Skip to main content

reviews

82
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 12 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A devastating mystery thriller from Quebec filmmaker Denis Villeneuve that grabs you hard and won't let go. show more

  • 50
    Walter Addiego San Francisco Chronicle

    Skillfully made and offering moments of great power, the French Canadian drama Incendies nevertheless overplays its hand, piling tragedy on tragedy until we feel browbeaten with misery. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Denis Villeneuve's screen adaptation of a play by the Lebanese-Canadian playwright Wajdi Mouawad tells a story-masterfully-of courage, cruelty, family mysteries and a chain of anger that can only be broken by love. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Reverberates with the power and passion of Greek tragedy. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Filled with striking images and the ghosts of lives lived in hardship and war, Incendies is tough but impactful. show more

  • 90
    Stephen Farber The Hollywood Reporter

    Although the film runs more than two hours, the story is so compelling and the production so beautifully controlled that we are gripped by the characters' quest right up to the shocking end of the story. show more

  • 100
    Bob Mondello NPR

    The storytelling in Incendies strikes me as primal the way Greek tragedy is primal. Shattering. Cathartic. It is a breathtaking film. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Incendies is no mere riff on a Greek mainstay. It is its own entity, delicate and fierce. Already I've risked making it sound like homework. It's not; it's an enthralling drama of survival. show more

  • 100
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    It knocks you off your feet and leaves you shaken. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Most people do not choose their religions but have them forced upon themselves by birth, and the lesson of Incendies is that an accident of birth is not a reason for hatred. show more

  • June 14, 2011 Dyon/Sharon
    Report This User

    Thought provoking but very Depressing. Can\'t believe a mother would want to put her children through such a nighmare. The plot seemed contrived, but made a point about breaking the chain of retribution. I wasn\'t prepared for this.

  • June 13, 2011 boatjws
    Report This User

    This was the most contrived piece of garbage I\"ve seen in a very long time. A complete waste of 2 good Sunday hours.

  • June 05, 2011 amorgenroth121
    Report This User

    a very moving sad story, but wonderful

  • June 05, 2011 oceanscott
    Report This User

    Its A Sherlock Holmes mystery that could only be conjectured and created by the unpredictability of reality and random fate. This is a winner and will win many awards, The plot is so unpredictable that you would never guess or fathom the actual conditions and experience of Mom - gotta see it...

  • June 04, 2011 af00000000091760
    Report This User

    Are you kidding! greek tragedy my ass this was the most depressing movie I ever watched. Realistic war crimes if that is your idea of a nice night out Sorry I suggested it to my husband, glad we didn\'t take any friends...

  • May 30, 2011 realtorsue
    Report This User

    Loved the movie- showed the political conflict in Middle East intertwined with a story that twists and turns- not always sure where it has been or where it is going. But it keeps you very focused-a little bit of a Greek tragedy with complicated characters- family intrique, love, hate anger,religious and political under tones and beautiful photography. A must see

  • May 30, 2011 Mambes
    Report This User

    A really great movie, but you need to be awake and stay with it . If you do and have a little knowlege of history ( think civil war in Lebanon), you will come away in awe, and anxious to discuss and savor this film with other viewers

  • May 28, 2011 dukedewf
    Report This User

    I almost fell asleep in the first 30 minutes. The plot jumps around with no warning, and for me it was difficult to keep up in time frame and just exactly who was who. HOWEVER, once this movie gets going, it really goes. Absolutely a fantastic tale, beautifully written and acted. Easily it has won many awards. It leaves the theater with you.

  • May 25, 2011 lipsonadam
    Report This User

    Stunning, captivating and not to be missed. The film takes you through a journey of two adult children, following the death of their mother, in search of a father and brother that they did not know existed. The journey is riveting and keeps the viewer at the edge of their seats. Lot of twists and turns. This is a must see and a candidate for Best Foreign Film.

  • May 23, 2011 Jojo
    Report This User

    Wow! Proud of you Wajdi!!!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X