Skip to main content

reviews

46
Based on 26 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 87 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    It's 90 minutes of flying, dismembered limbs and explosions of blood, but give the man credit. Stallone can do action. If you want action and nothing but, here it is. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    There is a blessed dearth of dialogue, but much of it is unintentionally hilarious. show more

  • NA
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    With its first-person-shooter perspective and gun-andrun narrative, this one’s for the PlayStation crowd. It’s not a movie. It’s an adrenaline pump and purveyor of raw carnage. show more

  • 50
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Like a lost recording by the Beatles, Sylvester Stallone's Rambo arrives with its feet planted firmly in the past, a reminder of a time when Stallone, Chuck Norris and other wooden soldiers of the big screen filled multiplexes with the floor-shaking thunder of trivialized war. show more

  • 40
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    In short, No. 4 is one big snore. show more

  • 63
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    The result is the farthest thing from a bland, spineless sequel: It's a brutal, insanely excessive successor to grindhouse pictures of yore. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    In the Rambo canon, where does this one fit? The tone is closer to "First Blood" but the body count is more "Rambo III." No matter how one dices and slices this new Rambo, the first one in 20 years, it will likely please fans of the long-in-the-tooth series. show more

  • 50
    Premiere

    Rambo is surprisingly effective as an action movie precisely because the villains seem truly dangerous and the "mission" truly a death wish. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Needlessly violent? No, Rambo is needfully violent. Johnny R. is a man constructed of violence. show more

  • 38
    Boston Globe

    Rambo isn't dull. It is, however, often murkily directed, a real shortcoming in an action movie. In the big rescue-the-prisoners sequence, it's very hard to keep track of who is doing what to whom where. show more

  • September 28, 2009 Wmac212
    Report This User

    It was a brutal war movie. That is all I can say. these is the 2nd. best Rambo movie ever made. 4 stars out of five.

  • March 28, 2009 Bankerme
    Report This User

    best action, loved the warfare, realistic, and i like the way movies like this make it to where one guy does all, i like first blood better just because it's the origonal, but i think this is just as good.

  • February 07, 2009 ECourtney21
    Report This User

    OK, Stallone is getting a little long in the tooth, but with Rambo you know it's going to be bloody, etc.I kind of enjoyed seeing Rambo again.. In a way it was good to see that Rambo is, indeed, getting older just like the rest of us. Wouldn't it be fun to see one LAST movie with Stallone., Bruce Willis and maybe even Eastwood and Seagal, togather? Title it: "Rambo and Harry Today You Die Hard".

  • January 03, 2009 mattsci
    Report This User

    (6/10) for a Rambo type movie - 3/10 for an actual movie

  • December 13, 2008 papayaking
    Report This User

    This movie was better than i thought it would be. Nice action and there is a lesson to be learned. Don't be be naive or you end up dead.

  • June 15, 2008 SEat24fps
    Report This User

    I liked this movie because it did something most movies fail to do. I gave a message. It shows that War and Violence is not pretty, not clean and not entertaining. It also shows that there are real monsters in the world that you can't just go up to with a smile on your face, hand them a flower and say "let's just get along." As noble as that thought is, it only works if the one you're talking to is just as noble. Keep that in mind...

  • May 22, 2008 cager97
    Report This User

    I saw this movie a couple of weeks ago, went NOT expecting anything great....but was actually impressed!Sly did a very good job. No, this not a film for everyone! Was it exciting? Yes, to me it held my interest and I especially was impressed with the "flashbacks" to earlier Rambo films. Not overdone, just a reminder.Worth the price of a ticket? Yes. Worth a rental? Definitely! I think this one will be requested more than average when it comes out on DVD!!

  • May 22, 2008 G 77Patten
    Report This User

    I was watching the Blue Angels practicing out at El Centro last weekend ( the practice run on Friday before the weekend show) and this thought came to me: What if our military were actually used to fight moral wars instead of fighting wars for hegemonic domination to control foreign oil fields? The Rambo No. 4 movie reminds us what our military should be doing. If you have never thought about the atrocities in Burma due to the news blackout in this country, go see this movie and get an education about what is really going on in the world.

  • May 22, 2008 georgeb269
    Report This User

    This is an awful film, from the tacked-on introduction to the pointless "homecoming" at the end, this is an embarrassment.The actors, other than Stallone himself, seem to have been friends of financial backers with no acting skills.Constantly photographing Stallone in the dark and the rain may hide the passage of time, but nothing, not even buckets of gore and blood can hide the fact that this is almost guaranteed to be the worst movie of 2008

  • May 22, 2008 big hit anthony
    Report This User

    The first time it was for himself, the second time for his country, the third time for his friend and , and the fourth time for what was the right thing to do. If you look at it in that aspect, the movie did portray a " feel good" aspect in the end, but then again, all Rambo movies had that type of effect. I think that when you have someone in life that portrays the type of charactor that sly stallone portrayed in John Rambo, you feel like you have somone always doing good. okay, he was this human killing machine, this green beret pushed too far, this vietnam war hero, this full blooded combat soldier. But I think there was much more behind John Rambo. He always had that tendency to make the audience feel like he was the super hero, the person to come along and save everyone from the bad guys. And I think that Stallone carried on those qualities in the fourth installment and even more so. The new Rambo movie opening up on January 25th was a movie that was expected to be " different" from the others.There are many ways to look at it. Was it a good type of different portrayed or a bad one. Well Johnny R. was always shown as this immortal human, a superhero that couldnt be beat. He always seemed to dodge all the bullets and wipe out all of the bad guys. And dont get me wrong, he still does that in the newest movie, but there is a sort of different feeling that goes along with it. The most intresting aspect to me was there would be no more " sugar- coated" violence. It is a different day and age, its not the eighties anymore. Back then the violence portrayed in the earlier Rambo movies was , dont get me wrong, suitable for the time but deffenetly " acceptable" violence. If Sly put up another type of acceptable R rated movie,I dont think that anyone would really have as much drive to see it. I think that Sly did want to portray the brutality unleashed in todays world but he really went all out for it. If you compare thi

`

similar movies

  • Green Zone (2010)

  • Rambo: First Blood Part II (1985)

  • The Kingdom (2007)

  • Tears of the Sun (2003)

  • First Blood (1982)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X