Skip to main content

reviews

39
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 89 )
  • 25
    San Francisco Chronicle

    P.S.: It stinks. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This misguided chick flick jumps through a lot of hoops just to state the obvious: "Life goes on, enjoy the time you have." show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Harry Connick Jr. acquits himself best of the lot. show more

  • 38
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    The movie - with some gamy sexual references, a one-night stand and a long look at a stud muffin's naked buns - targets an older female audience. They may see it as unbearably cute, filled with ridiculous coincidences and laced with performances that - like the obnoxious soundtrack music - overstate the mood. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film, written (with Steven Rogers) and directed by Richard LaGravenese, is long and drags in places. But the chief problem is that "P.S." feels like a gimmick. show more

  • 50
    Chicago Tribune

    One of the most gifted dramatic actors working in movies today, Swank is stunningly ill suited for romantic comedy (or this one, anyway). show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Aside from the inept "August Rush," there probably isn't a more clumsily manipulative motion picture out there this holiday season than P.S. I Love You. show more

  • 50
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    This sappy thing is a two-hour cheat that never plays fair for a nanosecond. show more

  • 38
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    It's tough going relieved only by some lovely Irish scenery. - show more

  • 38
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Blithely inept. show more

  • March 11, 2013 densonone
    Report This User

    PS I Love You proves that most critics are clueless about what makes a movie a good viewing experience. Almost all of them hated PS I Love You, I loved it. One of the words that popped up in the reviews was schmaltzy. You bet it was, wonderfully so. Life is schmaltzy. Anyone who has lost someone they loved very much understands that, and also how hard it is to come out whole on the other side. This movie celebrated the tenacity of the human spirit, gave reassurance that there is life after the death of a loved one and reminded us that too often we forget our youthful dreams in the business of becoming \"adults\". Those of us who have been there, done that understand and appreciate this movie.

  • December 27, 2008 dlt847
    Report This User

    I founnd the movie surprisingly charming, and enjoyable. The acting was great. It's on cable...check it out.

  • September 05, 2008 muse4fdr
    Report This User

    This was the first movie I ever cried at. (My first Gerrard Butler movie)Their relationship was so believable. The actors did a great job of making the viewer feel their emotions. Thank you for such a gift Gerrard & Hillary! I am looking forward to viewing more of your movies.

  • July 13, 2008 Whittpoquoson
    Report This User

    that was one of the best love storys i have ever seen,know matter how many times i watch it i laugh and cry, the music was awesome,the love that gerry and holly had was the the kind of love everyone wishes for in live. it was a wonderful picture, one that stays with you forever.

  • May 22, 2008 rinconmd
    Report This User

    i thought it was so a good movie..not academy award type, but to be honest, maybe better, cause the past academy award movies i actually hated!!!!!!! this is a chick movie, but my husband said he even enjoyed it. rent it or buy it..you will laugh and cry

  • May 22, 2008 ambii009
    Report This User

    This movie was not the best I have ever seen, actually far from. To me, it was unromantic and depressing. How romantic can it be when your husband dies and your chasing his memory with letters that will eventually stop. All in all this movie was nothing that I was expecting and even though it made me cry [most of the time] and laugh [a small portion of the time] it wasn't what it should have been. I was highly disappointed in this movie all together. I vote dont waste the 9 dollars to go see it or definately the twenty to go buy it!

  • May 22, 2008 movieadmirefan
    Report This User

    P.S. I love you is one of the good romantic comedies I've seen in a very long time. Hilary Swank delivered such charming, yet compelled performances, she really made the role of Holly so convincing as a griefing widow who goes through these letters that gave her so much hope in the end to live continueously. Gerald Butler is charming, yet funny, and suave, And Jeffrey Dean Morgan is also charming and Harry Conneck Jr also was charming too. PS I loved the movie for its heart, and warmth feeling while watching this film. From start to ********** was entertaining.

  • May 22, 2008 amosjulia5
    Report This User

    What can I say! This movie took me by surprise.At first I thought another romantic comedy.I had no idea what I was in store for with movie.First, Gerard Butler is so likeable in this movie its unbelievable.Secondly, Hilary Swank was extremely believable.I cried like a baby.I felt myself being totally consumed with the message it was sending.It has been a long time since a movie has touched me like that.Watch it !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 Melissa Jordan
    Report This User

    I was laughing and crying at the same time. The film was great. Enjoyed to the last credit. I watched some of the scenes that were cut and some of them were FUNNY!

  • May 22, 2008 Raymond
    Report This User

    nice to see Ms Swank not playing a lesbo for a change she was charming in this film great cast Mr Butler wasn't hard on the eyes go see it

`

similar movies

  • Remember Me (2010)

  • The Notebook (2004)

  • Sweet November (2001)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • The Bridges of Madison County (1995)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X