Skip to main content

reviews

35
Based on 17 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 77 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    If For Greater Glory were a person, it would be wearing two different socks. It is a scattered mess, as earnest as a folk song, but like a folk song that goes on for two hours and 23 minutes. Not only does it never justify its epic length, it gets even the small things wrong. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The actor (Garcia), whose banked anger has been a secret weapon since "The Untouchables" 25 years ago, paints a fascinating portrait of a man moved by fate. show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    The sort of lumbering epic drama that went out of fashion by the late 1960s, For Greater Glory is mainly notable for shedding light on a little-known historical conflict, namely the Cristero War that took place in 1920s Mexico. show more

  • 50
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    There's enough froth along the way to keep the memory of Will Ferrell's recent "Casa Di Me Padre" close at hand. show more

  • 63
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    In its use of locations and sets, it's an impressive achievement by director Dean Wright, whose credits include some of the effects on the "Lord of the Rings" films. If it had not hewed so singlemindedly to the Catholic view and included all religions under the banner of religious liberty, I believe it would have been more effective. show more

  • 38
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    The sometimes painfully sincere and slow-moving For Greater Glory clearly aspires to be inspirational, but history won't cooperate. The Cristeros triumphed not because of their faith, but because the United States exerted diplomatic pressure to protect its oil interests in Mexico. show more

  • 38
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Some bad movies can make you feel awful for the people who made them and worse for the audience that shows up. The actors, the script, the camera: There's nowhere good they can go. For Greater Glory is that kind of bad movie: a total embarrassment. show more

  • 25
    Andrew Schenker Slant Magazine

    The film is awash in blandly brown-toned cinematography, action scenes more violent than rousing, and a whole host of bathetic subplots. show more

  • 40
    Kerry Lengel Arizona Republic

    The result is a pious mess of a movie that falls short both as history and as storytelling. show more

  • 20
    Time Out New York

    Extremism in defense of liberty is no vice, but let's not get carried away here. show more

  • January 01, 2013 Marilyn
    Report This User

    I bought this movie for my husband for Christmas. I never knew what happened with the Mexican government and the Catholic Church in 1917 and later We watched it last night and were touched deeply. It is a good movie for those who have strong faith in God. A must see for all Christians and others too.

  • December 03, 2012 rongnan1
    Report This User

    Good movie, not quite great. Not sure about the historical accuracy, but when the Humanist Society pans it, you know it must be largely true. Garcia is excellent, he should get an Oscar nomination, but he won\'t. This is all about government trying to brutally impose its will upon religion, and the people revolt. Same jarrng images of Cristeros crucified on the side of the road. May have too much brutality and violence for young children. Older children can learn from this film.

  • September 30, 2012 Brenda
    Report This User

    This is not the most exciting movie; it was slow and melodramatic; but the subject is very important to what our current political climate; the government\'s role in our Freedom of Religion. I was moved as to how the Cristero fought and died for the right to practice their Catholic Faith; esp. the boy who was tortured and executed for his faith.

  • September 14, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    I was disappointed because this could have been a really good movie. A little too melodramtic in parts for my taste. There was no English captioning available, and the accents were so thick as to cause me to miss a good portion of the dialogue; made the storyline hard to follow.

  • July 29, 2012 wgood222
    Report This User

    The Cristero Rebellion was only one of the manifestations of Mexican Government anti-clericalism after the Revolution of 1910-40. The three-pronged attack against the old Spanish Regime was anti-clerical, anti-foreign, and anti-Spanish upper class privileges. It was very difficult to clarify all the history and its ramifications in a short movie, but as far as what took place in the States of Jalisco and Michoacan, a very religiously conservative area of Mexico, the movie did a great job explaining the anti-clericalism endemic in the Mexican Revolution. Those that try to equate the call to \"religious freedom \" here in the United States with Mexican anti-clericalism are far off the mark, since our history here is totally the reverse of the Mexican experience.

  • July 27, 2012 padrejimbo
    Report This User

    Every American should see this movie, They would then appreciate our Religious Freedom and +why it is so important to fight for it now. Religious conscience and rights of religious denominations must be preserved. We Catholics are fighting the Obamcare bill because it limits our ability to follow our consciences.

  • July 11, 2012 looent
    Report This User

    awesome!!

  • July 07, 2012 ii00000000126181
    Report This User

    I came from a communist country. I was ignorant about the policy, the brain washing techniques and discrimination against people who had faith. I was taught there was not God. I admire the strong faith that Mexican people have shown through peaceful protests and later by armed resistance to the point of death. I have learned that true Catholics value their faith more than their life. Mexican Catholics had prioritized their faith more than their family relationship and the position of power. I am on my way to become Christian/Catholic. I enjoyed watching this movie of history, politic, war, religion, music and faith of God very much.

  • July 04, 2012 ap00000000125524
    Report This User

    A great movie. It came to Colorado Springs, Colorado around June 1st. We saw the movie on Thursday, June 14th, , the last day any theater showed it in our city. Someone whose son works at a big theater complex reported that the manager tjhere had quit showing the movie because of political pressure from the political and anti-religious Left. Is our city the only one in America where such a great movie as \"For Greater Glory\" was discontinued so early and abruptly?

  • July 03, 2012 pwdbed
    Report This User

    The Critics must be in Obama's pocket!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X