Skip to main content

reviews

76
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Margin Call is an explosive drama that speaks lucidly and scarily to the times we live in. show more

  • 75
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    Chandor's writing goes to some darkly interesting places, and there's fun to be found in individual performances. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    As such, it's chilling and enjoyable in unequal measure. Entertainment predominates, but entertainment with smarts, and a well-honed edge. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's hard to feel compassion for these Masters of the Universe. I'm not even sure Chandor wants us to, but if he doesn't, then what's the point? show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    While Spacey, Tucci, and Bettany are the standouts, every cast member locates disturbing notes of villainy or humanity. show more

  • 60
    Stephen Farber The Hollywood Reporter

    The first-rate cast cannot be faulted. Chandor has assembled an extraordinary ensemble. show more

  • 80
    Movieline

    Margin Call's strengths are of mood and the slick surfaces of things, and these elements are haunting long after the credits have rolled. show more

  • 100
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Chandor's shrewdest bit of business is figuring out how to make an A-list movie with a $3.5-million budget. Solution: buy low, sell high. Hire last decade's A-list – Spacey, Irons and Demi Moore – and give them their best parts in years. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Margin Call employs an excellent cast who can make financial talk into compelling dialogue. They also can reflect the enormity of what is happening: Their company and their lives are being rendered meaningless. show more

  • 88
    Michael O'Sullivan Washington Post

    Chandor's film goes a long way toward making understandable - in vivid, cinematic terms - what exactly happened to make that first big domino fall over. show more

  • September 12, 2013 rogerssparks
    Report This User

    ITS A STORY ABOUT THIEVES AND RATS AND HOW MUCH THEY CAN STEAL IN 24 HOURS

  • February 23, 2012 angelabfla
    Report This User

    This is one of the best films I\'ve ever seen. I keep watching it over and over. The acting is superb, and the pacing is excellent. It gives me the chills every time I watch it, because I know this is approximately what happened in 2008 and it was what started the horrible downward trends, the bailouts, the bankruptcies, the devastation -- all started with one firm like this one. It\'s unfortunate that the author of the script felt an absolute obssession with the \"F\" word, as it is heard about a zillion times throughout the film, and I thought, fairly distracting. A few \"F\" words sprinkled here and there for emphasis would have done it for me. This may be why the film hasn\'t reached the popularity it might have reached, because it is a brilliant film.

  • December 18, 2011 Scott404
    Report This User

    Really liked this movie. I\'m not sure how much was fiction. Perhaps they could make another movie like this one about our present Congress and President. They could title it \"Last Call:.

  • November 16, 2011 td00000000105824
    Report This User

    It was no surprise that the acting was great. The script was repetitive and the action slow ... almost like mental anguish. Perhaps, that is what the producer, director, and writer sought to achieve. ... If so, they, indeed, achieved it and then some. The fact that most of the action takes place within the confines of the corporate office of the traders only added to a feeling of imprisonment. I would have thought that the viewer score would have been more like 70% rather than 94% and the critics score more like 60% rather than 76%. Lastly, the last ditch effort (pardon the pun) to offer symbolism in the movie (as reflected by Kevin Spacey digging in his ex-wife's front yard to bury his dog) was a bit ridiculous and implied that he was digging himself out of his own hole. I felt as though the writer himself was attempting to dig himself out of his own hole in an attempt to find a semblance of a meaningful ending. He failed. Full Review

  • November 13, 2011 fh00000000104834
    Report This User

    Decent. Good idea, captures much (although not necessarily all) of the atmosphere within a trading firm, but I found the pace to be a little artificially slow and drawn out. The scenario was a little thinner than I would like as well. Not bad overall but I had the feeling of it being a little \"flat\".

  • November 11, 2011 bbr1039
    Report This User

    As one investor ho got run over by those brilliant master5s of the universe I found every aspect of the film to be painfully accurate.Script diretion cast made this one of the best films of thje year.

  • October 30, 2011 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    THE SCRIPT: 3.5stars. This movie had the makings of a great movie, top box office at least $200m,fpr this genre. but the script was tired. Very tired. I mean, you just don\'t show a man diggiing a whole in his million-dollar residence\'s yard, tell us he is divorced from his wife, and then bring her out, let us meet her and we never hear from her again. The movie ends. You just don\'t do that. And, you certainly don\'t put Demi Moore in any role with any man near by and he doesn\'t want her or try to get her or try to protect her or show her in some kind of conflict that she overcomes: this movie hints that Demi might be up to some of her feline tricks and then the movie is over. We saw more of one of the manager\'s car that we saw of Demi Moore, a box office star. This movie had all the people; they did all the things to make the experience real but the script had nothing for them to do to bring the audience ...in for a memorable experience. ALL THAT FRONTING THAT THE BIG WEALTHY MEN DO...all that helicopter thing about landing on top of a building and all that stuff about somebody arriving that is so important they all want to tremble in their boots and all he came to do was steal, order a grand slam theft on Wall Street? Ah Hell...we\'re already living that; we don\'t need to see it; we needed to see a solution; we needed to see at least one hero--OH, BUT WE DID SEE ONE HERO, but they fired him in the first scene; then they brought him back to take in on the scam. That\'s right. They threathened to take away his retirement. WE DON\'T NEED TO SEE STEALING AND LYING AND CHEATING....we don\'t need to see the devilment with Wall Street as a focus. We need to see heros now in our time of economic troubles caused by that same kind of people stuff, wrong-way-round.--MO

  • October 23, 2011 sandimole
    Report This User

    Incredible cast, solid story. The 24-hour shaping of a financial crisis seen from inside an investment firm. Has a very interesting, deliberate pace - a sort-of \"control\" before the chaos.

  • October 22, 2011 marathon4
    Report This User

    Very intense. Great acting. Kevin Spacey stood out among a true troop of thespians. The plot and acting were so perfect that I found myself on the side of the slick sludge salesmen.

  • October 22, 2011 twalsh4440
    Report This User

    Go Online Go OnlineYou may have to go online you cannot see the movie within 25 miles of Richmond Sorry Sorry Go Online

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X