Skip to main content

reviews

57
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 91 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    You don't have to feel guilty for lapping up this froth. Just don't expect nourishment. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    The sum is a comedy that starts out slow and talky, picks up speed - and sexiness, and hysterics - somewhere in the middle, then drags to a stop when everyone starts confessing their feeeelings. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's Complicated is vacuous overall, although attractively packaged. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    After listening to Jane and Jake talk it out in the interminable process of working it out—they explore their relationship as exhaustively, and exhaustingly, as any kids on Facebook—I found myself wishing for more shallows and fewer depths. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    I enjoyed the spectacle of middle-aged people making spectacles of themselves. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Baldwin and Streep do make the most of the situation, and their sparky chemistry provides the only real draw. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    What Meyers doesn't do is take chances. She sticks to formula and predictability. In "Complicated," this is as much a matter of casting as writing. show more

  • 88
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    The romantic comedy about a divorced couple having an affair manages to be both light on its feet and heavy enough to deliver something of a message. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    It's Complicated isn’t: It’s pretty simple. It’s simply a good time. show more

  • 75
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Funny even when it relies heavily on age-old, old-age gags. show more

  • October 19, 2011 katyohara
    Report This User

    Can\'t Help it....I love this movie. Because she was always wonderful.. Husband didn\'t realize,...because we never know what we have until we lose it. Everyone else knows what we have. :)

  • September 11, 2011 J. Hudson
    Report This User

    One of the best movie that I have watched this year. Very funny. Full of laughs. Streep at her best.

  • April 30, 2011 nf00000000090272
    Report This User

    Super funny! I watched it with my mom and grandmother and they LOVED IT!

  • August 05, 2010 dalprad1973
    Report This User

    Streep acts like a silly school girl which is cute at first then becomes annoying because she is OLD. It also glosses over the fact that Alec Baldwin's character is twice a cheater with two different wives. They make him out to be sort of a cool guy when in reality he would be a dirtbag. He also speaks in this low voice the whole time which I guess is supposed to be sexy but comes off as creepy and monontonous. Also, amidst all of this their kids seem perfectly well adjusted which is so unlikely with this family situation. The only really likable character is Steve Martin who plays the nerdy guy who puts up with Streeps crap the whole time but at least he get's the girl in the end. I recommend this movie for cheating husbands who want to feel good about themselves, and older single women who are hopeful for romance. There are a few pretty funny parts. Under 40 years old, probably not the best movie for you.

  • June 21, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Light fluffy entertainment.. Worth watching relationship comedy.

  • December 25, 2010 Jeanne
    Report This User

    One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I laughed so hard my stomach hurt. If you were a teenager in the 70's, you'll die laughing at this. Great movie and great acting! A++++++++++++++

  • February 25, 2010 GH0PP3R
    Report This User

    OMG, This is the movie of the year. It makes you laugh and really feel good when you leave the theatre.

  • February 25, 2010 myracc
    Report This User

    EXCELLENT

  • February 17, 2010 Jcm7815
    Report This User

    Great movie ...whts with all the microphones bobbing over the actors heads?

  • February 16, 2010 Kay
    Report This User

    This was the funniest movie I have ever seen. Everyone in the audience, including men, were rolling with laughter. Can't wait until it comes out on DVD so I can buy it!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X