Skip to main content

reviews

75
Based on 21 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 8 )
  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Bruno Coulais' musical score provides an evocative counterpoint to the often dazzling photography. A scene featuring diving sea birds and whales moving in concert with the rhythm of the waves is stunning. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    The music is symphonic, the cinematography spectacular, the narration — ay, there's the rub. In Oceans, the latest Disney nature documentary, the voice-over almost manages to turn the majestic into the mundane. Almost. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Perfect for families and exquisitely shot, this entry from the Disneynature division is even better and fresher than last year's "Earth." show more

  • 90
    The Hollywood Reporter

    What "Winged Migration" did for birds, Oceans does for all sorts of strange sea creatures in an ambitious, impressively filmed documentary. show more

  • 75
    NPR

    Perrin and Cluzaud mainly emphasize the sea's beauty and power as its best argument, finding exquisite choreography between those florid stretches of narration. show more

  • 100
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Dive into a masterpiece. show more

  • 88
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The movie could -- should -- be a symphony, and it frequently makes excellent use of spare classical music. When Brosnan pipes up, he is as welcome as a car alarm. show more

  • 88
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    An evolutionary leap forward, a visually exquisite film that doesn't ignore the truths of pollution and predatory survival. show more

  • 75
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    The wow factor alone makes Oceans a great Earth Day/Earth Week at the movies. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Unlike in “Winged Migration,’’ the majestic imagery fails to tell a story or advance a message. show more

  • May 18, 2010 ddsdd
    Report This User

    Just excellent. It gives viewers a chance to enjoy nature and it seems as if you are actually "there" with these amazing creatures. It really allowed me to feel connected with the aspects of nature. A must see.

  • May 16, 2010 Pinkoceanluver
    Report This User

    this movie was amazing! jaw-dropping, breathtaking, beautiful, wonderful, spectacular. i don't know why anyone would rate lower than 5 stars. it was incredible!

  • May 04, 2010 Pete
    Report This User

    It seems to me that I have already seen all this on TV!

  • May 01, 2010 Dollsarebest
    Report This User

    It's beautiful and worth every penny. You have to try really, really hard to find fault with this film and I suspect people who suggest Disney "stooped low" and "should be embrassed" have some mental impediment. So pay no mind to that nonsense. I loved it, my daughter loved it, and it was a real treat to get to see the footage on a big screen rather than at home on TV. The music and visuals are lovely and a nice break from what you typically get in a movie nowadays. If I could give it TEN STARS I would.

  • May 01, 2010 markreko
    Report This User

    I agree that Disney should have put more effort into focusing on each ocean and their distinctive features. It was also obvious that all the clips came from the Planet Earth series. The movie was also very choppy due to poor editing of the scenes/topics. However, the big screen made it come to life.

  • April 27, 2010 Pietro di Giro
    Report This User

    Beautifully filmed. Clearly a lot of effort and money went into making this amazing artistic triumph. I'm glad I saw it in a theater. It needs a big screen to encompass all that the cameras and crew members did to bring this film to life. 5 stars.

  • April 25, 2010 Paulrac
    Report This User

    Disney should be embarrassed to stoop this low and show such a lack of professionalism - this is essentially taking film clips off the floor of making Planet Earth and piecing them together to make something they can sell - without including a story, movie, or educational content. Great footage, but lacks comparing the five oceans, or giving you perspective. Unless this is the only way you like eating popcorn, wait for the DVD to come out. If you really need to send your six year olds someplace to keep them safe for a rainy Saturday afternoon - yes, the cinematography is cool - but not as good as Planet Earth - or it would have been in the original DVD release.

  • April 23, 2010 padoma3
    Report This User

    Amazing. How do they get these shots? There were lots of little kids that were also memerized. I can only hope that it makes us all realize what an impact we're making on our marvelous world. A must see & take the kids, grandparents & everyone in between.

similar movies

  • Earth (2007)

  • March of the Penguins (2005)

  • Chimpanzee (2012)

  • Under the Sea (2009)

  • Aliens of the Deep (2005)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X