Skip to main content

reviews

83
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 17 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    An adventure in pure imagination that plays to the smart kid in all of us. show more

  • 75
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Anderson injects such charm and wit, such personality and nostalgia - evident in the old-school animation, storybook settings and pitch-perfect use of Burl Ives - that it's easy to forgive his self-conscious touches. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's an intriguing match of material and filmmaker. Dahl's distinctive, edgy storytelling seems to fit well with Anderson's idiosyncratic worldview and visuals. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    A captivating entertainment for the holiday season and well beyond. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Witty and wonderful, Fantastic Mr. Fox is the perfect Thanksgiving entertainment. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The result is a visual treasure that successfully blends deadpan quirkiness with a wry realism rarely seen in any film, let alone one for children. show more

  • 90
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    Anderson has created a world as stylized and inventive as anything he's done... "Fox" is a visual delight. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    These animals aren't catering to anyone in the audience. We get the feeling they're intensely leading their own lives without slowing down for ours. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    A gorgeous and witty piece of stop-motion animation. show more

  • 88
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    By forgoing actual human beings, the director has made his most charming, least annoyingly fey film - a thing of lovely comic wisdom. show more

  • February 21, 2011 hjt43434
    Report This User

    What the CUSS! This movie is AWESOME!!!

  • June 28, 2010 celestemukundan
    Report This User

    This movie was great. Very creative.

  • May 02, 2010 kidsreviewit
    Report This User

    This movie stinks. I did not enjoy it and would not recommend. I am a 9 year old. www.kidsreviewit.com Where kids reviews Count.

  • March 28, 2010 GreyGTC
    Report This User

    wow... that's all i can really say about this one. If it came down between slitting my own wrists or watching this movie again... there would definitely be bloodshed. Avoid this crappy movie.

  • December 27, 2009 Lookimsuperman09
    Report This User

    This movie is not for kids, its for adults. it has themes and humor only intelligent and creative witty people will understand. It is absolutely hilarious and fun. one of my most favorite wes anderson films. To people who didnt like this movie... all i have to say is... what the cuss?

  • December 26, 2009 Wadis Place
    Report This User

    The makers of this movie had to pay off the movie critics. This Movie SUCKED. I mean REALLY SUCKED. The Stop Actions Motion was Jerky and Sloppy. It looks like this movie was put together over a weekend and 5 cases of beer. The Story line was a jumpy as the bad Stop Action Motion. It jumped from the Dad Fox who wanted to relive his childhood. To the son who was having weird personal problems. To farmers after the Foxes. Ect Ect. The story looks like it was made while filming, by 10 screen writers that didn't talk to eachother. If you want to make a good childrens story, using Stop Motion, then make one like,"A Nightmare Before Christmas." The characters were well developed in the story, and it was easy to follow the plot. Plus, the story moved smoothly from stiuation to situation. Mr Fox was targeted for children. But it could have been much, much better.

  • December 14, 2009 VCTMAnarchyDrums
    Report This User

    This movie was superb. The character and plot development were as painstaking as the animation process. It is a paradigm for this type of movie: an overly charismatic character with existential issues overcomes all of the hilarious adversities he is faced with, complete with a triumphant dance party. The myriad of emotions encompassed by the characters were entertaining and unique. I'll agree that children may not identify with this movie quite yet, as it does involve complex feelings, and parents seem to dislike it because they won't open up to the spirit of the film. But for everyone else, you MUST SEE this movie. It will actually improve your life.

  • December 14, 2009 calvinmjohnson
    Report This User

    How did this movie get 5 stars from the critics? I thought the animation was very low grade when compared to Coraline or anything from Aardman. My children were bored by the story and I thought it was 1 to 2 stars at best.

  • December 08, 2009 ADLawrence86
    Report This User

    Mr fox- I should have had my nephews with me for this, opposed to my mom ..apparently. Despite moviefone’s crazy high revie

  • December 05, 2009 Kirsten
    Report This User

    What a disappointment! Boring and dull, the characters weren't even likeable. There was really no purpose for this movie. I feel so bad for the hours spent on the animation, which was actually pretty cool, to total up to an etire movie that was just BLAH. Don't waste your money or your time, and don't bring your kids unless you want to pay $10.50 for a two hour nap.

`

similar movies

  • Ratatouille (2007)

  • How to Train Your Dragon 2 (2014)

  • Coraline (2009)

  • Despicable Me 2 (2013)

  • James and the Giant Peach (1996)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X