Alfonso Cuarón

Born in November 28th, 1961

From Mexico City, Mexico

Alfonso Cuarón Biography

Alfonso Cuarón Orozco (born 28 November 1961) is a Mexican filmmaker. Cuarón is the first Mexico-born filmmaker to win the Academy Award for Best Director. He has been nominated for Academy Awards in six different categories, a record he shares with Walt Disney and George Clooney. Cuarón has received 10 Academy Award nominations, winning four including Best Director for Gravity (2013) and Roma (2018), Best Film Editing for Gravity, and Best Cinematography for Roma.

His other notable films from a variety of genres include the family drama A Little Princess (1995), the romantic drama Great Expectations (1998), the coming of age road film Y tu mamá también (2001), the fantasy film Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004), and the science fiction dystopian thriller Children of Men (2006).

Show More

Alfonso Cuarón Filmography

Nightmare Alley Poster
December 17, 2021
The Disciple Poster
April 30, 2021
Road to Roma Poster
February 11, 2020
Roma Poster
December 14, 2018
Desierto Poster
October 14, 2016

Alfonso Cuarón Videos