortenberry, Leila Gerstein, John Herrera, Lynn Renee Maxcy, Bruce Miller, Kira Snyder, Wendy Straker Hauser, Eric Tuchman; Hulu

Comedy Series:

"Veep," Written by Gabrielle Allan, Rachel Axler, Ted Cohen, Jennifer Crittenden, Alex Gregory, Steve Hely, Peter Huyck, Erik Kenward, Billy Kimball, David Mandel, Ian Maxtone-Graham, Dan Mintz, Lew Morton, Georgia Pritchett, Will Smith; HBO

New Series:

"The Handmaid's Tale," Written by Ilene Chaiken, Nina Fiore, Dorothy Fortenberry, Leila Gerstein, John Herrera, Lynn Renee Maxcy, Bruce Miller, Kira Snyder, Wendy Straker Hauser, Eric Tuchman; Hulu

Long Form Original:

"Flint," Written by Barbara Stepansky; Lifetime

Long Form Adapted:

"Big Little Lies," Teleplay by David E. Kelley, Based on the Novel by Liane Moriarty; HBO

Short Form New Media Original:

No nominations

Short Form New Media Adapted:

"Starboy" (Zac & Mia), Teleplay by Allen Clary and Andrew Rothschild, Based on the novel Zac & Mia by A.J. Betts;


"Time's Arrow" (BoJack Horseman), Written by Kate Purdy; Netflix

Episodic Drama:

"Chicanery" (Better Call Saul), Written by Gordon Smith; AMC

Episodic Comedy:

"Rosario's Quinceanera" (Will & Grace), Written by Tracy Poust & Jon Kinnally; NBC

Comedy/Variety Talk Series:

"Last Week Tonight with John Oliver," Writers: Tim Carvell, Josh Gondelman, Dan Gurewitch, Geoff Haggerty, Jeff Maurer, John Oliver, Scott Sherman, Will Tracy, Jill Twiss, Juli Weiner, Ben Silva, Seena Vali; HBO

Comedy/Variety Sketch Series:

"Saturday Night Live," Head Writers: Chris Kelly, Sarah Schneider, Bryan Tucker, Writers: James Anderson, Kristen Bartlett, Jeremy Beiler, Neal Brennan, Zack Bornstein, Joanna Bradley, Megan Callahan, Michael Che, Anna Drezen, Fran Gillespie, Sudi Green, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward, Rob Klein, Nick Kocher, Michael Koman, Dave McCary, Brian McElhaney, Dennis McNicholas, Drew Michael, Lorne Michaels, Josh Patten, Katie Rich, Pete Schultz, Streeter Seidell, Will Stephen, Kent Sublette, Julio Torres; NBC Universal

Comedy/Variety Specials:

"39th Annual Kennedy Center Honors," Written by Dave Boone; CBS

Quiz and Audience Participation:

"Hollywood Game Night," Head Writer: Grant Taylor; Writers: Michael Agbabian, Alex Chauvin, Ann Slichter, Dwight D. Smith; NBC

Daytime Drama:

"General Hospital," Head Writers: Shelly Altman, Jean Passanante; Writers: Anna Theresa Cascio, Suzanne Flynn, Charlotte Gibson, Lucky Gold, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O'Connor, Dave Rupel, Katherine Schock, Scott Sickles, Christopher Van Etten, Christopher Whitesell; ABC

Children's Episodic and Specials:

"An American Girl Story – Ivy & Julie 1976: A Happy Balance" (American Girl), Written by May Chan; Amazon

Children's Long Form:

No nominations

Documentary Script – Current Events:

"Confronting ISIS" (Frontline), Written by Martin Smith; PBS

Documentary Script – Other Than Current Events

"The Great War" Part II (American Experience), Written by Stephen Ives; PBS

News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report

"White Helmets" (60 Minutes), Written by Scott Pelley, Nicole Young, Katie Kerbstat; CBS News

News Script – Analysis, Feature, or Commentary

"Chief of Chobani" (60 Minutes), Written by Steve Kroft, Oriana Zill de Granados; CBS News

Digital News:

"The Super Predators," Written by Melissa Jeltsen, Dana Liebelson;

Radio/Audio Winners

Radio/Audio Documentary:

"CBS Radio 90th Anniversary," Written by Dianne E. James, Gail Lee; CBS News Radio

Radio/Audio News Script – Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report:

"World News This Week: June 9, 2017," Written by Tara Gimbel Tanis; ABC News Radio

Radio/Audio News Script – Analysis, Feature, or Commentary:

"Dishin' Digital on WCBS-AM," Written by Robert Hawley; WCBS

Promotional Writing Winners

On-Air Promotion (Radio or Television)

"CBS Comedy," Written by Dan Greenberger; CBS Television

Television Graphic Art and Animation

No nominations

Videogame Winners

Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing:

Horizon Zero Dawn, Narrative Director John Gonzalez; Lead Writer Benjamin McCaw; Writing by Ben Schroder, Anne Toole; Additional Writing by Dee Warrick, Meg Jayanth; Guerrilla Games

[via: Variety]