Avalon Poster

Release Date: October 5th, 1990

DVD Release Date: March 13th, 2001

PG|2 hr 6 min

Plot Summary
This drama, largely based on the family history of director Barry Levinson, follows the immigrant Krichinsky clan as they settle in Baltimore during the early 20th century. While Sam Krichinsky (Armin Mueller-Stahl) establishes roots in the city and finds a wife (Joan Plowright), his ambitious son, Jules (Aidan Quinn), who changes his last name to Kaye, tries to live the American Dream by opening an appliance store, revealing cultural and generational gaps.

Cast: Armin Mueller-Stahl, Aidan Quinn, Elizabeth Perkins, Leo Fuchs, Eve Gordon, Lou Jacobi, Joan Plowright, Kevin Pollak

Director: Barry Levinson

Genres: Drama

Production Co: TriStar Pictures, Baltimore Pictures

Keywords: Emotional, Growing up, Rise, Family, Son, 1940s, Underdog, Wife, 1930s, Touching, Endearing


Nominated Best Original Score - Motion Picture
Nominated Writing (Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen)
Nominated Best Screenplay - Motion Picture
Nominated Cinematography
Nominated Best Motion Picture - Drama
Nominated Music (Original Score)
Nominated Costume Design