Skip to main content

reviews

56
Based on 26 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 19 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    It's a winner. And not just for oenophiles. Director Randall Miller, who co-wrote the script with his wife Jody Savin, keeps the plot brimming with spirit and wit. show more

  • 25
    San Francisco Chronicle

    This schlocky period piece doesn't do the pioneering Northern Californians justice. The script is overwritten to the point of parody. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's the kind of feel-good movie whose resolution is evident from the start, being based as it is on a true story. But that doesn't make the journey any less interesting. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A great story - and a true one, more or less - Bottle Shock nonetheless fails to deliver much in the way of entertainment. show more

  • 40
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Unfortunately, Miller never finds the right balance, so while there are some sweet notes, the pileup of clichés ultimately leaves a slightly acrid aftertaste. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    This intelligent, affectionate, beautifully acted movie gives crowd-pleasers a good name. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Bottle Shock is more than the story. It is also about people who love their work, care about it with passion and talk about it with knowledge. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Beautifully shot by Michael J. Ozier, the dominating taste in Bottle Shock is Rickman's beautiful performance as a snob - a snob who is secretly open to being delightfully surprised. show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    A charming comedy-drama that's surprising true to the events that inspired it. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Low budget, self-distributed, awkwardly charming, it's the kind of midrange Hollywood entertainment that's supposed to be extinct in this modern age. It makes you want to support your local vintner and your local moviemaker. show more

  • September 17, 2008 Nickismom1228
    Report This User

    I enjoyed this movie very much. Its was entertaining. Liked Alan Rickmans part alot. There was humor and history. Bad Language was very mild. Romance, no graffic scenes. Very enjoyable.

  • September 11, 2008 SGillingha
    Report This User

    I thought it was great..saw it 2x. Can it be because my son was location scout for the movie? Some really hilarious behind the scenes.

  • September 10, 2008 CynSieWil
    Report This User

    Loved it! Didn't know too much about it before going in, but enjoyed it a lot. I thought all the males were great, Eliza Dushku was fun to watch, and the blonde actress (whose name I've blanked on) grew on me, but had some too-cutesy moments. I thoroughly enjoyed it, rooting for California wines the whole time.

  • August 29, 2008 CERTIORIO
    Report This User

    Should I see this movie? Yes, if you like wine, you like a movie with a clear story line and simply drawn characters and nice scenery, or if you want a quiet, non-controversial date night. The plot is stretched to fit a standard movie industry template and the screenplay is somewhat of a boiler plate too (mandatory love interest, father-son relationship, underdog becomes champion, etc); some of the acting and locations are a little cliched (French countryside is laughingly the same as California but with berets, and after the 10th time the looks of amazement on the faces of wine tasters raise a bit of a chuckle); and as the plot unfolds you tend to think that there's probably been quite a bit of over indulgence in the fantasy versus truth department, but so what, it works. It's a nice little movie. It's not meant to be fine art. The story of how California wine beat the French to the clink of glasses can hardly be expected to be as dramatic and action packed as the story of how the Americans beat the Russians at ice hockey, but it is cute. It made me go home, drink a whole bottle of Vino Robles, and feel pleasantly smug.

  • August 25, 2008 sith queen
    Report This User

    I saw this movie strictly to see Alan Rickman because he is such a wonderful actor. I am not a wine drinker but I thorougly enjoyed this movie. It was refreshing. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • August 25, 2008 prmoguls
    Report This User

    I recommend this beautiful film, light in taste, easy on the palate and fun lasting....Alan is brilliant and one of the better films all summer."Wine is sunshine that is held together by water"

  • August 23, 2008 padoma3
    Report This User

    CAN'T YOU AT MOVIEFONE DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE"PLEASE DON'T READ" RANTS. THEY PERMEATE ALL OF YOUR USER REVIEWS & ARE RUINING YOUR SITE. PLEASE, DO SOMETHING ABOUT ABOUT IT NOW!

  • August 22, 2008 gitanesca
    Report This User

    I enjoyed the movie. I was entertained. It made me laugh. I paid full price and will pay full price to see it again in the theater.I plan to buy it when it comes out on DVD. I loved Alan Rickman. Bill Pullman did a great job. Chris Pine looked like the Geico Caveman but hey it was set in 1976. Freddy Rodriguez was dreamy. Rachel Taylor was funny and very cute. I am going to go wine tasting in Napa this weekend. It made me proud to be a California Girl.

  • August 19, 2008 JONVILL
    Report This User

    Horrible lines at times I felt sorry for the actors who had to deliver them.The part where the charrdonay was brown then turned gold is not true! I resent being lied to in a story that was based on actual events.

  • August 19, 2008 CaliActor07
    Report This User

    I had the pleasure of workin on this film, as it was shot in my hometown... Randall Miller was an incredible director to work with, and even as an extra the experience was incredible...The Actors in the film were perfect for the roles which they portrayed....The film was well made and the acting was superb...I would recommend it to any wine lover or lover of the Sonoma-Napa Valley Wine Country!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X