Skip to main content

reviews

51
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 32 )
  • 38
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A sappy-sweet romcom that seems to have been invaded by a screenwriter - one Geoff LaTulippe - with delusions that he's David Mamet. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The film captures the harshness and the sweetness of our time. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    As it is, this uneven movie is more a compilation of contemporary images and concerns peppered with derivative raucous scenarios, à la Judd Apatow movies, than an involving romantic comedy. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The movie avoids most of the romantic comedy cliches, and its leads are appealing. That's almost enough for me. But not quite. show more

  • 30
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    This empty, immature romantic comedy ultimately feels as if it's filled with all the hot air that separates New York and San Francisco, yet still manages to be a suffocating bore. show more

  • 20
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Going the Distance is, in a way, a remarkable film: It's hard to imagine any romantic comedy going wrong in so many different ways. show more

  • 40
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    The disconcerting thing is how easy it is to fool viewers into being satisfied with not being involved, or even entertained - as long as they can RELATE. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    I liked the movie mainly for Barrymore. The way she handles the crucial, early "I love you" moment (he's saying it to her, and the camera shows us what she's thinking), you think: This is one canny actress. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Going the Distance earns its R rating, often by daring to say what goes frequently unsaid by women in raunchy comedies. It's not a very good movie. The entire second half is a sitcom. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    To date, no motion picture has adequately captured the soaring highs and devastating lows associated with a long distance relationship, but Going the Distance comes as close as any movie has. show more

  • September 06, 2011 klhjw7
    Report This User

    I just loved this movie, have watched it 3 times already on cable. Justin Long and Drew Barrymore are just great together, I don't think it was offensive at all I'm a 48 yr old female.

  • December 20, 2010 SuziMom722
    Report This User

    This had the possibility of being a good movie however I hate listening to foul language and having to PAY to hear it is just too much. I think that the writers must not have a concept of the English language as they can't seem to express feelings without gutter talk. What gives??!! Very very disappointing!

  • December 02, 2010 iderbus
    Report This User

    okay wow, these skip its are just, wow. IT IS RATED R, what do you think that stands for exactly really sweet? come on people rated R means only adults can see it, so moving right along. its a good movie, its funny and sweet, it puts the funny moments in just when its needed. i rather enjoyed myself, OF COURSE, i dont think you should only kiss on the cheek in public, and sleep in twin beds unless trying to make a child, i dont think every four letter word is a sin. if any of that qualifies as the way you view the world i suppose you should skip it. However if your a person who can take a RATED R movie then its great. geeze people i swear

  • September 25, 2010 TSPannell
    Report This User

    This is the worse written movie - so disappointed in Drew, talking that filth. She has always been a sweetheart - what is it with these writers? Are they so illiterate that they can't write a script without using foul language? It could have been a good story but the dialogue sucked as did the movie, Drew and Justin - what did she see in him? He's so stupid looking.

  • September 18, 2010 tevez87roni
    Report This User

    http://MovePix.com -- Watch Going the Distance Full Movie in High Quality

  • September 17, 2010 Stirling3020
    Report This User

    The movie had lots of laughs BUT.!! Drew Barrymore plays a 31 year old involved in a romantic relationship....I don't know any people in their 30's that talk about sex like they and their friends did....there was a valid reason why a chick flick was rated R. See it only if you're not offended by graphic sex talk!

  • September 16, 2010 mediamall
    Report This User

    I haven't read the other user reviews yet, but I can't imagine why any adult would say to skip it. Okay, it's not "When Harry Met Sally" or even "Sleepless is Seattle," ************* far more intelligent than the average romantic comedy. There was a lot of clever dialog and some one that was a bit on the raunchy side, but far less crude than "40-year Old Virgin. Justin Long will probably never win an Oscar, but he's so darn likeable. Drew Barrymore is outright loveable. Christina Applegate is spot-on as the controlling germaphobic sister. Ebert won’t let me point my thumb on this, so I’ll just say “see it

  • September 16, 2010 Diane
    Report This User

    Inane. Vapid... Drew Barrymore looked more like his mother. If she's "31" then so am I. HA

  • September 14, 2010 occharry
    Report This User

    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I tried to give it a chance, but after almost an hour, my friend and I got up and walked out and went to her house and watched an "old fashioned" romantic comedy made in the 90's. I was looking forward to something like 50 First Dates, which was wonderful. Drew really let me down and I don't think Justin Long has been around long enough to know better. I hope enough people snuff this film and when Hollywood doesn't make money on films like this, they will make better films. I don't think society has stooped that low yet to enjoy something like this trash!

  • September 14, 2010 abiele7000
    Report This User

    What a disaster, Hollywood ******' worse, again. If you like to watch a sleazy obnoxious couple.with no future ********** do not care about each other except to use each other for their next orgasm, in order to save money on prostitutes by simply using each other, then this film may be for you. BTW, it is easy to see all the movie studio plants who are assigned to give studio movies 5 stars ratings on forums such as AOL's User Reviews. They are the ones who gave this movie 5 stars. I give this film 1 star in memory of some good films Drew Barrymore once made.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X