Skip to main content

reviews

69
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 75
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    There's nothing dark about Arthur: It's as bright and twinkling as a Christmas tree, decked with warmth and humor. show more

  • 75
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    Crisply shot and voiced by a legion of Brits, the animated Arthur seems aimed at the Scrooge and caroler in all of us. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    All of the actors' vocal performances are spot-on, including McAvoy's gentle Arthur, Nighy's salty GrandSanta and Ashley Jensen's cute stowaway elf Bryony, a chipper little pixie that would make Rudolph's pal Hermey proud. show more

  • 90
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Leave it to the folks who brought us "Wallace & Gromit," "Chicken Run" and "Flushed Away" to bring a delightful blast of fresh air to the conventional Christmas genre. Aardman's Arthur Christmas is that and more - an endlessly amusing 3D, CG-animated Yuletide romp with lively innovation at every turn and a dream voice cast headed by James McAvoy, Hugh Laurie and Bill Nighy. show more

  • 75
    NPR

    The film does have a distinctly British cheek; even with a Sony Pictures co-credit over the titles, it's just un-Hollywood enough to feel like a breath of fresh North Pole air. show more

  • 85
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Arthur Christmas is a Grinch-style story of rekindled Christmas spirit told from inside Santa's compound at the North Pole. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    A tender and upbeat spirit informs the writing and the execution. show more

  • 75
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    A worthy addition to the Christmas movie canon. It's funny and good-looking, with an impeccable voice cast of U.K. actors. It's also unexpectedly fresh, despite the familiar-sounding premise. show more

  • 75
    Tom Russo Boston Globe

    The film's indefatigable holiday spirit is infectious. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    When it comes to Christmas movies, although most are quickly forgotten, a select few go on to become touchstones, beloved and re-watched by families year after year after year. Arthur Christmas may have what it takes to join the latter category. show more

  • November 19, 2012 Chad
    Report This User

    Good christmas fun for the wholle family!!!!

  • January 02, 2012 ngar311
    Report This User

    love it

  • December 19, 2011 littleblack911
    Report This User

    Very well done christmas movie that gives you holiday spirit and keeps you smiling all the way throygh. I would recommend it to my family and friends.

  • December 12, 2011 jetreiner
    Report This User

    Loved this!

  • December 09, 2011 sakarie99
    Report This User

    A very fun Christmas movie for kids and adults alike.

  • December 05, 2011 ricci614
    Report This User

    Not so much a Christmas story as a playful examination of the generation gap: how 3 generations of Santas differ in their talents, aproaches, weeknesses and expectations - and how each has something to contribute to the success of the whole. A clever and fun movie but not a lot of warm fuzzies. Also, the heavy accents made much of the dialogue hard to follow. Great music! Are we gonna see the Santa Claus board game (the one they played in the film) as an in-your-local-toy-store movie tie-in? My gut says, \"Don\'t be surprised

  • December 04, 2011 william3737
    Report This User

    love it cute movie in time for christmas!

  • December 03, 2011 jv00000000106598
    Report This User

    I love movies about the North Pole and Santa. Frankly, it is one of my favorite parts of Christmas. Arthur Christmas is a sweet, family friendly, funny Christmas movie that is also visually stunning. The cast of voices is superb and the storyline is entertaining, relevant and thought provoking. To make a long story short, I loved this film and found myself laughing out loud several times. I believe that Arthur Christmas will soon be a new Christmas classic. On a side note if you are looking for a new Christmas story for your kids I found a really great book called \"Aurora of the Northern Lights\" on Amazon. I think it even won an award. You might want to check it out.

  • November 30, 2011 uo00000000107148
    Report This User

    cute movie

  • November 30, 2011 machjet5
    Report This User

    Funny...no. Entertaining? Mildly. The kids were bored and of course the grown ups were bored. No point in seeing this in 3D---it did little to enhance the disappointing experience. Spend your dollar elsewhere this holiday and wait for it at Redbox. You\'ll thank me late!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X