Skip to main content

reviews

47
Based on 18 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 117 )
  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    A tearjerker that earns its sobs with heartfelt emotions. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    What are you going to do when your lead actress offers a performance that's as unlikable as the woman she's portraying? Maybe it's the script (flimsy, formulaic), or filmmaker Alejandro Gomez Monteverde's conspicuous direction, but Tammy Blanchard's Nina, a waitress with a dour disposition and an unwanted pregnancy, pretty much sucks the life out of this well-meaning melodrama. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie is a little more lightweight than the usual People's Choice Award winner at Toronto, but why not? It was the best-liked film at the 2006 festival, and I can understand that. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Cynics need not apply, but I found Bella a real heart tugger. show more

  • 50
    Chicago Tribune

    The melodrama and cheap theatrics of the story’s off-center segments drag the whole thing down. show more

  • 50
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Well-acted first-feature. show more

  • 50
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    If you have an appetite for well-made treacle, then Bella should go down a treat. show more

  • 38
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    The film is more of an exercise in pandering and propaganda -- give your baby up for adoption, you selfish pig! -- than the heartfelt drama it aims to be. show more

  • 38
    Boston Globe

    In this bilingual morality movie about love, family, and fate, however, the unpredictability turns out to be highly predictable. show more

  • 67
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    Bella is, indeed, a beautiful film. The bustling, cab-crowded thoroughfares of New York City have rarely looked as inviting and the coastline as momentously beachy as they do in this film. show more

  • September 20, 2009 eliztrs3
    Report This User

    Great movie! Its uplifting message remains in the heart and mind of the viewer forever. It inspires, it doesn't degrade as so many films. There is an overall encouraged, strengthened emanating feel from this movie. We need movies that present this tone as opposed to depression, hatred, destruction, and misery.

  • April 09, 2009 wckeep
    Report This User

    A story that touched my inner essence from the moment it began. It captured all the human emotions that we are capable of feeling at one time or another. The dialogue was brief because the silence between the two main characters said more than dialogue could. Bravo to the wrirer and director.

  • March 14, 2009 lIl mOrAsSo 2 3
    Report This User

    This film touched me! It is such an amazing story and shows everyone how fragile life really is!

  • February 28, 2009 bsalem5
    Report This User

    Great movie filled with so many positive and powerful messages. It was refreshing to see a film that portrayed such a supportive and loving Latino family guided by a matriarch. It would be hard to imagine any actor doing a better job playing Jose. How powerful was it when he cries on his mother? The relationship between the brothers was beautiful and becomes so much more compelling when it's revealed that oldest was adopted. Definitely a movie to share with friends and family.

  • July 31, 2008 Antonio215pa
    Report This User

    Bella is not a bad film,However, I find it to be somewhat unrealistic.I know that the themes of redemption,friendship,true love, sacrificeare adressed,However, the film plays more like a emotionally charged fairy tale. There are so many questions raised~~none of which the film directly addreses..like who the father of her baby is.The character of Jose,played with great depth by Edoardo Verastegui ( the only performance that makes this film IMHO)is a good guy but hardly realistic given today's atmosphere of outward selfishness and narcissism. The audience does get to care for these main characters,However, there is No further deveopment of said characters beyond the fact that she is pregnant and he just happens to care deeply.He,Jose, was headed for a great big life when tragedy struckNow it seems he's looking to redeem himself...perhaps by trying to help Nina a young waitress who has just lost here job and really has no family or support.There is a scene in the film where Jose is sitting on the beach watching this little girl run and play this is Bella the child that Nina chose to bear.However, there is No explanation of Where Nina was for 5 years!!This is a nice film but not 1 I'd recommendFor all of its sentimentality and message it comes off more like a sweet fairy tale..Not very realistic

  • July 29, 2008 Wolfmann268
    Report This User

    1 more thingIf Jose` is doing all these nice and altruistic things for Nina purely out of a strong sense of guilt and remorse then it is not thereby altogether done out of a free choice on his part,1 has to wonder what if he had not accidently killed that little girl? would he have even cared about Nina OR her situation??Jose is a good man...too good, i think the question remains Where was Nina for 4 whole years while Jose and his family raised Her child???I suppose people would have you believe that Both Nina and Jose had a life-changing expereience both in their past And with BellaI do not understand this film! I can only say I wish I knew people like Jose and Nina...Do such even exist today??

  • June 20, 2008 summer339
    Report This User

    eduardo is gorgeous and the movie was very heartwrenching great acting we all not need bimbos and sex just great humanistic acting!

  • May 22, 2008 cali dreams36
    Report This User

    As our world turns to crap, its refreshing to see that someone out there still has their head on their shoulders. Bella is a moving story that really awakens the soul. It's an inspiring tale and it makes you think about your own life choices, past decisions and ones that lie ahead. I do think that Jose's story concerning the death of the little girl, may be a little too far fetched, but I think that is what allows him to show compassion to Nina in her difficult choice. I also think that this situation enables him to understand how precious all life is, and how he can help someone who needs a friend.I loved Bella, and its inspired me. If you haven't seen it yet, don't pass up a chance to watch it.

  • May 22, 2008 carauth22
    Report This User

    "Bella" is a great movie. Finally... a movie that has something positive to offer... uplifting and inspiring rather than depressing and discouraging, pro-life rather than pro-death, pro-virtue rather than pro-vice. How refreshing! What a novel idea! Would that there were many more movies coming out of Hollywood glorifying good rather than evil. God help us! And God bless the people who made "Bella"!

  • May 22, 2008 hairnet54
    Report This User

    HEARD ABOUT THIS MOVIE ON 95.5 THE FISH CHRISTIAN RADIO STATION, RECENTLY HAD MY BOYFRIEND OF 9 YRS. DIE IN MY ARMS UNEXPECTANTLY AND AS I WRITE THIS TODAY MY SON IS ON HIS WAY TO AFGANISTAN TO SERVE OUR COUNTRY! SO I GUESS I MISSED THE LOCAL SHOWING IN OUR THEATERS IN NILES, OHIO AND NEED SOME INFO ON WHEN IT IS COMING OUT ON DVD.I KNOW IT'S A MUST SEE MOVIE AND THE MAIN ACTOR AFTER READING THE REVIEWS MAKES THE MOVIE WORTH SEEING IN MY EYES! L.O.V.E REAL TRUTH!!! THE BOOK OF JOHN NOT THIS WORLD STUFF!!!!!!!!THANKS FOR ANY INFO.........GOD BLESS!

`

similar movies

  • The Lunchbox (2013)

  • Sweet Land (2005)

  • Million Dollar Arm (2014)

  • Maleficent (2014)

  • Cairo Time (2009)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X