Skip to main content

reviews

77
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 21 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The film belongs to Firth. Uncanny at showing the heart crumbling under George's elegant exterior, he gives the performance of his career. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's hard to sell people on a movie about grief, but A Single Man deserves recognition for being about something real that usually goes unexplored: The grief from which there really can be no return. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Though the deliberate pace can feel slow to glacial at times, the visuals are gorgeous, and the melancholy mood is exquisitely evoked. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A Single Man is like a big coffee table book on grief, loneliness, and loss - and mid-20th-century home design. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The striking directorial debut from fashion designer Tom Ford -- is so unusually beautiful it would be easy to dismiss it as superficial. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Sensitive and stylish. show more

  • 90
    Bob Mondello NPR

    An exquisite, almost sensual grief suffuses every frame of A Single Man. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Some films aren't revelations, exactly, but they burrow so deeply into old truths about love and loss and the mess and thrill of life, they seem new anyway. A Single Man is one such film, one of the best of 2009 show more

  • 100
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    A singularly enjoyable and moving film. show more

  • 88
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    There’s a lot, in fact, that keeps this film from greatness. One performance alone recommends it. That’s enough. show more

  • November 13, 2011 pu00000000106282
    Report This User

    as a totally straight, but kinda metro guy, i thought this movie was freako awesome.. i could go on and on, but just about everything you want in a good movie, it had.. i mean all elements, from the acting to the story to the cinematography and the music was haunting and kinda epic.. i know a lot of people wont get it, bc it\'s def an indie art film, but if you are deciding to see it or not.. ask yourself, did I think Shrek was b/a? or is There Will Be Blood awesomesauce.. if you liked Shrek, keep looking, if you like TWBB, then you\'ll love it

  • May 11, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    As a male heterosexual I found it difficult to connect and empathize with the loss of a male homosexual partner, but the skillful and well crafted production and acting helped me connect somewhat. I would rate this 3 stars in terms of my enjoyment of the film, 4 stars in recognition of the fine acting and production, and would say it is a 5 star movie for those with positive feelings about male to male love relationships for whom the movie would have much meaning.

  • April 20, 2010 xmasjan2
    Report This User

    This movie was excellent. I recently lost my spouse, and the emotions shown in this film were exactly what I had felt and still do feel. It was very hard to watch but was "dead on". The reviews saying it was over the top apparently have not gone through this life shattering experience themselves. It was "real life".

  • March 03, 2010 Susymaven
    Report This User

    Oh my goodness! I wish a lawyer would know about the suffering of the human heart....in which case he woud have appreciated (perhaps) this wonderful movie well deserving of the Oscar's nomination. Dear jbdlawyer do go indeed to school's production : that's more your intelectual challenge

  • February 15, 2010 carle ronn
    Report This User

    Curious...if six reviews are one star, how can average of 20 reviews be four stars? New math for AOL approved movies?

  • February 10, 2010 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    Oh my goodness! I should have brought my shovel with me before reading most of these user "reviews&************** amazing the mediocrity of thought which would label this so called "film" worthwhile. I say without hesitation, after suffering through this pointless drivel, it ranks as one of the worst pieces of self indulgent crap I have ever seen! "My Dinner with Andre'" move over -- you are no longer the worst film ever made! Aside from being pointless,the words,painfully slow, boring, stupid,shallow, rambling, plotlesss, uninteresting, undramatic, etc, all come to mind .Entertaining, in any sense of the word,it's not! Save your time and money and go to your local high school's production of "A Music Man",or the like - sight unseen it's a real safe bet any amatuer production will no doubt has something more worthwhile to say about the human condition.

  • February 08, 2010 Pietro di Giro
    Report This User

    The laugh was on me...again...for believing the five star reviews from the professional critics. For anyone who, like me, missed the veiled references to the true nature of the romance depicted in Single Man, it's about two homosexual male lovers, one of whom dies in an accident. In an attempt to be fair and out of respect for the high ratings given the film, I stayed for about half of the story. Can't say that I was offended, just bored by the self indulgence.

  • February 28, 2010 NANCOHN
    Report This User

    I am just curious about the haters of this movie. What movies do you think are good?

  • January 25, 2010 ncfrrst
    Report This User

    A true work of art. Great story with wonderful nuances throughout. Colin was much better than Bridges in Crazy Heart. The music is wonderful and affecting. Really, a special movie that stays in your heart for days. Im not gay and you dont have to be to enjoy this brillant and deeply touching movie. The only requirement is an open heart. Enjoy this one!!!!!!

  • January 23, 2010 Andrea
    Report This User

    Colin Firth really toned up for this role. The use of color and the camera work was extraordinary but I was disappointed by how one was propelled out of extreme mourning by "eye candy". Thought that emphasis on uber male beauty was a bit shallow in the big scheme of things. Thought it would be a tad more substantial.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X