Skip to main content

reviews

83
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 8 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Laugh you will, loud and often. In the Loop deserves to be a sleeper hit. The whole cast is stellar. And it proves that smart and funny can exist in the same movie, even in summer. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The language is brilliant, and the laugh lines come so quickly that you'd probably have to watch the movie twice to get them all. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Drawing upon "Wag the Dog," "Dr. Strangelove" and "This Is Spinal Tap," this sardonic tale is adapted from the critically acclaimed BBC series "The Thick of It." show more

  • 70
    Wall Street Journal

    It’s the hilarious tumble of words--the sly cultural references, astonishingly creative invective, the veritable arias of profanity--that gives the film an unexpected heft. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A scabrously funny look at the cutthroat game of statecraft. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    One of the sharpest satires in years. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Painfully funny satire of British and American bureaucrats in the days leading up to the Iraq War. show more

  • 90
    Bob Mondello NPR

    The performances are explosively funny, from Hollander's increasingly bewildered and way-out-of-his-depth Simon to Chris Addison's hapless PR fledgling. But the star is Peter Capaldi. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    While director Armando Iannucci's brand of satire -- just plausible enough to be painful -- isn't for all tastes, it's a little bit of heaven to hear screen characters spew such eloquently vicious bile. show more

  • 88
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The movie is absolutely hilarious, a satire as brisk and fleet as a farce and as profane as a convention of Tony Montana impersonators. show more

  • July 27, 2011 watchdoge
    Report This User

    I espeically liked the scenes taking place at the United Nations. There ia a perception that diplomats act differently within the walls of the Organization but \"In the Loop \" shows how quickly they shed that aura of statesmanshp and return to thei\\r true nature of petty politics and boorish behavior.

  • April 22, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    A funny look at how wars are decided on by armies of bureaucrats in different countries who are wasting huge amounts of taxpayer dollars (like many bureaucrats do).

  • September 16, 2009 valkay6
    Report This User

    Putting everything else aside, I deplore movies shot in "Cinema Verite" (hand held/shaky camera technique). Unless you bring a bottle of Excedrin and sea sickness pills with you, STAY AWAY! The other aspects of this film are as equally pathetic. Next time, add a Steadicam to your budget!

  • August 13, 2009 Celesti780
    Report This User

    I loved this movie... but I can totally see why other people's ratings were so low. In the Loop is VERY audience-specific. If you are looking for a fantastic plot, this is NOT your kind of film. The movie is a sort of comedy of errors, and its humor comes from political and cultural references that are often obscure. (I laughed at several jokes that no one else in the audience got, and vice-versa.) The dialogue is what makes this film really shine- especially if you can understand the thick Scottish accents of a few of the main characters. The cast is incredible, and the content is an interesting- and often depressing- look at American and British politics-as-usual. Would I recommend it to a friend? Well, certain friends, but I know not all of them would enjoy it.

  • August 05, 2009 fleirio1
    Report This User

    fleirio about the worse movie I'v seen in a long time. Bad enough that we walked out.I wanted my money back. Everything Martin 21 said I agree with.

  • August 03, 2009 Martin21
    Report This User

    I was largely influenced by the the hysterical favorable reviews. I thought I had learned my lesson before when I have seen highly rated movies which I did not like. My feelings are even stronger this time: I intensely disliked it. I could not decipher the language of one of the UK actors (****************). So, if his histrionics were meant to be funny, it was lost on me. In fact, much of the dialogue was lost probably due to poor sound quality. I get the satire behind the idea of this movie but it just doesn't work very well. I also have no idea how the use of the new shaky-cam technique enhanced this film in any meaningful way. James Gandolfini was great but he was not onscreen enough. My advice, pass it by!

  • August 03, 2009 elainefreun
    Report This User

    With all the hoopla by the critics I could not wait to view the movie, which I did on Demand (Cable). After suffering through it, I was glad I did not waste gas to drive to the theater. It was truly a boring mishmash. What a waste of time. I love the movies and go twice a week. There is no way this can be considered top notch.l What a bore. The actors did the best they could with a ridiculous attempt at metaphoric cinema.

  • July 25, 2009 CHFIE
    Report This User

    A stupid movie. The only person who makes sense in it is James Gandolfini. Mocks Americans, lawmakers, particularly denigrating to women. The lead character is a feckless geek - fey, disjointed, and clueless - not the sort of guy that would attract women. But in the movie has a beautiful live-in girlfriend and a romp in the sack with a sexy American woman. This would not happen in real life and it is impossible to suspend disbelief. Personally, I think the movie is a waste of time.

similar movies

  • Wag the Dog (1997)

  • Bob Roberts (1992)

  • Dr. Strangelove Or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (1964)

  • Bulworth (1998)

  • Citizen Ruth (1996)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X