Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 40 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 61 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    As Hanna confronts her past, the movie becomes like nothing you've ever seen. I'd call it a knockout. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Still, those who meet the movie on its own terms and don't expect a masterpiece may appreciate the commitment of Wright and the actors. Blanchett goes out of her way, for example, to be repellent here. show more

  • 63
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    One of the coldest action films in years and an odd showcase for Saoirse Ronan, a deft actress who is one of the few youngsters capable of pulling off action with acting. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Hanna is a goofy and exhilarating mash-up of all sorts of things. Luc Besson's "The Professional" comes to mind, as do the propulsive synth-syncopations of "Run Lola Run" and the dark allegorical menace of Grimms fairy tales. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The forced coming-of-age parable that filmmaker Joe Wright laces with fairy-tale symbolism is heavy-handed from the get-go. show more

  • 50
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    The overall enterprise, for all its intrigue and visceral impact, feels overly thought out, affected and forced in its stylization. show more

  • 60
    Mark Jenkins NPR

    The movie has more sensibility than sense, but it seems cunning next to such silly tough-girl fare as "Kick-Ass" and "Sucker Punch." show more

  • 80
    Movieline

    Wright applies an artful eye to carnage; he and production designer Sarah Greenwood exhaustively deploy their love for finding colors that mirror the characters' psychological states. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Here we have an odd cross between a fairy tale and a high-tech action movie. It could have been a fairly strained attempt at either, but director Joe Wright ("Atonement") combines his two genres into a stylish exercise that perversely includes some sentiment and insight. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Although it would be an exaggeration to claim that Hanna "has it all," it is a richer and more compelling white-knuckler than the average roller coaster ride into tension and mystery. show more

  • March 12, 2013 anthonypeters42
    Report This User

    Wild child! Wow can she act. Wow-can she run! Outstanding dollface!

  • September 01, 2012 zg00000000074322
    Report This User

    Hanna is about a young woman who searches for her identity in a crazy world full of violence and uncertainty. The Chemical Brothers did the sound track; so not only is the movie very well done, the music is also moving. I highly recommend it.

  • May 15, 2012 MANNY ALBITE
    Report This User

    i really love this movie I have been trying to streaming cant find it donr it in the past with blockbuster but have to go out and get it from their store or get the cd from netfllix

  • October 23, 2011 colehewett
    Report This User

    really impressive acting and great story.

  • October 14, 2011 douglasibown
    Report This User

    one of the best movies I\'ve seen in a VERY LONG TIME. This had a terrific story along with tremendous action sequences. Also add into that actors with extraordinary talent that isn\'t seen very often anymore, especially in a young actress. This is a 10/10 movie all the way I recommend this for anyone to watch and also to buy the DVD. Because it is a movie you can watch more than once.

  • September 12, 2011 jackd1207
    Report This User

    The 1st 30 minutes or so was intriguing. The next hour or so was ridiculous, and disappointing. It took on a lame 1960\'s psychedelic feel, andI blame the director for that. The acting was so, so. Mildly entertaining, but had the potential to have been really good. Rent it.

  • September 17, 2011 si00000000101923
    Report This User

    What can I say about Joe Wright's Hanna. Well what an amazing film, exuberating, well crafted and pulsing with energy. It’s a gripping chase movie all the way through - the Music by the Chemical Brothers is brilliant- with Hanna's theme, The Devil is in the Details, Container Park and Escape Wavefold, just to name a few. The atmosphere is brilliant something like eXistenZ, with unusual sometimes freaky scenery: from the snows of the artic circle to Morocco, Container Parks and of course the abandoned Children's Theme Park in Germany. The German accents are well done by those who aren't even German by birth. The whistling song is so addictive, I've been whistling it for days. The acting by Saoirse Ronan , Eric Bana and Cate Blanchett are all very good. I want to see this film again and get the Chemical Brothers Soundtrac

  • September 10, 2011 no00000000101392
    Report This User

    I can\'t wait to see this movie, the action looks great and Hanna seems so real!

  • July 01, 2011 evelynecleopatra
    Report This User

    very good, riveting, great actress

  • June 05, 2011 Mona Crey
    Report This User

    IF TOM CRUISE OR ONE OF THE OTHER HOLLYWOOD LOOKERS PLAYED HANNA, I MIGHT HAVE LIKED IT. I REALL HATED IT. PIECE OF CRAP!!!

`

similar movies

  • Salt (2010)

  • Quantum of Solace (2008)

  • The Bourne Supremacy (2004)

  • Casino Royale (2006)

  • Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X