Skip to main content

reviews

43
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 38 )
  • NA
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Simultaneously full of itself and full of sh--, Brooklyn's Finest is a cop movie so shallow, dumb, derivative and infuriating that it feels like a parody of bad cop movies. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A melodrama about three cliches in search of a bloodbath. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Melodramatic and laden with cop-thriller clichés, the story, set in one of New York's toughest precincts, is contrived and inauthentic -- and also grisly. show more

  • 10
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Whatever one may think of the overall style--I think it's ludicrous--Mr. Fuqua clearly wanted his film to be operatic, and so it is, in a tone-deaf way. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    The title Brooklyn's Finest is drowning in irony, of course, but Fuqua's moves are less obvious: His film is classical and gritty, his violence makes you want to duck and run. show more

  • 70
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Hawke - continuing an evolution toward stronger, more intense acting than anyone might've predicted from him 20 years ago - drives the movie. He makes Sal a jangled, edgy presence, his conscience torn several ways. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Here, due in large measure to a highly derivative screenplay, the director allows several reckless, unprofessional cops drive the movie into utter nonsense. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The best things about Brooklyn's Finest are the one-on-one scenes. These are fine actors. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Fuqua's portrait of Brooklyn is brutal and gritty; if only his characters were as vivid. show more

  • 63
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    This isn't the kind of film that will leave audiences in awe of clever writing. Rather, it will leave them thinking how much Fuqua wanted to make a movie version of "The Wire." show more

  • July 11, 2011 mm00000000052500
    Report This User

    awful movie it was good throughout the movie then came the end and it left me thinking what the hell was the point of the damn movie, it focused on many different characters and at the end none of the characters related in anyway.

  • December 23, 2010 Edan Aharony
    Report This User

    This movie has 3 stories intertwined with each other. I like these kind of movies; some are excellent like “Crossing Over” and “Traffic” some are mediocre like “Babel” and some are plain bad like “Staten Island”. This is a good movie, defiantly recommended. Spike Lee has a short part in it reminiscence of Nino Brown Ethan Hawk is good and Don Cheadle is great. Ed

  • July 07, 2010 JJP2758
    Report This User

    This movie was ******* ********. the first 95 percent played out like a good ass movie and then the director must have fell asleep or passed out drunk because the ending *******************. The ending reminded me of steve correl because of how dryly comedic it was. Are you ******* kidding me. Who wrote this god damn movie. I want my $2.79 back from Family ******* Video.

  • June 26, 2010 David
    Report This User

    one word....HORRENDOUS!

  • March 29, 2010 wsr124
    Report This User

    Steven Washburn Brooklyn's Finest was a cool New York City Police Deaprtment Movie.

  • March 25, 2010 Wanderwood2003
    Report This User

    I was expecting "Brooklyn" to be another cop movie- what can be done that hasn't already been done- right? Wrong! I was amazed at the story line! Couldn't wait for the next scene to see what happens next. Hawkes, Cheadle, Barkin, and Snipes, were very convincing, but Gere blew me away! Always thought he was a so,so actor, but this movie made me realize what he is really capable of. Hope he gets some awards! I agree that the story is,somewhat, like "Crash." It takes talent to intertwine a story like that.

  • March 22, 2010 thebindir
    Report This User

    This movie was all around terrible. I heard some comparisons to training day, I didn't see it. This movie was one of the darkest cop movies I've ever seen.

  • March 22, 2010 Tbhattyclo
    Report This User

    This was an action packed movie. The characters were rich and kept me interested. Of course I am a Don Cheadle and Wesley Snipes fan and who doesn't love Richard Gere and Ethan Hawke.... It showed the perspective of police from many angles. For me this was a true NYC story. Sad but true... Like it or not, there is violence. Good work to Antoine Fuqua once again!!! don't listen to the critics.... Lots of action!!!!!

  • March 22, 2010 timetojumpout
    Report This User

    Please, if you are thinking of going to see this movie; get a lobotomy before and save yourself the agony of sitting thru this disaster of a movie. It is not a "thinking" man's movie, as any moron could follow it, but why??? It was the most boring, dull movie that I should've walked out on but thought it would get better. Stay home and watch re-runs, anything ************ this tripe.

  • March 20, 2010 boomingbizness
    Report This User

    I'm a harsh movie critic and I have to say this one was quite the challenge. I would suggest the rental where it might be better in the comfort of your home, this is a thinking man's movie not some simple over done story line....If you think the movie drags you will probably not "get" it....my only probelm was with the focus on negative African American men stereotypes....3.5 stars out of 5

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X