Skip to main content

reviews

40
Based on 19 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 15 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    In style and tone, Igor seems more like a short from the adult-oriented "Spike & Mike's Festival of Animation." show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    If Mel Brooks were to team up with Tim Burton, the result might be something like the loony and colorfully tantalizing animated film Igor. show more

  • 50
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Sparky voice performances and heart make up for this family film's theft of Tim Burton's sensibility. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Although the visuals tantalize and the actors providing the voices add a lot of sass, the result is only so-so. show more

  • 75
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Much of it will probably go right over the heads of kids who aren't familiar with classic movies or the naughtiness of Eddie Izzard. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    With an uneven and overstuffed script you appreciate the corner-of-the-mouth comments as delivered by Steve Buscemi. show more

  • 50
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Molly Shannon is dementedly charming as Eva. show more

  • 38
    Janice Page Boston Globe

    You can't blame John Cusack for jumping at the chance to play Igor. show more

  • 25
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    One of those non-stop jabbering cartoons in which most of the lines sound like the spontaneous riffs from a couple of comics sitting around a diner. show more

  • 90
    Eric Campos Film Threat

    This is what "Nightmare" fans have been waiting fifteen years for. show more

  • April 14, 2009 hunterisgreat10
    Report This User

    This movie was barely good

  • October 13, 2008 joatrule
    Report This User

    BHTR

  • October 03, 2008 roseannefuriga
    Report This User

    I thought that some of the dialogue was a bit racy (one of the girls calls her boyfriend "daddy" --- yikes) and that some of the characters were unnecessarily weird (an invisible man who works without pants on?! wtf?!), but it was an original concept. I think it's VERY politically incorrect to have blind orphans sing "I Can See Clearly Now" at the end of the movie. That's BOUND to offend someone!!

  • September 29, 2008 rghaz52
    Report This User

    I teach 4th grade in LAUSD. One of my special education students went to see the movie and came back with a movie review he wrote. This young man was able to see this movie's message: "...heroes come in all shapes and sizes. By ignoring deffects and focousing on your dreams you can go far in life." (his words) So according to my student I recommend this movie and for parents to have a dialougue with their children concerning it.

  • September 28, 2008 tish610
    Report This User

    I've never written a review on here before but I felt it I had to with this movie. My boyfriend and I went to see Igor last night since we thought it looked like it was going to be good. It really wasn't that great. Yes overall it had a good message to it, but certain parts just did not seem right to us about being in a kids movie. Example one of the characters (Scamper I believe it was) was a suicidal character that kept trying to kill himself (even though he can't die). Along with that, at some point something was shot at him and blew a hole through his head. It just did not seem right at all in a kids movie. I don't know, this movie was really a disappointment and shocking for both me and my boyfriend. I'd say if you want to see it, wait til it's out on DVD at least.

  • September 24, 2008 ALaljiDDS
    Report This User

    What a GREAT movie. My wife and I have watched it 2 times so far with our 5 year old son and our 8 year old daughter. This movie has such great values built in. It is so difficult to find a "Halloween" movie that is clean, teaches the kids good values, and every parent could feel comfortable having their young children watch. THIS IS IT..

  • September 23, 2008 J0ECHRISTMAS
    Report This User

    great movie

  • September 22, 2008 Vw12194
    Report This User

    Let me start by saying this is the first review I have ever written about a movie. This bothered me THAT much. Sure, the overall message of the movie was very good; be yourself. HOWEVER (this is a BIG however), there were a few scenes that were completely innappropriate for both children and adults. There are two scenes where the "bad" scientist and his girlfriend were arguing and they began taking turns slapping their "Igor." Right after that, they got all passionate on eachother. The passion is not what upset me. We live in a highly sexual culture these days; it's everywhere. What upset me was the integration of violence with sexuality. The other part about this movie that you should think about is the fact that it is accepted for these scientists to beat up and slap around their "Igors." The "Igors" are portrayed as mindless, ugly, disfigured "it's" in the eyes of the scientists. Parents please be aware of these scenes before taking young children, and/or discuss these issues with them.

  • September 21, 2008 XLxIxLxG
    Report This User

    I usually don't like animated movies but I was drawn to this because of the great cast members. This movie was a little deeper than they typical group of characters doing silly dances while singing catchy show tunes. No, it is definitely not your average Disney/ Pixar flick. The message of the movie should ring loud and clear to those watching, that it is ok to be yourself and even though there is evil in all of us, in the end good will prevail. I think it should spark up some interesting dialogue between parents and their children.Some people are complaining that Steve Buscemi's character of Scamper was a little too much, but I have to say that an older audience that understand his humors will not take it so seriously and laugh, and the younger audience that doesn't get it will just skip over it. Hardly anything close to being harmful to children. There are worst things being shown on Nickelodeon.Enjoy the movie with your family, and discuss the meaning of it.

  • September 20, 2008 pimanketo
    Report This User

    Took 5 kids, ages 5 through 9, boys and girls, to see IGOR. What a disappointment! Don't believe the hype... the movie is terrible. Kids couldn't wait to leave.

`

similar movies

  • Despicable Me (2010)

  • Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs (2009)

  • Up (2009)

  • Ratatouille (2007)

  • The LEGO Movie (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X