Skip to main content

reviews

52
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 18 )
  • 38
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Offensive on multiple levels -- if only the plot had any levels at all -- Black Snake Moan leaves no "Tobacco Road" cliche unsmoked. Ricci gives it her all, and then some, but even her body and Jackson's blues can't heal a movie that rockets plum off its nut. show more

  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    Black Snake Moan' is a trip to that unfamiliar territory well worth tagging along on. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The best thing about Black Snake Moan, a song title, is the blues soundtrack. The movie is an absurdly jarring collection of archetypal characters in miserable circumstances with a resolution that feels forced and tacked on. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    For all the preposterous clichés of the plot, which clanks as loudly as Laz's chain, and for all the inertness of Justin Timberlake's performance as Rae's brooding squeeze, Black Snake Moan finds unchained energy in its foolishness, and gives Mr. Jackson a chance to pluck a guitar and sing. He's really good at it, too. The music almost redeems the movie. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A roiling, boiling mix of blaxploitation, sexploitation, Tennessee Williams and the Tennessee outback. show more

  • 25
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    At heart, "BSM" is no different from the midnight movies of the '60s and '70s that reveled in a head-spinning blend of blatant exploitation, provocative racial commentary and overwrought performances. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The blues music in "Moan" is superfine, but my oh my, what to make of the ripe Southern cliches and this absurd story. The film is so jaw-dropping awful that it just might become a boxoffice hit. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Ricci's performance is brave and effective - the most provocative in a career that has rejected Hollywood norms. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Brewer, who romanticized the world of pimps and ho's in "Hustle & Flow," is obviously out to push some politically incorrect buttons with this ludicrous - yet, in the end, sweetly involving - Southern Gothic pulp yarn. show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's beautifully shot -- the sweat-drenched jukejoint scenes are particularly evocative -- and features a terrific performance by Ricci, one that deserves to be seen by a wider audience than the one certain to be reeled in by those torrid ads. show more

  • May 22, 2008 Yokiyolanda9
    Report This User

    VERY GOOD MOVIE NEVER SEEN ONE LIKE IT BEFORE.I THOUGHT THE ACTORS IN THE MOVIE WAS GREAT.THEY SHOULD GET AN AWARD FOR THIS WORK.

  • May 22, 2008 barisaxwoman2005
    Report This User

    Black snake moan was a wonderful movie of weird emotions and raw energy it was wonderful!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 blizzard2018
    Report This User

    I was worried after reading the crappy reviews but i took a chance and saw it anyway. I loved every minute of it! This movie is not traditional by any means but it is a fun, trashy ride with great music and great acting (minus justin) It is hard for me to see JT being dramatic b/c i keep picturing him singing sexy back...lol. Anyway, people said the movies was crude...uh no more crude than any other rated R movie out there. There is some language and boob shots. Now I know no one has ever seen that in a rated R movie....lol! The style of the movie is just fun. Please do not listen to these critics and miss this movie. Worth every penny. Just go and laugh and remember, it is just a movie.

  • May 22, 2008 sunbowei
    Report This User

    Every now-and-then I can really get into a really good sexually charged trashy movie. The performances are great--I even enjoyed Justin Timberlake. Despite the exploitative nature of the movie, the story has biblical overtones and lessons of love and redemption to teach. The chains have a symbolic meaning-something I believe makes the film more interesting.

  • May 22, 2008 rolandu20
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was long, dried out, and boring. I found myself dozing off several times.

  • May 22, 2008 JADERLUND
    Report This User

    THIS MOVIE IS REALLY SLOW AND BORING - IT TAKES FOR EVER TO GET GOING - JUSTIN TIMBERLAKS VOICE IS EXTREAMLY GIRLY( I NEVER REALIZED HOW HIGH PITCHED HIS VOICE IS) IF IT WAS NOT FOR CRISTINA RICCI THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN AN (F MOVIE) - OVER ALL THE MOVIE REALLY SUCKED ..

  • May 22, 2008 arealoneofakind
    Report This User

    I would expect young guys to get a charge out of Ms. Bikini

  • May 22, 2008 flyintotheblue
    Report This User

    It was the worthless 115 minutes in my entire life....this movie is boring and until now haven't understood what the producers were trying to convey....don't recommend...maybe on DVD when there is nothing else to watch....

  • May 22, 2008 kf23454vb
    Report This User

    Great character studies - Sam Jackson should be nominated for best actor - and he ought to record his own blues album - soundtrack alone is worth the price of admission.

  • May 22, 2008 pcolasicfreek184
    Report This User

    Ricci yet again chooses a role only she could have pulled off, Jackson does wonderfully at playing a man of the lord with a badass mutha f***a side, Timberlake can't act and is the weakest link in the movie. all in all it was a good movie that is for a certain open minded crowd

`

similar movies

  • Machete (2010)

  • Bubba Ho-Tep (2002)

  • Cape Fear (1991)

  • Begin Again (2013)

  • Rust and Bone (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X