Skip to main content

reviews

55
Based on 42 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 93 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The pleasures of Dark Shadows are frustratingly hit-and-miss. In the end, it all collapses into a spectacularly gorgeous heap. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    There are times, not too many, when the movie drags. But when you consider all the pitfalls avoided, and all the laughs and pleasures it provides along the way, Dark Shadows is a satisfying and skillful effort. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    At its best in comic mode, more effective as goofy spoof than horror show. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Amusing, in fits and spurts, and sure to make tons of money, but terribly familiar and fatigued. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Pinpointing the era - lovingly - is very much what Dark Shadows' has on its mind. While there's a tangle of romance and vengeance and all sorts of family matters to deal with, Burton's film is really about hippies in bell-bottoms, stoned out in their VW micro-buses. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Whether it works is a matter of taste, but the fact that Burton's revisit unearths enough fun while feeling like four films in one is testament to the source's seductive bloodline. show more

  • 50
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Dark Shadows sinks its teeth half-way into its potentially meaty material but hesitates to go all the way. show more

  • 40
    Bob Mondello NPR

    It's stately with a smirk, crossing Bram Stoker with "The Addams Family" to arrive at what sometimes feels like a wildly overproduced "Saturday Night Live" sketch. show more

  • 55
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Parts of Dark Shadows look lovely. So what happened to the story? show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Tim Burton has got his groove back. show more

  • November 16, 2012 is00000000131949
    Report This User

    As a fan or the original soap who has seen every episode of same and also had seen both previous movies. I must say this was surprisingly enjoyable.I say surpsingly because I must say that I went into it with a skeptical chip on my shoulder.And I want to add Rest In Peace Jonathan Frid.

  • September 28, 2012 Sherry Gandy
    Report This User

    fantastic

  • September 24, 2012 il00000000129822
    Report This User

    The sporadic moments of humor just aren\'t enough to make this even a decent viewing. In short: a nonsensical, terrible film.

  • July 28, 2012 crystlvsq
    Report This User

    I loved it

  • July 02, 2012 kaynba
    Report This User

    I have been a fan of Dark Shadows for years. I was an avid watcher of the TV 30 minute Show five days a week. It was one of my favorite Soaps. I just got through reading one of the Dark Shadows Books by Lara Parker who played Angleique in the day time drama. However, this movie made a mockery of the story by making fun of the characters. There were several scenes which were pure nonsense, and even worse came from other movies. Example: Green pea soup from Satin came from "The Exorcist" ; and Angelique's broken neck which turned around and she turned it back with her hands to straighten it, was from a Goldie Hawn movie. There was no real plot to the movie because it tried to copy other movies instead of sticking to the original story of Collins family and how Barnabas became a Vampire and why? In the movie, Victorie Winters had such a small part which was a shame because it could have really been a good movie with a romantic plot. As it was I left the movie very disappointed and would not recommend it to anyone. I'll give it one star because I like the actors. Kay N. Baier

  • June 06, 2012 pfitez
    Report This User

    entertaining too much pinging around special affects ok johnny depp is always amazing helen bonham carter beautiful

  • June 03, 2012 movieloverhannah
    Report This User

    The entire time, I couldn't decide if I was watching a romance, horror, or comedy.

  • June 03, 2012 kilmoon
    Report This User

    Saw this with daughter and two friends. We all enjoyed it very much!

  • June 02, 2012 dtarshik
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was really funny!!!! it was not about vampires til the very end but i still liked it

  • June 02, 2012 emailmizzb
    Report This User

    If you are female, over 45 and a were a childhood fan of the original Dark Shadows, you will love this movie version of the show. It was nostalgic and fun. Went with my husband who was not a childhood fan and he did not love it or understand it. He thought it was all over place. If you watched the series (oh so long ago) -- it all made sense. Loved Depp and Phieffer.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X