Skip to main content

reviews

60
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 47 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    It's the spirit that Biggie Smalls, born Christopher Wallace, put into inventing himself and his music that ignites Notorious, a biopic that sees the flaws in the man but can't help accentuating the positive. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    A fawning bio-pic. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Notorious is like a piece of well-crafted bling. It looks good, and facets of it shine, but behind the gilded facade there's not much there. And what is there can be troubling and retrogressive. show more

  • 63
    Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's an engaging enough story, crisply told, and the lip-synced music scenes in the studio and on stage are brought off in high style. show more

  • 80
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Layering his film with the songs that made his subject an icon, Tillman is aware that Biggie connected with his audience because he told stories others instantly understood. Notorious does that, too. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    For a man apparently making his first film, Woolard carries the movie like a pro. Cross your fingers that this is no fluke, for this guy could be a real comer. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A good film in many ways, but its best achievement is the casting of Jamal Woolard, a rapper named Gravy, in the title role. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Much closer to Scorsese than "Scarface," Notorious gives a heartfelt yet clear-eyed sendoff to the late Brooklyn rapper Christopher Wallace. show more

  • 75
    Premiere

    Angela Bassett is great as his strict, single mother; The soundtrack is great, of course, and the ending features moving archival footage of the streets of Brooklyn after Wallace's murder. show more

  • 75
    Michael Sragow Baltimore Sun

    What gives Notorious its staying power is what happens before AND after its hero's death. show more

  • March 22, 2010 maxicarras8
    Report This User

    tHiS mOvIe WaS gOoD

  • February 19, 2010 diancarras
    Report This User

    good move

  • July 12, 2009 Tank to the Dank
    Report This User

    The plot and story line of the movie wasnt that bad. The casting was great. The only problem I had was Puffy tried to make himself look like he was such a peaceful wonderful person. You know that he didnt just sat off to the side and say ohh biggie dont retaliate and dont start trouble! Thas bull he was probably alot more to blame for the fueding than he want everyone to know.

  • February 11, 2009 MJPGamble
    Report This User

    This movie was great, I did not show anything that we did not already know, however it was very entertaining to watch.

  • February 04, 2009 Pinkac6
    Report This User

    this the best movie ever in the history well I can't really say. That swell it was the bomb I love the part when he was having sex with that girl

  • January 31, 2009 Kimberly
    Report This User

    This movie was EXCELLENT!!! Great performances all around!!! For the first time ever I actually cared about Lil Kim LOL! As someone who lived in NYC during Biggie's reign, this flick was on point & I just mourned Biggie (and TuPac) & their loss to Hip Hop all over again. I highly recommend it & if Notorious & its cast don't at least get nominated for some awards, the fix is on for sure.

  • January 31, 2009 EeeZeeWriter
    Report This User

    First....I'm a white male...fifty years old... I LOVED the movie. It showed who Biggie was without glamourizing him. It spoke the truth. The good and the bad. It was honest. I actually got teary eyed at the end. Loved the film. (I'm not a fan of rap but I admire what he accomplished and I admire Puff Daddy) Oh, and the actress who played Little Kim.... all I can say... OMG

  • January 30, 2009 drewlane64
    Report This User

    rappa gangsta

  • January 30, 2009 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    POSTSCRIPT FOR MISS OPINE: THOSE WHO TALK ABOUT GANGSTA RAP AND OTHER THUGGY ENVIORNMENTS THINK OF WALL STREET BANKERS, CEOs of FAILED COMPANIES, GOVERNMENT ADMINISTRATIONS THAT CREATE WAR FOR UNSUBSTANTIATED REASONS, PRIESTS & OTHER MINISTERS WITH SEXUAL DYSFUNCTIONS AND CONGRESSMEN AND OTHER LEGISLATORS WHO PLAY CHILDISH GAMES AT PUBLIC EXPENSE. PEOPLE THINK ABOUT CHARGING ALL THESE PEOPLE WITH "PIRACY" AND "TREASON." THUGS ARE EVERWHERE LIKE ROACHES.

  • January 28, 2009 Ciarajlee5
    Report This User

    heyhghvhngvfghdefsxbigge your cool

`

similar movies

  • Hustle & Flow (2005)

  • 8 Mile (2002)

  • Tupac: Resurrection (2003)

  • Get Rich or Die Tryin' (2005)

  • The Wolf of Wall Street (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X