Skip to main content

reviews

50
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 30 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It takes a winning recipe and adds some distinctly Hollywood flavors...The result is a botched job. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The romance, which commences rather gradually, is tender, but not graphic. Humor is interspersed throughout, but there also is sadness, handled seriously. Actually, it is as much a family saga as it is a romantic comedy. show more

  • 50
    Wall Street Journal

    It's plain old lousy timing, this chronicle of a dedicated, exacting chef being released in the wake of the kitchen-centered "Ratatouille" and "Waitress." Alongside those two charmers, which beautifully demonstrate the transformative powers of food and love, No Reservations is strictly cordon blah. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Alas, not even Eckhart and Breslin can get Zeta-Jones to simmer. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Even the food - usually the centerpiece of a restaurant movie - is oddly uninspired. Despite Zeta-Jones' best efforts, barely a moment here feels organic, or fresh. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film feels miscast. Neither Zeta-Jones nor Eckhart look the least bit comfortable in a restaurant kitchen. More troubling, they look downright uncomfortable with each other. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    No Reservations may not be a modern day classic but, despite the relatively small budget, it has more heart than nearly anything currently playing in multiplexes. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Fails to offer a single moment you don't see coming but its cast is appealing, and it provides a welcome respite from young wizards, talking robots that turn into trucks and other staples of this long, hot, boy-focused summer. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's handsomely shot by Stuart Dryburgh and nicely acted, and if it tastes a bit bland, you'll soon forget that, along with just about everything else about it. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The movie's pleasant and light, though, and its emotional crises are the crust on an acceptably edible crème brulee. show more

  • May 22, 2008 Raymond
    Report This User

    ARRON COULD STIR MY STEW ANYTIME

  • May 22, 2008 movieadmirefan
    Report This User

    I enjoyed this movie. Catherine Zeta-Jones was flawless, Her performance was charming, and sexy. Abigail Breslin was amazing, and deeply charming as well. Aaron Eckhart was dashing, A true leading man at Heart. Jones and Eckhart's chemistry was flawlessingly sexy. No Reservations was a Yes Good Charming romantic-comedy. Loved it. Good to see Jones back on the moviescreen.

  • May 22, 2008 toni815
    Report This User

    I only paid one dollar to rent this movie and still wanted my money back. I'm a big fan of romantic comedies but this one was horrible. It was totally predictable. I just don't think it was funny or romantic. What a stink bomb of a movie.

  • May 22, 2008 budman57
    Report This User

    I was encouraged by a friend to see this for some dumb reason. Walked out about one-third into it. Worthless, most predictable chick flick.

  • May 22, 2008 westfamily207
    Report This User

    I am going to buy this movie as soon as it comes out on DVD! It was amazing! This movie is for all ages! Its great because it makes you laugh and CRY and the music in it is enjoyable too!

  • May 22, 2008 BONNIE J. VIATOR
    Report This User

    AN EXHILERATING MOVIE. CLEAN, MORALLY GREAT. SO GOOD THAT I RECOMEND IT TO ALL FAMILIES. NO PROFANITY, NO NAKED SCENES TO EMBARRASS ANYONE AND SUPERB ACTING. MY HATS ARE OFF TO THE THREE MAIN CHARACTERS IN THIS MOVIE. I WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT AGAIN AND WHEN IT COMES OUT ON VIDEO, I WILL BE ONE OF THE FIRST TO PURCHASE IT. VERY GOOD DIRECTING MR. HICKS. CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL OF YOU. PLEASE GIVE US MORE OF THIS TYPE OF MOVIES.

  • May 22, 2008 sdudetoa
    Report This User

    Had dinner at Mastro's last evening and was very hesitant to go given the July AOL reviews I had read. I don't know what restaurant they went to, but it certainly wasn't Mastro's. We all had the filet with bone and it was excellent - the best steak I have ever had! The lobster mashed potatoes were to die for. We couldn't have asked for better service. Our waiter was very friendly, attentive and helpful. As for the atmosphere - it was nice to be able to sit in a restaurant and actually be able to carry on a nice conversation with everyone at the table. Mastro's is pricey, but the food, the service and the atmosphere are worth it, and I would definitely return.

  • May 22, 2008 mba99sd
    Report This User

    When I was nine, my grandmother died and my mother, who was 36 and had Multiple Sclerosis, went to live in a rest home. I went to live with an aunt. Consequently, I found this movie incredibly touching. I cried for Zoe and for the abandoned child in me. My date thought this was a frivolous "chick flick." I thought it was a tear jerker with flashes of hope and humor. If a good movie makes you cry, this was a very good movie.

  • May 22, 2008 brbedm
    Report This User

    Test information

  • May 22, 2008 kinksfan64
    Report This User

    I cant find the group that sings the song The lion sleeps tonight midway thru the movie, what a fantastic version....does anyone know the name of the group, its not listed on the sound track.Also, a wonderful movie....a must see for all age groups....

`

similar movies

  • You've Got Mail (1998)

  • Muppets Most Wanted (2014)

  • Fed Up (2014)

  • Maleficent (2014)

  • Leap Year (2010)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X