Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 20 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 86 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The real evil in this flick isn't Blackheart (Wes Bentley), the devil's son, it's the soul-sucking devil of modern cinema: Hollywood formula. show more

  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Ghost Rider has everything you don't want from your superhero movie, including lack of logic, boring action scenes, bad acting in the supporting performances, a brutally slow 114-minute running time and cringe-worthy dialogue. show more

  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    What sticks is a colorful, mesmerizing, at times breathtaking mess - it's like watching a bonfire on acid - and what slides to the floor is, well, you probably don't want to know. show more

  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    All of [Cages's] natural charisma is unable to compensate for the plodding narrative and thin characterizations. show more

  • 63
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    This time out, writer and director Mark Steven Johnson has bounced back with a movie so full of camp spirit it should come with tents and a marshmallow roast. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    With its cheesy special effects and blasphemously imbecilic storyline, one wonders whether the celluloid version of Ghost Rider will find an audience. show more

  • 38
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    Marvel-man Mark Steven Johnson, who wrote and directed "Daredevil" (2003) and scripted "Elektra" (2005), continues to demonstrate the wrong way to make comic book movies: Make sure special effects overwhelm the characters, let campy mannerisms go unchecked and be sure dialogue is declaimed rather than spoken. show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Ghost Rider is the kind of movie that's great stupid fun as long as someone else is buying the tickets. show more

  • 25
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The movie's last words are "This is how legends are born." Make that stillborn, because when the makers of this one pitch the sequel, the only answer is going to be, "Ah HA HA HA!" show more

  • 60
    Film Threat

    As a film on its own, Ghost Rider isn't amazing, but it is definitely a decent popcorn flick. As an entry into the superhero genre, Ghost Rider is only a couple notches above the "X-Men: The Last Stand." show more

  • August 27, 2011 riohondo30
    Report This User

    I LOVED THIS MOVIE! SO AWESOME!

  • May 21, 2011 Betty
    Report This User

    Great movie

  • October 14, 2010 arabikwer
    Report This User

    agsafas

  • March 19, 2009 robbie61987
    Report This User

    This movie was a joke. It was a joke the moment Cage and Eve Mendes are in the same scene and there is no chemistry there at all. Director Mark Johnson must have got his lessons in making these movies by seeing how Richard Lester butchered the Superman Movies with his choice of camp and Richard Pryor in the cast.

  • August 09, 2008 Eambrosino2
    Report This User

    It really wasnt bad but it wasnt soo good either. i thoughtn it can use a little more action and excitment. it had very good acting but the story to it and the special effects i didnt realy like.

  • May 22, 2008 susandmurden
    Report This User

    Hi, My name is SusanI saw "Ghost Rider" 3/31 and I loved every minute of it. Nicholas Cage was at his best in the fantistic movie. The effects were great and action non stop. In fact, after I told my husband how great it was, I'm taking him to see it tomorrow. I can't wait.

  • May 22, 2008 redrosewings77
    Report This User

    I loved this movie there was nothing cheesy about it.

  • May 22, 2008 djxs03
    Report This User

    Nicolas Cage hasn't made a movie worth remembering since David Lynch's "Wild at Heart". Need I say more?

  • May 22, 2008 mariamtoney
    Report This User

    I really wanted to like this movie, but it was really disappointing. I love comic book movies, but this one had so much potential that it did not utilize. The storyline, dialogue, and acting was horrible! The special effects were okay. I really expected them to do a better quality film with more depth of story and characters. What a waste for such a great comic book character as ghostrider.

  • May 22, 2008 jaws9412
    Report This User

    I thought that ghost rider has potenial to become a trilogy. I thought the special effects were great and nic cage did a great job. It wasnt the best marvel movie I have even seen( x3, spiderman 1 and 2, daredevil) but it is still good enough to see. One other thing it is not that bad(violent wise) so take your little kids to see it. I dought they will get scared for more then a second.

`

similar movies

  • Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance (2012)

  • Batman Begins (2005)

  • Spawn (1997)

  • Iron Man (2008)

  • Casino Royale (2006)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X