Skip to main content

reviews

48
Based on 41 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 36 )
  • 12
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    This tear-jerking twaddle, adapted by David Nicholls from his 2009 bestseller, is nearly as bad as Anne Hathaway's British accent, which is heading for infamy. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    One Day is a beautiful movie, but beautiful in a way that life often is, not movies. Nothing is sudden or easy, either for the characters or for the audience, and there are no thunderbolts from the blue. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    One Day is an aching lovely romance, but it's also an insightful look at human potential and the search for a purposeful existence. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    In this frustrating fizzle, the friendship does keep struggling to change into a love affair. But year after year, July 15 after July 15, it's the same old same old - two increasingly tedious people talking self-conscious talk. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    As in "An Education," Scherfig's settings are unshowy, imparting period flavor without overwhelming what is, ultimately, an underwhelming film. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Now CDL aficionados have One Day, though it is a tedious addition to this subspecies of rom-com, despite Anne Hathaway's efforts to make us fall for her regardless of the setting. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Danish director Lone Scherfig skillfully adapts David Nicholls' best-selling romantic novel to the screen. show more

  • 55
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    We need to wait nearly 20 years for the romance in Lone Scherfig's One Day to get cooking, and for long stretches it seems as if we're watching this particular pair of nonstarters hem and haw in real time. show more

  • 60
    Ella Taylor NPR

    One Day ends up fatally compromised by its glib recourse to death and cancer as moral wake-up calls. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    In a season of movies dumb and dumber, One Day has style, freshness, and witty bantering dialogue. show more

  • October 28, 2012 sprouses
    Report This User

    this was one of the best i never cry when watchen movies but this film got the water flowing my hat off to the writer and producer of this movie

  • May 20, 2012 dchrisbrown77
    Report This User

    great movie bets I\'ve seen from Hathaway in a long time :)

  • December 10, 2011 erinial
    Report This User

    good movie

  • September 10, 2011 bikreative
    Report This User

    Rats, now I know the ending!!!

  • September 10, 2011 sttarr87
    Report This User

    A great movie!! But Heartbreaking!!! It puts things into perspective!

  • September 05, 2011 sbhaddad
    Report This User

    Good enough movie, but if I had known she\'d be hit by a truck and DIE , I wouldn\'t have seen it ! They had just found each other again . It\'s a little too \'Love Story\" or me. Sad !

  • September 01, 2011 fh00000000100208
    Report This User

    Does life imitate art or does art imitate life? I\'m one who tends to avoid the discussion entirely by saying \"both.\" One Day is the most real (save a few accents) movie I\'ve seen in a long time. It explores time and how it often slips away from us. Our hearts\' desires are often decimated by bad timing, and the movie finds a variety of ways to demonstrate this. So in the case of One Day, art imitates life to the fullest, as we can all sympathize (if only a little) to crushed hopes and shattered dreams, though hopefully we eventually find our way. Anne Hathaway stars as insecure working-class woman Emma, who, for one reason or another is drawn to Dexter, (Jim Sturgess) a charming upper middle class man with a great amount of self-confidence. It may be hard to understand just what the two have on each other, but they are characters I\'m familiar with. The woman who is way too into a man that’s way too into himself, it happens and for the type, Dex is pretty likeable. Em and Dex have nothing in common. But their opposite personalities do what a relationship should; make each other better. They are Yin and Yang, complementary opposites. An interesting technique used by One Day, is that we only get to see the events of a single day, July 15, for each of 20 plus years. Some of my peers have taken to calling this a gimmick. In a year where it seems every other film is either a sequel or a remake/reboot, (which critics and public alike have grown tired of) I feel fresh ideas should be applauded, even if it doesn\'t quite work. For me, however, it worked to perfection. Director Lone Scherfig (An Education) paints the picture of Em and Dex\'s up and down relationship with great finesse, never having too much happen on the date year to year. The filmmaker fills us in on what has taken place throughout each year, without conversations seeming inorganic. The cinematography is beautiful, especially a scene where our would-be lovers break all their rules by taking a dip at sunset. There\'s plenty of humor, joy, sadness, regret and a number of other emotions to be felt. I caution viewers that this isn\'t a romantic comedy, nor does it end like one. One Day is, however, easily one of the most heartfelt films of the year and should be celebrated for its bravery.

  • August 30, 2011 dfsquilts
    Report This User

    Horrible Horrible movie! You just keep waiting and hoping it will get better, and then wham, it gets worse! Don\'t waste your money!

  • August 30, 2011 galefortin
    Report This User

    VERY VERY GOOD MOVIE......

  • August 28, 2011 nz00000000100417
    Report This User

    I really liked this movie. I did not find Anne\'s accent annoying, in fact, I forgot about it most of the film and just enjoyed the acting. Loved all the actors, especially Patricia Clarkson, she is wonderful. The ending is hard to watch, but that is the story, so it is what must happen. Jim makes Dexter very endearing and awful at the same time, this difficult to do. Can definitly see why Emma loves him. The women I was with all enjoyed the film as well.

`

similar movies

  • Remember Me (2010)

  • Starter for 10 (2006)

  • Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist (2008)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • Ida (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X