Skip to main content

reviews

51
Based on 30 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 35 )
  • 25
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    You can't fool me. I know it's actually a parlor game. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Alice Braga plays an Army sniper uniquely familiar with jungle fighting. She is the only one of the crew who does any soul-searching to figure out why this particular group was chosen as prey. show more

  • 50
    Philadelphia Inquirer

    A preposterous, if admittedly fun, exercise in sci-fi/horror mayhem. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Predators tries to spice up the hunt-or-be-hunted thesis, but from the get-go, director Nimrod Antal's movie has nowhere to run. show more

  • 50
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Very much bearing the creative imprint of Robert Rodriguez, but directed by Nimrod Antal, the new edition, in its best moments, is an unabashed B-movie that plays like a jacked-up "Twilight Zone" with award-winning actors delivering the pulp-infused dialogue. show more

  • 42
    Jeannette Catsoulis NPR

    By anyone's reckoning, Predators is a middling 1980s B movie; too bad this is 2010. show more

  • 70
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Amid the macho poses and reloading of his unbelievably enormous weapon, I was distracted by the notion of Brody’s participation as a kind of privately satisfying performance art (a similar impulse found James Franco doing a guest stint on "General Hospital"). show more

  • 88
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Antal is a professional who respects your dollars. In a season where the blockbusters are as flat as month-old soda, that’s the most romantic gesture a commercial filmmaker can make. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    After 23 years and three attempts, Predators finally delivers a solid sequel to the Arnold Schwarzenegger B-movie classic. show more

  • 75
    Jennie Punter The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Predators never gives us the satisfaction of knowing what motivates the alien hunters to use humans for sport, but at least it has fun showing us that humans can, indeed, be the most dangerous game. show more

  • November 28, 2010 StATeLoVeScItY..
    Report This User

    this movie suck's big time.it was so boring

  • August 23, 2010 Paul Preister
    Report This User

    very good movie, some cheezy lines but still 5 stars

  • August 06, 2010 Anthonysamb
    Report This User

    If you're a fan of the predator series go see it, you'll enjoy it. The fighting scenes in this as usual are great. If you've never seen a predator movie before, you'll find it three stars instead of four.

  • August 01, 2010 GoodNuph
    Report This User

    I enjoyed it even though it's more of the same with some added insight to the predator planet life forms.. for it's sequel, lets see more creatures added.

  • July 25, 2010 brookdale2012
    Report This User

    did not expect a lot from this movie but it blew me away. very entertaining with good action and plot. the acting was great. not a lot of nonsense..saw every predator movie and this one was best. after AvP and AvP2 i gave up hope but this movie turned it around. the director is great abd deserves credit for putting together a great movie thats entertaining all the way through

  • July 21, 2010 tjreview
    Report This User

    C- An entertaining movie just not a great one, ie AVP was really good and well done.  This 5th installment has rendered the series as only OK which in my opinion is not good enogh.  The fourth attempt should be forgotten all together as a complete directing mishaps. Though plot twists do reveal themselves eventually, there was a slower beginning progression than expected.  And at 2 hrs long, it was at least 30+ minutes before any real action took place.   I do not mind a slow build up, but were in the 5th Predator movie guys, come on.   Maybe I was hoping for more, but would have settled for just a better job.  A few cheesy effects can hurt my suspension of dis-belief, ie. spend more coin on cg fireballs.   Casting was different from the norm as the beef cake was only a recently build up of Bodie's body.  A little hard to believe his tough approach, but I went along with it.  The chase scenes failed to evoke a sense of heighten tension as the audience watches the characters running from a far, rather than the camera following them from behind, say.  The interaction of all the fight scenes were very short, considering the total time, which always brings me back to the same question, why go longer than 90 minutes?  To Robert  Rodriguz and future film makers, please note, there is really no need to go longer, usually at my expense of time over a stretched out story rather than a nice tight concise one.  90 minutes is a magical movie time, not too short and not too long.  Like the Earth is just the right distance from the Sun for life to exist.   The bigger hunter Predators were badder, just not bad ass enough in relation to the smaller (1st gen) Predators.  A good idea not taken nearly far enough.  I would of liked to have seen a much more powerful advanced Predator, as the T1000 is to the Terminator.  The girl sniper was a mostly useless.  A sniper gun with hi powered scope is a very ineffective tool in a jungle environment.  (Brush is always too close) Left me wondering where was Michelle Rodriguez? A nice roll for Lawrence Fishbourn,  Here is a great opportunity for him to bring more credibility to the ensemble, but alas, is grossly under utilized and unfortunately succumbs to be a short lived character.  Just more middle of the road entertainment, don't expect

  • July 19, 2010 mitchburman
    Report This User

    Not a bad sequel, the characters felt familiar, and the one liners were predictable. Over acted and directed which is what hollywood does best!!!

  • July 16, 2010 paddles57
    Report This User

    I thought Adrian Brody did a great job-who says you have to look like Ahnold to beat the Predator. I felt the only weak character was Topher Grace-there was no backstory on him.

  • July 15, 2010 hazeldhabarbie
    Report This User

    dha movie was crazy i dnt noe what yall doofballsz are talkin ********* was all that lolss

  • July 15, 2010 Pietro di Giro
    Report This User

    This sequel is carefully written, well cast and very well directed. 4 stars.

`

similar movies

  • Aliens (1986)

  • Starship Troopers (1997)

  • Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007)

  • Alien vs. Predator (2004)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X