Skip to main content

reviews

76
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 23 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Adventureland throws a lot at us, but not enough of it sticks. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    This film makes you wonder why aren't there more young love movies? show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Mottola, who wrote and directed 1996's "The Daytrippers," crafts smart, witty dialogue. But the movie suffers in tone. While much of the story feels like a brainier John Hughes comedy, it veers into more dramatic terrain and loses focus. show more

  • 60
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    There's no shortage of felicitous lines or interesting performances, yet the movie, like the amusement park of its title, feels constructed from familiar parts. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Mixes the intimate, indie vibe of "Daytrippers" with the absurdist screwball streak of "Superbad," to winning effect. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Adventureland has the structure of a Tilt-a-Whirl ride: It goes where you expect, and may fill you with dread. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    With a keen affection for his own formative years, filmmaker Greg Mottola has crafted a funny and spunky amusement show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    A sweet, sharp coming-of-age romance, Adventureland is a little warmer, a little funnier and a lot more truthful than the last 20 or 30 of its ilk. Especially its Hollywood ilk. show more

  • 88
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The details are true and funny, played brilliantly. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The result is a sharp, insightful, charming motion picture. show more

  • June 29, 2010 AllNFLProJordan1
    Report This User

    I ficking hated this movie worst movie ever

  • August 30, 2009 DYNAMITE95661
    Report This User

    Aweful. I wish I never saw it.

  • July 21, 2009 Rean Rossier
    Report This User

    I did not like this movie at all I hated how the teen's took drugs that's wrong it was not as funny as I thought & there was a very gross scene in the movie but I can't tell you, my friend's hated this movie & I thought it was okay, I liked the acter's but hated the story it was really slow movie it really only took place in Adventureland you can still take your teen's to this movie but warn them because there's lots of Drug Use & sexuality okay, I am not stopping anyone to see this movie just try to see it yourself & see how you think about this movie.

  • June 22, 2009 PaulAWms1
    Report This User

    Yeah with no big name actors this move came out really good one of the best comidies I have seen in years

  • May 15, 2009 Paul InLA
    Report This User

    Oh please! Save your money, because every shot in this film that is even remotely entertaining is in the trailer. What a mess of a movie, and a total disappointment. You don't want to root for any of the characters, and the story is all over the place. If I hadn't been with others, I would have definitely walked out by the halfway mark, and I've only done that once before. YUCK!

  • April 28, 2009 Imvfone
    Report This User

    bahhh

  • April 25, 2009 Dana Leigh
    Report This User

    I totally agree with aajolagh! I thought it was pretty good especially if your from that generation you can totally relate!! I swear they stole pages from my diary to write this story! Lol!.........

  • April 20, 2009 MackyScooby
    Report This User

    ok.. ...

  • April 16, 2009 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    This movie was surprisingly good- a believable plot of out of place college students struggling to make it through a disappointing summer. Good acting -- some funny moments, but not a comedy- more a love story. PS-- Kristin Stewart is a star!

  • April 16, 2009 dscott1575
    Report This User

    Frizzlefrap Absolutely HORRIBLE BORING couldn't wait to get out of there. ENOUGH SAID 04/16/2009, 2: ----------------------------------------- Well, either the NY Times critic is stupid. Or you are.

`

similar movies

  • Don Jon (2013)

  • Dazed and Confused (1993)

  • Me and You and Everyone We Know (2005)

  • Fast Times at Ridgemont High (1982)

  • Greenberg (2010)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X