Skip to main content

reviews

41
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 63
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    A more sure-footed shoot-'em-up that finds some heart, wit and perhaps enough momentum to spawn a formidable action franchise. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    I won't pretend that I had a great time watching G.I. Joe: Retaliation. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The G.I. Joe team is back, and most of their sophomore movie adventure, G.I. Joe Retaliation, is as bland as their name and as subtle as an exploding tank. show more

  • 70
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    So fetishistic about high-powered weapons that it qualifies as an NRA wet dream, G.I. Joe: Retaliation pretty accurately reflects the franchise's comic book and cartoon origins, which is both a good and a bad thing: good if you're a 12- to 15-year-old boy, bad if you're just about anyone else. show more

  • 25
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    What's the difference between an action figure and an action star? Very little in G.I. Joe: Retaliation, which features no performances of note, even from such combat-tested thespians as Bruce Willis, Jonathan Pryce and Dwayne Johnson. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Willis is at his relaxed best this time. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The directive behind this sequel, clearly, was non-stop action. Let's think about that phrase a second. Do we really want our action movies to deliver action that does not stop? Ever? I get a little tired of action sequences that won't stop. show more

  • 50
    Slant Magazine

    Instead of long takes, which are lovingly utilized in Step Up 3D, Jon M. Chu opts for increasing volatility in the editing room. show more

  • 50
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    As long as Hollywood keeps hitting us over the head with empty spectacles like G.I. Joe: Retaliation, regular Joes will be too numb to fight back. show more

  • 50
    Roger Moore McClatchy-Tribune News Service

    It’s a live-action version of on an ’80s cartoon that was designed to sell toys. This is “Transformers” without the Bumblebee Camaro, a lot of action, a few one-liners, and a lot of gunplay. show more

  • September 26, 2013 cynlourita
    Report This User

    I was so disappointed..the same old Hollywood plot played to death..set-up the good guys to take the fall and then they spend the movie trying proving themselves innocent. Is there not another action plot available?

  • August 06, 2013 mr00000000160375
    Report This User

    Not bad ;)

  • August 04, 2013 fm00000000127618
    Report This User

    Ok, I could not stomach making t through the first movie. I would get about 1/4 of the way in and had to turn it off. The only reason I was able to make through this one is because I like Dwayne \"The Rock\" Johnson who is bad ass in almost any movie.

  • August 02, 2013 gj00000000159879
    Report This User

    This Was pretty lame.!just because Bruce is getting old, doesn\'t mean he has to play in every crappy movie script he can get his hands on! Guess i have just come to expect if he or the rock are in ******** going to suck!

  • August 01, 2013 tn00000000160280
    Report This User

    I’m SOOO Glad I didn’t waste my time, money, or gas to drive to the theaters to see this. Part 1 was pushing it for me and 2…well…2…hmmm…not sure how to say it other than…GARBAGE!!! And adding in people like Bruce Willis and Dwayne Johnson did nothing for their careers or that

  • June 06, 2013 larry
    Report This User

    Saw it today for $2.Man it was like watching a train wreck,plenty action and cgi ,story line way too much and confusing,the ROCK has done much better like FNF 6

  • April 25, 2013 nk00000000112014
    Report This User

    Yawn, what a snooze fest. This movie has been done a hundred times. It\'s one long chase scene. The producers were not even giving a fair effort. I would have walked out if I was by myself. When we left, my date said the same thing. This is a spectacle without a story. Boring Boring Boring.

  • April 12, 2013 za00000000082038
    Report This User

    This movie is horrible. Save your money and wait for the rental ********* not even rental worthy either so just save your money. Absolute trash of a movie.

  • April 11, 2013 lgjhere1
    Report This User

    Boring, boring, boring...same old trash...nothing new...too much violence and little character development, bad script, actors other than Johnson mumbled their lines and were hard to hear. Come on Hollywood, you can do bettern than this! This formula would work for a comic book, but not for the big screen.

  • April 10, 2013 jamesjim176
    Report This User

    boring action,too far fetched,andhard to follow storyline

`

similar movies

  • G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra (2009)

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

  • World War Z (2013)

  • X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)

  • Godzilla (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X